10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Thanks everyone for your thoughts, input & support for Tigger & his 2 brothers.

Tigger's 10/5 condo


Tigger's worse today. He's got a temp of 104 this afternoon, and his eye is still swollen, larger than yesterday. It's about the size of a grape, up from a marble. Other than a small amount of sniffling & sneezing, he's not showing apparent URI symptoms. I gave 1/4 Zyrtec & 100 ml fluids at 4:30PM, He's got soft poo from the AB, too. He's still eating his treats, which is a relief. He's pretty much a limp noodle right now. Of course, the Zyrtec will make him sleepy, too.

The weekend vet said the swollen eye was sinuses or backed up mucus & wanted to give him hydroxyzine. I read about it & opted for Zyrtec instead - only gave 2.5 mg instead of 5mg. though as his symptoms have improved, except for the swollen eye. His muzzle on the same side appears slightly swollen, too. The vet also said there was alot of room in the face for swelling & she wasn't concerned about waiting till Tuesday for it to be seen by the ophthalmologist. I'm worried, though.

I don't know what else to do for him. We did the steam shower yesterday for 35 minutes - not today - no apparent reason. I tried hot packs on the eye but he doesn't like it & struggled, so I stopped after a few minutes.

I'll give him another 100 ml fluids at 7:30 or 8PM for a total of 200 today.

He's already getting 1,000 mg l-lysine powder.

I doubt he'll let me take his temp again, though.

:?: Tigger's BG is higher, and has been 200-400 for 5 days now since his reduction 10/2. Should I increase his dose Monday AM or wait until he's feeling better???
Is there anything else I should be doing that I'm not?

I feel so bad & helpless for Tigger, he didn't need this on top of everything else, & its not his fault he got sick. I just don't know what else to do. Spankey is better today after 1 week, & Simon is worse - his URI is more in his eyes. Gave him fluids, too. So far none of the others are showing symptoms, which is a big relief.
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

Suzanne

I'm so very sorry it's been so difficult there for your poor babies!

I would be concerned about that temp. When Tobey was a baby and had a URI and high temp, they had me wrap him in cold, damp towels to bring his temp down. I'm wondering if you could put a warm compress over Tiggers bad eye? It might feel good in addition to the steam. I feel so bad for him!

Also, it looks to me like he probably could use some more insulin but I'd weigh how he feels with that suggestion. In other words, if you increase and he comes down, is he going to feel like eating and having you poking him? If he's not eating, I might hold off just a bit on the increase but if he's eating, you might want to increase his dose a bit. You could fatten it just to help bring the numbers at least below renal threshold but not so low as you having to test him alot when he feels bad.

I would try to keep an eye on his ketones. Infection + not enough food/water/insulin can be a recipe for DKA. It's good you are giving him fluids....that will help. If you have to syringe feed him I would, and then perhaps tweak the dose to bring numbers into the 100s.

Sending healing vines.
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

Thanks, Marje - I was thinking about increasing him just a little bit, from 2.19 mm to 2.35mm - sort of a 'fat' 1.5units? Does that sound like a good start?

He doesn't like the warm compresses - he doesn't like things near his blind eye. I'll try again, though. I'm going to go feed the pack & will try a warm compress after that.

If the fever doesn't drop I'll try the wet towels - good idea.

Thanks so much - I haven't had time to read posts, except for Squeaky & KT. I hope you & the Fab 3 are all well.
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

Oops - sorry Rhiannon & Shadow, I didn't see your post - thank you- we need them! Am crossing my fingers Tigger will eat in a few minutes...
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

Sending yet more healing vines to Tigger. A friend of mine has a cat with an lump on his eye, and his vet suggested trying a warm teabag. Apparently there is something in the tea that helps draw out infection. I guess it's a type of warm compress.
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

Sending more healing vines to Tigger, and lots of love and light too!

If you feel he needs to be seen before Tuesday, I think you should take him tomorrow. Even if they might not have anything else to offer, it might help to have them look him over again anyway. Cats are so good at hiding stuff from us!

Hoping Tigger is bouncing again soon!
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

Yes...I think just a fatten of the dose will help...I hope. Since he's sick, we don't know if this is actually a failed reduction or he's high because he's sick. You'll have to watch him in case it's the latter and he comes down quickly as he improves.
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

(((Suzanne)))
Sending tons of get better vines to Tigger.
I am so sorry to hear that Tigger is sick...
I really hope that the swollen eye will be better soon.

I'm not sure if someone already mentioned or if you are already doing it, but if Tigger's temp is high, I think It's better if you do not warm the fluids you are giving to him. :smile:
Sometimes things like this becomes such a routine, so I thought I'd mention it.
 
Re: 10/6 Tigger AMPS/366 Worse with 104 temp - increase dose

I'd go ahead and increase to a skinny 1.75u. Also, as an "ounce of prevention," can you make sure to test for ketones?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top