10/6 Hyde AMPS 565 PMPS 501 +1 499 +3 402

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know how you feel I had to keep bumping Toby up until he was getting in the blues and greens. He got up to 18 units at one time now he's down to 15.75 units.
 
Hang in there Anne! We're all rooting for you and Hyde. Fingers and kitty toes crossed that you see some results soon!
 
Sorry you're still not seeing much color variation. Her resistance is fighting back hard.

When I was seeing reds like this on Grayson (mid-2012), I increased his dose by 20-25% about every 6th shot (every 3 days). Once I started seeing improvements in his numbers (low blues/greens), then I would slow down a little. But you have to stay on top of the resistance. Keep in mind, a .5u increase at 10u is only 5%; when you were at 1u you jumped 100% to 2u. I know .5u increases seem like the safe thing, but for a high-doser, it helps to be aggressive - as long as you're able to get some mid-cycle readings.

I know it's stressful when you see other kitties getting a response w/ a miniscule increase, and you wonder why your baby isn't responding. But we give them what they need. You wouldn't hesitate to get glasses if you couldn't see. A dose is a dose - whatever she needs. Hang in there!
 
...another thought.

You're getting movement in her cycle - sometimes as much as 350 points; you're just starting at a higher dose than most others. But she IS responding to the insulin.

Have you considered using R to jumpstart the onset? I was very reluctant to use it, but eventually I did. It's in & out (kinda like ProZinc), but in about 4 hours. You shoot both Lev and R simultaneously. By the time the Lev kicks in, you're at a lower starting number. It is a great tool in your tool box, but can be VERY scary when you see that much of a drop and movement so quickly. It's IMPERATIVE that you're around during those first four hours - and longer - because some kitties respond drastically to even the slightest little drop of R. You start small - like 1/4u and test hourly at a minimum. Something to consider. My vet was not thrilled at the thought of my using R, but with support from here, I was able to use it successfully, as several others here do. Testing is the key.
 
I have thought about adding R.

I would not be able to dose it at +10 to keep her numbers down at the end of the cycle (the lantus does not appear to have good duration for her) because I am either at work or asleep at +10. I am hesitant to add it at shot time because she has dropped 300 points by +3 and I don't want her to drop any faster.

Is there another scenario that might work for her?
 
I would start by learning how R works for Hyde, at a time when you can monitor and someone with R experience will be around. So maybe that's a weekend or a night when you don't have to work the next day. And maybe a day you can do a +9 or +10 R shot. Do you get home during the week just before +12? R at +11 is another option if home then. When does DH get home?
 
Good luck with the doscrease Anne, would just second what Lu-Anne said earlier, she needs what she needs. Certainly think it's worth having a trial with the R, it can help enormously.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top