10/7 Chester's +11=378, PMPS 339,+4=363

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Good morning!

I'm not sure what to do here. I know this is from both a bounce from his low last night plus all the food he had, but I'm not sure if I should do a dose reduction or shoot the previous dose through this bounce. Problem is, I won't be home at all today and have a late meeting tonight. DH will be home at pmps to take care of him, but isn't experienced at all. I'll be reachable by phone, but I"m quite nervous.

HATE PINK!
 
Re: QUESTION 10/8/10 Chester's +11=301

301 is almost yellow. I don't know what to tell you. Let's see what his +12 number is.
Since you're nervous and won't be home all day, and Chester is not that far into pink, I would just give the reduction.
But let's wait and see what the +12 is, and what others have to say.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

My cat too. We're on the same shot schedule.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

Then I would shoot the s1.25. Or if it makes you nervous still, shoot a f1.00. Tonight your DH will shoot the 1 unit? That's nice and easy to measure.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

I always leave LOTS of food out when I'm nervous. Like today, I'll do that. I don't mind if some is wasted.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

Ended up giving the fat 1.0. Chester wasn't very hungry this morning either, which make me doubly worried. I'll admit that I slipped him a cyproheptadine (which he's had lots of times before) to encourage his appetite. We'll see, but I'll be nervous all day. We have parent/teacher conferences tonight so I won't be home until about 8:30 p.m. Hubby is on his own! YIKES!
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

Good shooting. I'm sure Chester will be fine.
Another trick I do, sometimes, is to put some of J.D.'s yummy freeze dried treats on top of his food in the automatic feeder, that way he's sure to eat (I think anyway) when the feeder opens.
Have a good day. Breath.
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

Good morning.
I think with the high pink number and 2 dosecreases in 2 days Chester will be fine today. I think this is his bounce.

Have a good day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: DOSE QUESTION 10/7/10 Chester's +11=301

I think Chester will be fine while you are out .. just leave plenty of food for him ... have a great day!
 
I've been away from home all evening, so DH has taken over testing / shots (and drove home 2.5 hours to do so!).

I'm chalking this day up to one of those "collecting data" days. He got quite low last night (60 on AlphaTrak) and earned a dose reduction. Even though he was bouncing high this morning I still shot the reduction (fat 1), He didn't have much appetite for breakfast and I was going to be out all day so I left a variety of LC wet food, plus chicken breast (boiled) to try to make sure he ate. The big mistake, apparently, was also giving him a cyproheptadine to stimulate his appetite. He's been on them before but this time it REALLY worked and when DH came home it was apparent that Chester ate ALL the food that was left out.

I was going to instruct him to shoot a skinny 1.25, but my vet suggested I keep with the dose reduction, advising that, since he was bouncing and the food today was all low carb, he could still drop unexpectedly on us. I agreed and hubby gave the fat 1. I wish I would have been home to do it as I know what a fat 1 looks like to me. He's never shot one.

He's still high at +4 and I'm not comfy enough to go a night w/o testing, but his bedtime snack is going to be VERY light tonight.

He will go down...he will go down...he will go down (tapping the heels of my ruby slippers together as I chant this).

Very interesting that my OneTouch and my AlphaTrak were in total agreement with the +4 number. Don't think that's ever happened.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top