Lisa & Oberon
Member Since 2020
yesterday: slow bounce and drop https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-129-2-222-5-222-9-263-pmps-296-3-301.253888/
Not a bad start to the day.
Not a bad start to the day.
I would count the first day's drop on this dose as drop #1. The one on the 4th as drop #2. Tonight?He dipped below 50 yesterday during that green surf, but I'm not sure whether I should count it as the first or second drop below 50 at the current dose. The first drop was right when he got the increase to 6 U almost two weeks ago. Should I count that, or has it been long enough that maybe I should reset the count? If it counts, then his next drop below 50 will earn a reduction. If not, we need two more.
Sorry for the late response to your question:
I would count the first day's drop on this dose as drop #1. The one on the 4th as drop #2. Tonight?
Whoa. He really does keep you guessing with these bounces![]()
When you say first and second drop, etc, you’re referring to long term diabetic kitties who need 3 drops below 50 to earn a reduction?Sorry for the late response to your question:
I would count the first day's drop on this dose as drop #1. The one on the 4th as drop #2. Tonight?
Of course the test would come back around the same, even if the IAA has broken. It's only a long time after kitty is off insulin that you might see IAA numbers come down. For some interesting reading: Black Kitty IAA update.but there is a woman in the Facebook group who insists her cat has had IAA for 3 years now or something like that, high-ish dose and the blood work coming back positive each time.
Now THAT is fascinating, but also makes sense.Of course the test would come back around the same, even if the IAA has broken. It's only a long time after kitty is off insulin that you might see IAA numbers come down. For some interesting reading: Black Kitty IAA update
When you say first and second drop, etc, you’re referring to long term diabetic kitties who need 3 drops below 50 to earn a reduction?
Now THAT is fascinating, but also makes sense.
It's 1am here and firing on very few brain cells...why then does the insulin dose eventually go down? Fewer antibodies so more of the insulin getting through?
Sorry to sidetrack your thread Lisa!
Now there's a million dollar question. Not much is known about IAA and why and when it breaks. "They" say it breaks after about a year, but there is some variability. For some cats, and just my observation, is there is often a secondary condition also causing insulin resistance (acromegaly, dental issues, skin condition, heart disease) and treating those secondary conditions seems to help the IAA go away. In Black Kitty's case is was his dentals, in Neko it was SRT for her acromegaly. Others, like Oberson and Loudogg, there don't seem to be other conditions or issues. IAA just is. Loudogg also did a brief stint OTJ in the beginning before coming back on insulin, never did get to really high doses, but is now nicely regulated.why then does the insulin dose eventually go down? Fewer antibodies so more of the insulin getting through?