10/6 Oberon PMPS 132, +2 95, +4 43, +4.5 56, +5 46, +5.5 53, +6 62,+6.5 49

Sorry for the late response to your question:
He dipped below 50 yesterday during that green surf, but I'm not sure whether I should count it as the first or second drop below 50 at the current dose. The first drop was right when he got the increase to 6 U almost two weeks ago. Should I count that, or has it been long enough that maybe I should reset the count? If it counts, then his next drop below 50 will earn a reduction. If not, we need two more.
I would count the first day's drop on this dose as drop #1. The one on the 4th as drop #2. Tonight?
 
Sorry for the late response to your question:

I would count the first day's drop on this dose as drop #1. The one on the 4th as drop #2. Tonight?

Looks like we may be heading that way. The next question is how much to reduce, whenever it happens. Following strict TR it should be 0.5, but he's been hovering in this 5-6 U range for a while now. I'm not chasing a breakthrough dose or dealing with a massive slide down the dosing scale. So I'm wondering whether I should try fine-tuning the dose a bit and reduce by 0.25 if he earns a reduction with a third brief drop below 50. (If he does it by dropping below 40 I'd do the regular reduction, maybe even with a BCS initially depending on the circumstances.) Thoughts?
 
For your sake I keep hoping each stretch of greens will be the beginning of the end for the IAA...but there is a woman in the Facebook group who insists her cat has had IAA for 3 years now or something like that, high-ish dose and the blood work coming back positive each time.

It's October Oberon, get with the program!
 
Sorry for the late response to your question:

I would count the first day's drop on this dose as drop #1. The one on the 4th as drop #2. Tonight?
When you say first and second drop, etc, you’re referring to long term diabetic kitties who need 3 drops below 50 to earn a reduction?
 
.but there is a woman in the Facebook group who insists her cat has had IAA for 3 years now or something like that, high-ish dose and the blood work coming back positive each time.
Of course the test would come back around the same, even if the IAA has broken. It's only a long time after kitty is off insulin that you might see IAA numbers come down. For some interesting reading: Black Kitty IAA update
 
Of course the test would come back around the same, even if the IAA has broken. It's only a long time after kitty is off insulin that you might see IAA numbers come down. For some interesting reading: Black Kitty IAA update
Now THAT is fascinating, but also makes sense.

It's 1am here and firing on very few brain cells...why then does the insulin dose eventually go down? Fewer antibodies so more of the insulin getting through?

Sorry to sidetrack your thread Lisa!
 
When you say first and second drop, etc, you’re referring to long term diabetic kitties who need 3 drops below 50 to earn a reduction?

Yep. Oberon's sort of a special case because of the IAA, so we've been tinkering with the TR rules just a little.
 
Now THAT is fascinating, but also makes sense.

It's 1am here and firing on very few brain cells...why then does the insulin dose eventually go down? Fewer antibodies so more of the insulin getting through?

Sorry to sidetrack your thread Lisa!

No worries; I've been wondering about this myself!
 
why then does the insulin dose eventually go down? Fewer antibodies so more of the insulin getting through?
Now there's a million dollar question. Not much is known about IAA and why and when it breaks. "They" say it breaks after about a year, but there is some variability. For some cats, and just my observation, is there is often a secondary condition also causing insulin resistance (acromegaly, dental issues, skin condition, heart disease) and treating those secondary conditions seems to help the IAA go away. In Black Kitty's case is was his dentals, in Neko it was SRT for her acromegaly. Others, like Oberson and Loudogg, there don't seem to be other conditions or issues. IAA just is. Loudogg also did a brief stint OTJ in the beginning before coming back on insulin, never did get to really high doses, but is now nicely regulated.
 
Tim here ... it's been quite an overnight. Half-hour checks for >6 hours, with the exception of one half-hour when he was perfectly happy to introduce me to every sharp pointy bit he owned in order to express his displeasure with the idea of another test. Didn't draw any blood, but came pretty close.

In any case, now I'm hoping we make it through the interregnum before his shot. If you have any extra luck on hand, sending it our way wouldn't be unwelcome. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top