10/6, Mikey, AMPS 321, +3 263, +6 253, +9.5 245, PMPS 252, +4 134

Lynn & Mikey

Member Since 2024
Hello, finally got started this morning. I'm a bit confused about what Mikey's no shoot number should be to start. This evening, if he is under 200, should I still give the dose? Or would under 150 mean I should skip?

Also, I think I'm going to try a different lancing device. I've been using the one that came with the AT3, but usually it takes several tries. Would the Walmart ReliOn one be a good option?

previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-start-insulin-with-bg-of-235.294451/
 
Hello, finally got started this morning. I'm a bit confused about what Mikey's no shoot number should be to start. This evening, if he is under 200, should I still give the dose? Or would under 150 mean I should skip?

Also, I think I'm going to try a different lancing device. I've been using the one that came with the AT3, but usually it takes several tries. Would the Walmart ReliOn one be a good option?

previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-start-insulin-with-bg-of-235.294451/
Tagging Elise , I see on your previous post she has helped you a lot
Hi Elise @Lynn & Mikey just started Lantus today and started on 1 unit

@tiffmaxee
Also tagging
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
Ladies Lynn just started Lantus this morning ,she will be home today and Monday to monitor

Per her previous post
I have Sunday and Monday off, so I'm planning to start Sunday morning. I will go with the TR method and start with 1 unit.

I have a long day on Wednesday, since I have a class after work. It seems like the options will be skip the dose or skip the class. Should I see how the first three days go and then decide?
 
Last edited:
@Lynn & Mikey
Welcome to the Lantus Board Lynn
You linked your previous post correctly :cat:
Remember to do a new post every day and link your previous days post

I have never used a lancing device, most of us test freehand.
See if this helps

Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light andyou will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up
 
Welcome to the LLB forum.welcome to the LLB forum. If the bg is under 200 at preshot, stall, do not feed and check again in 20-30 minutes to see if it goes up on its own. Post and ask for dosing advice. Add a question mark prefix to your subject and add dosing advice. If around 200 just shoot. You will gradually reduce the stall number. Pick up for food 2 hours before preshots so the bg is not food influenced at first. If the bg is still lo fur yiur comfort level you have options to shoot a token dose or skip. I’d ask for help the first few times this happens and it’s fine to ask every time.

It will take 5-7 days for the depot builds and to see if the starting dose needs to be adjusted. Sometimes there’s a big response to the first dose but not often. If the bg drops under 68 a reduction is earned and you would reduce by .25. That becomes the new dose.

I did not use a lancing device and tested free hand. My vet liked using needles and I stuck to that because I always got enough blood. I used the very sharp 25 gauge terumo needles.
 
On this forum, for people following Tight Regulation, we suggest that if the preshot value is under 150, you do NOT feed, and post for help. There are several options that are possible, depending on the context, including whether you can test that night. We can help you decide the best option based on what's good for Mikey and you. Initially, when you are new and just learning how Mikey uses the Lantus, we will be more conservative. As you gather data, you will eventually be able to shoot as low as 68 on the pet meter.
 
I have tested freehand a few times, but I feel like I am not skilled enough. Mikey complains when I do the poke, which doesn't happen when the device does work. I also get a larger drop of blood than what the device gets. I noticed when I bought the meter that there were a lot of complaints about the lancing device in the reviews, so I thought maybe a different one would work better..

The meter came with 28 gauge lancets but I only have a few left. I think I messed up because I bought 30 gauge, thinking that would be better than the 26, since they didn't have 28.
 
Gave pm shot

I had been planning to test every 3 hours. Would 4 hours be okay? Then I'd just have 11pm and 3am.
 
I'm not sure that Mikey actually got a dose this morning. I used a needle with the pen instead of a syringe, then picked up the right type of syringes this afternoon. Just read the bit about priming the pen, which I did not do.
 
Back
Top