? 10/6 Rosie PMPS 42 - NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
I'm away for the weekend and Rose is playing with the sharks!!! :nailbiting:

I have been getting updates re: tests and food. I'm concerned with low numbers that have been steered with food through the day. She got HC when she dipped below 50, but with PMPS so low, NS for tonight. She is being very closely monitored, is eating and has responded well. I'm worried about how to determine dose for tomorrow. Reduction is earned, but even if I were there to shoot, I'm thinking I would take a chicken shot because this looks like something major has changed.

What advice do you have when she has been holding steady with lovely blue/green at 6.5U for 2 weeks (with the only recent major change being earlier nadir)?

Previous.
 
What a wonderful quandary to be in. Hopefully one of the experts will chime in. It's gotta be tuff cuz you are not home.
 
I feel like I have missed a milestone like first steps or words. This would be her first real earned reduction. Early on there was one, but I was too new to this whole dance.

I have made some dose changes when I couldn't monitor or was afraid of a new vial of insulin, but this looks like a change SHE is making and I'm not there. :banghead: :arghh:
 
I would definitely go back to 6.0 units. Over 5 units, we usually change by 0.5 units at a time, unless just tweaking the numbers. A 0.25 u dose at 6.5 units is like skinnying the dose at smaller doses. Congrats on the real reduction. :D

Have you thought about getting Rosie tested for high dose conditions, it's what we recommend when you go above 6.0 units. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly, IAA or insulin autobodies is the other test we suggest.
 
PS: the skip should help drain the depot. If she's not skyrocketing by the AM, you could always do a half dose in the AM before resuming the regular dose in the PM.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thank you for great advice. I have talked to her vet about high dose testing. We have blood work planned for later this month, but Rose is making her own plans these days!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top