HWright
Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...40-7-29amet-103-4-5-138-9-5-7-08pm-et.166143/
@Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) @Gussie's mom
Apologies for length and "flatness" of writing, kinda drained here!
Good evening. Talked to vet today, bringing Sootie in tomorrow morning for 2nd recheck this week. He now concurs more readily something's wrong and that he recent and escalating behaviors/symptoms definitely not characteristic of Sootie. Yes, Wendy, your mention about pain definitely a factor, too. Repeated theme is that she seeks space away from others and is easily, inwardly stressed.
Ok, resumed 0.1u this am Amps was 144. +5 was 140. +11 was 180 and 185 on retest at 7:12 and 7:13 pm EST, +12.5 (8:42pm at pmbg or PMPS whichever it turns out to be) is 124
(this she and I did in seclusion from other cats and after she had eaten another tsp or so of supper between +11 and +12.5).
Appetite off again this morning, but ate more when she was only cat in another room? Possible that she ate more during afternoon. Same inappetent behavior this evening, eating a tiny bit in one room (where we have customarily done feeding and bg testing, and previously her primary space) with other cats nearby, then seclude get herself to another room where offered her food there (ate about tsp), retested and then she ate about 1/8 cup food.
1. Wendy mentioned last night, among many possibilities, that the wearing off of a depot effect might be one explanation to yesterday's numbers. Today's numbers started out lower than last nights bg, but in a range to to do 0.1 u safely this morning. Her numbers skyrocketed for any number of reasons but I'm wondering: is this possibly a bounce and one that is self correcting during the same cycle?
2. Given the pattern of today's numbers (and in context of recent cycles, less than ideal food intake and everything else ongoing), and that I truly feel that she does tend to go lower during the wee hours anyway:
Is this also an indicator of sputtering? Also, I have read in a study ( that I was surprised to find but interest ly correlates to my long held feeling that Lantus has a longer duration for her )there is some evidence that female cats tend to have a longer duration (wear-off) time than male cats.
3. Im concerned that I risk another nighttime hypo/low numbers event if pm dose 0.1u as did the night she dived (correct term?) the other night. I think she is far more sensitive to and unaccustomed to night time doses that the once daily morning doses that her body and being is accustomed to for the past year. Tomorrow is one year to the day since DX and starting on Lantus. Yes, I understand that it's my call as to whether to dose and what amount or whether to not pm dose at all. I am getting a handle on this but welcome input bc each day these days is substantially unique. . Input please?Could droplet dose or skinny 0.1 or half of 0.1. Has anyone experienced similar cycle rhythms where a a reduced nighttime dose or o nighttime dose was more appropriate for their FD?
Thanks, Sina
@Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) @Gussie's mom
Apologies for length and "flatness" of writing, kinda drained here!
Good evening. Talked to vet today, bringing Sootie in tomorrow morning for 2nd recheck this week. He now concurs more readily something's wrong and that he recent and escalating behaviors/symptoms definitely not characteristic of Sootie. Yes, Wendy, your mention about pain definitely a factor, too. Repeated theme is that she seeks space away from others and is easily, inwardly stressed.
Ok, resumed 0.1u this am Amps was 144. +5 was 140. +11 was 180 and 185 on retest at 7:12 and 7:13 pm EST, +12.5 (8:42pm at pmbg or PMPS whichever it turns out to be) is 124
(this she and I did in seclusion from other cats and after she had eaten another tsp or so of supper between +11 and +12.5).
Appetite off again this morning, but ate more when she was only cat in another room? Possible that she ate more during afternoon. Same inappetent behavior this evening, eating a tiny bit in one room (where we have customarily done feeding and bg testing, and previously her primary space) with other cats nearby, then seclude get herself to another room where offered her food there (ate about tsp), retested and then she ate about 1/8 cup food.
1. Wendy mentioned last night, among many possibilities, that the wearing off of a depot effect might be one explanation to yesterday's numbers. Today's numbers started out lower than last nights bg, but in a range to to do 0.1 u safely this morning. Her numbers skyrocketed for any number of reasons but I'm wondering: is this possibly a bounce and one that is self correcting during the same cycle?
2. Given the pattern of today's numbers (and in context of recent cycles, less than ideal food intake and everything else ongoing), and that I truly feel that she does tend to go lower during the wee hours anyway:
Is this also an indicator of sputtering? Also, I have read in a study ( that I was surprised to find but interest ly correlates to my long held feeling that Lantus has a longer duration for her )there is some evidence that female cats tend to have a longer duration (wear-off) time than male cats.
3. Im concerned that I risk another nighttime hypo/low numbers event if pm dose 0.1u as did the night she dived (correct term?) the other night. I think she is far more sensitive to and unaccustomed to night time doses that the once daily morning doses that her body and being is accustomed to for the past year. Tomorrow is one year to the day since DX and starting on Lantus. Yes, I understand that it's my call as to whether to dose and what amount or whether to not pm dose at all. I am getting a handle on this but welcome input bc each day these days is substantially unique. . Input please?Could droplet dose or skinny 0.1 or half of 0.1. Has anyone experienced similar cycle rhythms where a a reduced nighttime dose or o nighttime dose was more appropriate for their FD?
Thanks, Sina
