10/7 Champ AMPS 303, +3 215, +5.5 124, +7.5 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Condo from 10/4

I can't believe I've missed putting a condo up for two days!!! There just hasn't been anything to report and, since time is limited around here lately, it just didn't seem necessary to put one up. Champ's made absolutely no progress at all and I have no idea what his problem is!! I fattened up his dose to 2u and will be going up to 2.25u tomorrow morning. He's been having an "S" curve in his AM cycles where he starts out with a pink number, gets down to a low blue by +5, starts to go up a bit by +6, and then is down to a low blue at PMPS. His numbers then just goes up from there so that by AMPS the next day, he's again at pink. I don't understand what this means and it's become his normal so I need to figure this out. He's been acting completely normal and is actually a bit more active now that the cooler weather has hit Las Vegas. I'm going to be making a vet appointment for him in the next couple of weeks...gots to get paid first!!! With the cold weather hitting, I want to get him started on the Adequan.

So....what's the lowest carb food anyone has found that isn't a seafood flavor? It's been hard to find anything that's less than 5% carbs since FF changed their "formula." Champ doesn't like the Turkey & Giblets...thank goodness since it went from 3% carbs on Janet & Binky's list to 7% according to what I've seen recently. It seems Janet & Binky's list isn't really a good reference anymore (though better than nothing). If the carb % of one flavor of FF can more than double, what about the other flavors? What about the other kinds of foods, like Frisksies and 9-Lives? If anyone has any info on current carb %'s of foods, let me know!!!

Have a great day, everyone!!!! IT'S FRIDAY!!!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Hi guys .. I'm sorry champ is giving you such fits with his numbers .. I wish I knew what the right answer here was .. but I was never good at figuring out a pattern anyways .. As far as the foods go, I'm not much help there either .. mocha eats wal marts brand special kitty turkey and giblets .. I believe it is calculated at 3% .. but if he doesn't like turkey and giblets, that won't be of much help to you .. Have you tried evo or wellness? Just throwing out some ideas there .. hope you guys have a great weekend!
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

I'm having the same food questions. So I've given up on the commerical and am going to start making ours. At least I'll know when the formula changes!

I'm sure some one with wise eyes will have some insights into Champ's pattern.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

I must be behind the times...what was the change with FFs formula? Is it higher in carbs now? I only recently started mixing it in with Trixie's food - maybe in the last 3-4 weeks. She gets a 50/50 mix of FF and Merrick's BG - both are chicken flavors. I've had similar issues with her numbers...while they aren't high, they are higher than I expect for her. If you recall, the Wellness Chicken seems to raise her BGs, too, which is why I switched to the FF. Now I'm confused!!!!

I have heard of kitties doing the "double dip" think like Champ has been doing, but I don't know what it means...sorry, no help on that one.

FYI - I just found this one out - adequan is WAY cheaper on Drs Foster and Smith's website. My vet charges about $120 for one little vial, Drs Foster and Smith charge about $98 for two of the same vial!!!! Mario is set for a while, but obviously I will be ordering it online in the future.

Have a great day!!!
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Hi Devon!! Unfortunately, Champ had a hives reaction to Special Kitty so I can't feed that to him anymore. I'm wondering if the SK T&G is really still 3% because FF used to be 3% and is now 7%!!

Hi Linda!!! I'm thinking I might want to go with the homemade myself except I don't want to invest in a grinder. I have a KitchenAid mixer and I know I can get a grinder attachment for it. Would that work? Also, are you going to use a mix for all the vitamins and supplements? Do you have to include bone in with the meat if you use a mix? I'm clueless when it comes to the homemade route so any info you can give me is a good thing!!

Hi Amy!!! Thanks for the info on the Adequan!! I need to keep costs in check for real!!!
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

tena, that link isn't working. looks like the end is broken.

i thought the only ff that seemed to be different was the turkey & giblets. as far as i can tell, the classic chicken feast doesn't raise punkin's BG. i was noticing the turkey does a little bit, so have held off on that one. of course, we'd bought a ton of it before i learned about the change in formula.

what is the adequan for? i've been thinking of getting punkin something for arthritis because i'm thinking he might have a touch. just seems a little stiff sometimes. but i thought the suggestion for that is cosequin. is that right?

i'd just keep going up in dose with champ following the protocol to see if you can knock him down a bit. at least he's not far into pinks.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Our choices include:

Merrick BG (all are 2% or less, Turkey is actually only 1%)
Blue Wilderness 2%
Evo Chicken & Turkey 2% (advantage: comes in 13 oz. cans)
Nature's Variety Instint Lamb (1%) and Chicken (3%)

Check out Dr. Lisa's site on making homemade food. You can mix up chicken meat in the food processor if you don't want a grinder and then you'll just have to add a substitute source of calcium. You'll also want organ meat, which you'll want to cook lightly even if you're feeding raw otherwise (the liver's job is to clear toxins from the body, meaning there may still be toxins in there at the time the animal is slaughtered). I bought all of the supplements (except fish oil, which I already had) in February for under $25 by shopping around, and I'm still using them. I dump all the supplements in large measuring cup full of hot water and let them dissolve while I cook the liver and then I whiz it in the mini chopper so that it will mix evenly with the ground meat. Then I just stir up the supplement/water mix, pour it in and mix thoroughly. I freeze two days worth of servings in a quart sized freezer bag that I fold in half and press flat so that they store more easily. I thaw the food in a bowl of hot water.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Here's the info on FF. One caveat -- I haven't had time to check whether the author of the linked website did his calculations in the same manner as Janet did for J & B's list. I don't remember whether the calculations are based on dry matter. Also, the "new" FF values are not based on "as fed" numbers so they may not be completely accurate.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

julie & punkin said:
what is the adequan for? i've been thinking of getting punkin something for arthritis because i'm thinking he might have a touch. just seems a little stiff sometimes. but i thought the suggestion for that is cosequin. is that right?

The adequan is for arthritis, too. It's prescription and given by injection. It's generally used when arthritis is more advanced. My 16 year old, Mario, is on adequan and it has helped him tremendously. I tried cosequin first, but it didn't do much for him - and, in fact, I think it disagreed with him. But for early arthritis, I know a lot of people use cosequin and dasuquin with much success.

Thanks for the additional food info! I wonder, now, if we've seen odd numbers for Trix because of the FF change. Hmmm...

Sorry to hijack - back to Champ!!
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Hijack all you want, Amy!!!! We all need this info!! And fyi...not all FF classics are 7%. But because the formula has changed, who knows which other flavors have gone up?

Hi Julie!! Champ is now taking Dasuquin and fish oil (Welactin) for his arthritis and, while it has made it better, his arthritis is severe enough that he needs more help. His vet told me (and I've also read this in other reports) that his front leg tremors and shaking is due to a pain reaction. Since the shakiness is still pretty bad, I want to start the Adequan and see if it helps. If you have a cat who tends to get sterile cystitis (no infection, just having a hard time peeing, painful urination, and having blood in the urine) studies have shown the Adequan works very well for this. It was one of those things where they were giving Adequan for arthritis and noticed it helped the cystitis. Now they actually prescribe Adequan for pets with cystitis.

Hi Christie!!! Thanks for listing all the foods carb %'s that you know about. I'll be taking that to the store with me next trip!! You're a wealthy of information about so many things. I really appreciate you taking the time to share it with all of us!!

I'm going to check out the food list links that all of you have so nicely put here in Champ's condo.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

I haven't noticed the FF chicken or the beef classic spiking Tess. On J&B"s list the Sophistacat Supreme (PetSmart brand) Chopped Grill (1%) and Beef and Chicken (3%) are quite low. It's been a while since they were updated though.

If you want to try raw without doing the grinding I use TCfeline premix there are several others available too. The sample (20 day supply) is only $14. This is a bit more expensive than totally from scratch, but a good way to give it a try. I get boneless skinless thighs add a little breast meat and chicken liver. I also chunk it all, no grinding as Tess like to chew on it. You could try something like this to see if Champ would go for it. Actually first just give him a couple little pieces to see if he likes raw meat. PM me if you want more info or if you want to talk. I have lots of links I can share.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Well, now I'm upset!!! After looking at the link that Sienne posted, FF beef and FF chicken are THAT HIGH in carbs? That's outrageous. I feed Champ FF beef the most, right behind that beef & chicken, and right behind that chunky chicken and chunky turkey. The list in that link showed all the FF flavors that were below 10%....which means that the beef, at 9% carbs, is the lowest carb food I'm feeding Champ!!!! That's RIDICULOUS!!! And, of course, I bought four cases of the different flavors. Thank goodness I still have the receipt cuz they're going back. I'm not going to feed Champ any more FF unless it's a fish flavor as a one-in-a-while treat. I just can't get over those new numbers....geez

Hi Ann!!! Champ actually loves raw chicken and shrimp. It may be coincidental, but the shrimp always seems to spike his numbers. I had read that raw chicken is great for a cat's teeth...as they eat it, it acts like a great toothbrush. He gets semi raw chicken every day as a snack, between +8 and +10 of both cycles. I don't know why, but it usually lowers his BG before his shot.
 
Re: 10/7 Champ AMPS 303 -Lowest carb food not a fish flavor?

Sorry to see Champ's numbers are so high......this sugar dance, sure can be frustrating, can't it?!!!!! Zoe likes the Merrick's BG Beef....she actually likes it better than the FF Beef & Chicken.

Have a good day, Patty!!
 
Patty i would't put full confidence in that site. The numbers shown in that chart match the protein, fat, moisture numbers on the can , which are in Min/Max . It looks like the person figured it out from the Min/Max numbers on the can which aren't accurate. As I said, Tess has been eating the FF Chicken, Beef and Chicken and Beef classics w/ no food spikes.

Besides he came down to green today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Hey Patty:

Gracie gets Wellness Chicken, WN Turkey, and WN beef/chicken.... all 4 %. Not the cheapest but I know it's a good one for her and I just alternate. I Have the TC Feline powder that I want to mix up and see if I can get the two kittens to eat it as it has less fat and Missy G needs to lose a few ounces.

I'm not really seeing an "S" curve on his SS. Perhaps some days he has a later nadir (10/3 and 10/6 am cycles); on 10/5 am, he could have gotten a second dip or was clearing a bounce. I found it interesting with Gracie (on both insulins) that sometimes she gets the dip, sometimes not. This is his 5th cycle on this dose...do you think maybe he needs more time to settle into it esp given his green today? You know him best and if you want him in a little more green, then you should take him up and see what he does. I know he has really been throwing different cycles than before his tummy virus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top