? 10/7 Booger 9am 76!

Booger's Mom

Member Since 2018
Booger is a very bouncy kitty! I checked him at 9am and he was 76! I double checked him to make sure it was not a winky strip and it was a few off from 76 but close. He has been gwtting insulin at 10am lately. I'm new to Lantus so I'm unsure what to do with his shot in this situation. I know Lantus is not like Vetsulin.
 
I hope one of the experienced folks reply soon. They would likely suggest not feeding and checking every 20 to 30 min to see if he comes up.

If not, personally I would skip at that number, but I know Grandpa tends to drop fast. I skipped at a slightly higher number today since we were traveling with him.

Good luck.
 
My cat is on Vetsulin, but I would never give a cat well within normal range an insulin shot. 76 is a very good number, and it shouldn't go much below that. I would be scared of hypo.
 
Are you following TR or SLGS?
TR.
Are you following TR or SLGS?

TR though he was off track when I made the switch. I used to have him on 8/8 schedule and I went 30 minutes earlier each day until I got him back on track. Then ONE day later, I was not feeling well and I didn't hear my alarm and I that put him back on a 10/10 schedule.

I checked him at 9 am this morning just to see where he was and her was 76. I went ahead and fed him because he was acting like he was dying (His reaction to his body not being used to lower numbers) I waited to see if he would come up and how much he would come up. If he would have only come up to like 100 or 120 after an hour, I would not have given him insulin, but he jumped up to 193. I know that his is VERY bouncy so I knew if I didn't give him insulin, he would soon be in the 300-500's. I work from home so I am here all day to check him as needed. Sure enough, I checked him around 11am and he was 314. Now he is coming down a bit.

@9am 76
@10:22am 193
@11.13am 314
@12:40pm 263
 
I feed him small meals a day. Though he is eating friskies pate and flavors that are less than 5% carbs, it really effects his numbers bad as if he was eating regular dry food. Why? I do not know. But if he spikes when he eats, how am I to know how low the lantus dose is really taking him without being food influenced?
 
Sorry no one was around to help guide you. So it looks like shot insulin when you got the 193 number? Correct? If that is the case, then we need to get your SS corrected . The number you have in for his AMPS add @12.5 which shows that it was about 30 minutes pass the time you would have shot him. Then the 76 number would actually go into the PM +11 slot. Then starting with 314 number, put that in the +2 slot and move everything down next to it. Make sense?

If you need to get back to the 8/8 schedule, it can be done, but it will be take a few days. You can move the shot time up earlier each cycle by 15 minutes or once a day by 30 minutes.

To answer your food question: The most important time to not be food influenced is 2 hours before each shot. So, if you make sure the food is pulled up 2 hours prior to AMPS and PMPS times you will be fine. I don't understand why the 5% carb wet food would effect him a much as dry food; it shouldn't and maybe double check the carb is what you think it is.
 
Sorry no one was around to help guide you. So it looks like shot insulin when you got the 193 number? Correct? If that is the case, then we need to get your SS corrected . The number you have in for his AMPS add @12.5 which shows that it was about 30 minutes pass the time you would have shot him. Then the 76 number would actually go into the PM +11 slot. Then starting with 314 number, put that in the +2 slot and move everything down next to it. Make sense?

If you need to get back to the 8/8 schedule, it can be done, but it will be take a few days. You can move the shot time up earlier each cycle by 15 minutes or once a day by 30 minutes.

To answer your food question: The most important time to not be food influenced is 2 hours before each shot. So, if you make sure the food is pulled up 2 hours prior to AMPS and PMPS times you will be fine. I don't understand why the 5% carb wet food would effect him a much as dry food; it shouldn't and maybe double check the carb is what you think it is.
Thank you so much. This totally makes sense as far as my SS. I will pay more attention. I was mainly looking at the time row I had added at the top but will go by hours since shot from now on.

I looked over Dr. Pierson's food chart to see if maybe I needed to change the flavors of Friskies I am feeding him but they are all pretty low in carbs. I usually get a mix of all the flavors my Walmart has available in pate to give him some assortment. Ok well the Mariner's Catch has 6% but he rarely eats that one. These are the ones I feed him. I am not sure why they effect him like they do. For instance, he could be 193 and I feed him and then an hour later he could be over 300 or close to 400. It's crazy!

upload_2018-10-7_18-38-37.png
 
For instance, he could be 193 and I feed him and then an hour later he could be over 300 or close to 400. It's crazy!
Some cats are very carb sensitive, Bubba is one of them. Yeah, that is a bit extreme for carbs that low to shoot him up so high. Some cats shoot up if they are fed after nadir. The carbs acts like brakes to the insulin. That might be something to look at . You might want to track what you feed him and when. If you look at Bubba's SS, I put in the cell along with the BG number what and how much I fed him ie, .80 oz turk, or .80 oz pork ( I am raw feeding) It helps me understand how the meals are effecting his numbers. I pretty much coordinate his meal times with my test times. That seems to work for us.
 
Bailey seems to be sensitive too. I was given advice not to feed after +7 because the Lantus is slowing down at that point. I had given her 1/4 can FF Tender Beef & Liver just before +9 trying to beat the 2 hour cutoff. Her BG went from +9 255 to PMPS 413.
 
Bailey seems to be sensitive too. I was given advice not to feed after +7 because the Lantus is slowing down at that point. I had given her 1/4 can FF Tender Beef & Liver just before +9 trying to beat the 2 hour cutoff. Her BG went from +9 255 to PMPS 413.
Some cats are very carb sensitive, Bubba is one of them. Yeah, that is a bit extreme for carbs that low to shoot him up so high. Some cats shoot up if they are fed after nadir. The carbs acts like brakes to the insulin. That might be something to look at . You might want to track what you feed him and when. If you look at Bubba's SS, I put in the cell along with the BG number what and how much I fed him ie, .80 oz turk, or .80 oz pork ( I am raw feeding) It helps me understand how the meals are effecting his numbers. I pretty much coordinate his meal times with my test times. That seems to work for us.

Yeah, I have thought about the raw feeding but I do not know much about it. That's what they would eat out in the wild. Does no carb wet food exist?? lol
 
My cat is on Vetsulin, but I would never give a cat well within normal range an insulin shot. 76 is a very good number, and it shouldn't go much below that. I would be scared of hypo.
For any lurkers while this may well be true for the faster acting insulins, with Lantus as it is slow acting we would gradually work our way to shooting lower numbers, it's how it works best, it's a different mindset to the faster acting insulins. We do need to be data ready to do so though so the first time shooting low it's best to have someone experienced look over your numbers and guide you.
Shot low to stay low.
Those following TR would eventually shoot anything over 50 whereas those on SLGS would shoot anything over 90.
 
Yeah, I have thought about the raw feeding but I do not know much about it. That's what they would eat out in the wild. Does no carb wet food exist?? lol

With Bubba being so carb sensitive and also from being upset when the cat food companies change their formulas ( and they don't have to share that information with us for 6 months) , I transitioned Bubba and civvie, Forrest to a raw diet. They took to it quickly probably because they are inside outside cats and hunt and eat their prey.

The below link talks about why to feed a raw diet to cats. It is taken from the website www.foodfurlife.com which is where I get my EZcomplete to add to the raw fresh ground food that I give my boys. EZcomplete is all the supplements that a cat gets when eating prey in the wild like calcium from the bones, liver, taurine and etc.

http://www.foodfurlife.com/why-feed-your-cat-a-raw-diet.html

Some peeps get grinders and grind their own. If you go that route, you would get the EZcomplete without calcium so you wouldn't be giving too much. I went easier and go to my local butcher and get ground chicken, turkey and pork ( you would start with poultry first ) My butcher uses sources that are hormone and antibiotic free. Also, they do not add sodium like the grocery store do. If you went with raw meats from a store like Fresh Fields that don't add hormones and antibiotics you would have to be mindful of the sodium content. You want to keep the sodium under 100 mg. per serving.

For a while I was getting Smithfield pork roast from Walmart and cutting in up myself as they were one company that keeps their sodium content lower. After a while I got tired of cutting up pork roast and chicken into little chunks and went the ground route. Cats do get tired of one texture so eventually I might need to add that method back again . But for now, I am enjoying the ease of buying ground from the butcher.

Any way, after you read the link, spend some time surfing around on their website and looking at all the article and sources they have linked from probiotics to help stop diarrhea, vomiting, hairballs etc. They are a wealth of information and one of the nicest companies to deal with. Once I had a question about Bubba suddenly not wanting to eat raw anymore and Caroline spent 30 minutes on the phone talking with me and sharing information. That is when I learned that cats grow tired of one texture and switched to the ground meats and BINGO, he was eating enthusiastically again. They are wonderful!

Hope this helps you if you decide to try raw.
 
Back
Top