10/6PowderPMPS441+3.75 114+4.50 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29078
Recap 11/5
AMPS >500
PMPS 425
+2.5 295
+3.5 252
+7 280

WCR Powder's P's in place. This bounce is way to high over last two days. He's never gone this high after breckfast. Shot skinny 0.25R to bring this number down. Shot flank for faster action today. Only fast action I saw was a fast track to HI. I know this isn't customary but I have good counseling from FDMB on Lantus and from my vet on Reg'. I am not going to do this as a norm only under extreme bounce. He feels two days with BGs over 500 for whatever reason needs to be addressed. He wanted me to give 1U I know that is too much so that's why I shot s .25. I hope you won't hold it against me I believe in what we are all doing here. I felt I had to do what is best for Powder.
 
Re: 10/6PowderAMPS380+1.5HI

There are people here who use R routinely. It's fine as long as you know what you're doing. You need to curve the R and to make sure that the R and Lantus do not come to nadir at the same time. Please get tests every hour or more often for the next 4 hours until you are sure the R has peaked and that you have control of Powder's numbers.

Generally, when you use R for the first time, it's recommended that you start with 0.1u. R is exceptionally powerful. The goal is for it to bring down the numbers just enough for the Lantus to grab on.
 
Re: 10/6PowderAMPS380+1.5HI

Good luck! I hope this works for Powder - no advice here, as that is totally out of my realm of experience.

have a great caturday - and powder, lower numbers please.
 
Re: 10/6PowderAMPS380+1.5HI+2 469

thanks Sienne. Planning to check every 1/2 hour. Don't want him dropping low just out of the Hi. So far so good gentle slide. I plan to feed to prevent a crash. Shouldn't be too hard to get him to eat he's ravenous and drinking up a storm which I don't like. His kidneys are having too much stress on them. Main reason I called vet. I hope Powder's liver gets on board soon so these extreme bounces stop. I welcome a flat curve of anything other than pink and black.
 
Re: 10/6PowderAMPS380+1.5HI+2 469

Come down from that ugly red floor, Powder! I hope the R kicks in and gives you nice gentle slide into lower numbers.
 
Re: 10/6PowderAMPS380+1.5HI+2 469

kathy...you are a better woman than i am! i've barely got a handle on one insulin!

and i don't think anyone here would ever 'hold it against" anyone else who's trying to do what's best for their cat...that's the beauty of the forum...

powder...bring it down slow and steady, guy!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/6PowderAMPS380+1.5HI+2 469+5 482

Powder has held steady in the high 400's would have liked him in high 200's low 300's. But definitely better than over 500. I guess for Powder skinny 0.25 wasn't enough with him being so high. Will keep checking. His eyes look better than they did this am they are shiny again.

Interesting green party going on today. Nice to see the kitties surfing. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/6PowderPMPS441+1 354

Powder ate up a storm today and still looking for more. It's funny how our kitties change or should I say control. In the days when I had four cats and was uninformed canned food was a treat. No matter what I bought Powder would sniff. lick and walk away. The other three were crazy about 9 Lives Super Supper. Eventually Powder would eat a little but no other kind. So when I found it on Binky's List I was glad because I figured I could at least get him to eat it. WRONG That's how FF became king when he gave up on Wellness and EVO.
I saw it in the store last week and was fondly remembering how much my Lucky GA loved it and had to pick it up. I opened it today and Powder has attacked it all day wanting more and more. Do you think Lucky has taken over his body?
 
Re: 10/6PowderPMPS441+3.25 134+4.25 117

Powder is dropping fast again and I'm trying to slow him down.He's in this cycle of crashing and high rebounds I'd like to try to control and haven't had any luck so far. Any ideas to prevent are appreciated.
+3 171 gave 1 tsp 11% wellness lobster &chicken
+3.25 134 1 tsp sophisticat pouch gravy Has LC Down 5% NO REG INSULIN SINCE AM
+3.50 136 nothing now
+3.75 114 1/2 tsp gravy 1/2 tsp 11%
+4 126 1/2 tsp gravy 1/2 tsp 11%
+4.25 117 1/2 tsp gravy 1/2 tsp 11%
 
Re: ideas?10/6PowderPMPS441+1 354+3 171 +3.25 134

Kathy

No suggestions here but I didn't get to your condo today. I'm so sorry you're having these difficult bounces with Powder. I believe the same as Celi.
You know your cat, you have to do what you feel is best. I'm with you all the way, girl. I really hope you all can get this figured out for sweet Powder.
 
Re: ideas?10/6PowderPMPS441+1 354+3 171 +3.25 134

I would just keep feeding the curve. You're getting some extra oomph due to having shot 30 min. early.

I wouldn't get too worried about the bounces. This is normal -- it's the liver reacting to low numbers. Given the fast drop from PMPS to the blues, there's a very good chance Powder will bounce. I honestly don't think there's a way to entirely prevent bounces from happening.
 
Re: ideas?10/6PowderPMPS441+1 354+3 171 +3.25 134

Thanks Sienne I was wondering how is this different from Somogyi? If it is the same thing then what should I do with his dose? It seems like I just can't get him on a dose to keep him fairly stable to really earn a reduction. It appears he's getting reductions by crashing and then gets an increase because he empties his shed and rebounds. Does this go on for a long time? Is it typical for this long?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top