Tigger's Friend
Member Since 2013
Thanks everyone for your thoughts, input & support for Tigger & his 2 brothers.
Tigger's 10/5 condo
Tigger's worse today. He's got a temp of 104 this afternoon, and his eye is still swollen, larger than yesterday. It's about the size of a grape, up from a marble. Other than a small amount of sniffling & sneezing, he's not showing apparent URI symptoms. I gave 1/4 Zyrtec & 100 ml fluids at 4:30PM, He's got soft poo from the AB, too. He's still eating his treats, which is a relief. He's pretty much a limp noodle right now. Of course, the Zyrtec will make him sleepy, too.
The weekend vet said the swollen eye was sinuses or backed up mucus & wanted to give him hydroxyzine. I read about it & opted for Zyrtec instead - only gave 2.5 mg instead of 5mg. though as his symptoms have improved, except for the swollen eye. His muzzle on the same side appears slightly swollen, too. The vet also said there was alot of room in the face for swelling & she wasn't concerned about waiting till Tuesday for it to be seen by the ophthalmologist. I'm worried, though.
I don't know what else to do for him. We did the steam shower yesterday for 35 minutes - not today - no apparent reason. I tried hot packs on the eye but he doesn't like it & struggled, so I stopped after a few minutes.
I'll give him another 100 ml fluids at 7:30 or 8PM for a total of 200 today.
He's already getting 1,000 mg l-lysine powder.
I doubt he'll let me take his temp again, though.
:?: Tigger's BG is higher, and has been 200-400 for 5 days now since his reduction 10/2. Should I increase his dose Monday AM or wait until he's feeling better???
Is there anything else I should be doing that I'm not?
I feel so bad & helpless for Tigger, he didn't need this on top of everything else, & its not his fault he got sick. I just don't know what else to do. Spankey is better today after 1 week, & Simon is worse - his URI is more in his eyes. Gave him fluids, too. So far none of the others are showing symptoms, which is a big relief.
Tigger's 10/5 condo
Tigger's worse today. He's got a temp of 104 this afternoon, and his eye is still swollen, larger than yesterday. It's about the size of a grape, up from a marble. Other than a small amount of sniffling & sneezing, he's not showing apparent URI symptoms. I gave 1/4 Zyrtec & 100 ml fluids at 4:30PM, He's got soft poo from the AB, too. He's still eating his treats, which is a relief. He's pretty much a limp noodle right now. Of course, the Zyrtec will make him sleepy, too.
The weekend vet said the swollen eye was sinuses or backed up mucus & wanted to give him hydroxyzine. I read about it & opted for Zyrtec instead - only gave 2.5 mg instead of 5mg. though as his symptoms have improved, except for the swollen eye. His muzzle on the same side appears slightly swollen, too. The vet also said there was alot of room in the face for swelling & she wasn't concerned about waiting till Tuesday for it to be seen by the ophthalmologist. I'm worried, though.
I don't know what else to do for him. We did the steam shower yesterday for 35 minutes - not today - no apparent reason. I tried hot packs on the eye but he doesn't like it & struggled, so I stopped after a few minutes.
I'll give him another 100 ml fluids at 7:30 or 8PM for a total of 200 today.
He's already getting 1,000 mg l-lysine powder.
I doubt he'll let me take his temp again, though.
:?: Tigger's BG is higher, and has been 200-400 for 5 days now since his reduction 10/2. Should I increase his dose Monday AM or wait until he's feeling better???
Is there anything else I should be doing that I'm not?
I feel so bad & helpless for Tigger, he didn't need this on top of everything else, & its not his fault he got sick. I just don't know what else to do. Spankey is better today after 1 week, & Simon is worse - his URI is more in his eyes. Gave him fluids, too. So far none of the others are showing symptoms, which is a big relief.