10/6 Gracie PMPS 251 +4 222

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

10/5 Recap:
AMPS: 246 3rd cycle 1.25u lev
+3: 312
+6: 324
+10: 279
PMPS: 268 4th cycle 1.25u lev
+3: 208
+4: 128
+4.5: 140
+5.5: 141
+7: 178


Happy Fursday LL! Our healing wishes go to Zoe, Rocket, Fiona, and any others who need them.

Gracie came speeding down into blue last night and dropped 80 mg/dl between +3 and +4 which is a little early for her normal onset (which is often around +5). Not wanting her to earn a reduction so quickly, I gave her a little bit of 10% as the last time the 8% didn't do a thing to slow her and I really didn't want to give her karo. Well......this was the first time I've given 10% to her on lev and she responded in a big way. In fact, I think I totally ruined her chances of getting into green and surfing there. Ahhh Gracie...always teaching the beans something new. It does seem like she surfed blue all night and got her little lev spike this morning....I'm hoping she's working towards flattening out ....it usually takes her almost 10 cycles to settle into a dosecrease so we're patiently waiting. And yes...I did say "patiently" :lol: :lol:

Weird thing happened last night. Teddi always had this incredibly charming mannerism where, after she bathed, she would stand up on all four feet and then stretch her left leg out parallel to the floor and really stretch it out...like she was goose stepping. It was so adorable and we've never seen another cat do it....until last night...Tobes did it and he's n-e-v-e-r done it. He did it just like she would. I think she is sending us so many messages that she is still here. We did have to laugh and hope that her spirit is not IN Tobey as we often feel GA Max's spirit is in him and Teddi and Max did not get along; poor Tobey if they are both trying to dwell there! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Mike left for work this morning :sad: My 83-year old DM fell last night and fractured her cheek bone :sad: :sad: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: Tomorrow I will have to spend some time helping my sisters talk to her (via phone...she lives in TX) about assisted living. :roll: :roll: :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:

BIg cold front blew in here this morning and it is freezing. Sorry, Ella....I guess that term is relative. I"m sure it is in the high 60s/low 70s but there is wind and it's just chilly.

Hope you are all well as are your babies. Have a good day.
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Marjorie, you've got so much to deal with! I hope your DM is OK and that the conversation goes well- that is not a fun one to have...

So cute about Tobes stretching like Teddi did... Helps keep Teddi with you.

Come on Gracie- work that dosecrease!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

That is so neat about the signs from Teddi. I experienced something similar when Mikey (GA kitty) crossed the Bridge. Maggie started picking up some of his traits, like talking and waking me up at the crack of dawn. Keep looking for signs. I hope Gracie comes down and has a nice surf. It is so hard to know what will keep their numbers at a nice surf when they are so sensitive to carbs. I hope your DM is okay and the fractured cheekbone is not too serious. My Mom has had two bad falls, but none so far the last year, knock on wood. I always get nervous when a get a call with her area code, as I usually make the calls to save her money. You have too much on your plate lately, so hope you can try and have a nice day.
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Maybe Teddi asked Tobey to do her a favor, a one time thing, as a sign to you. And maybe Max and Teddi are getting along better now in the spirit world. :smile: Gracie, please clear that bounce.

I hope DM is ok and recovers from her fall. And good luck with your conversation. That will be a tough one.

It got cold here too! There is snow on the San Fracisco peaks but none in town. Yet. Stay warm!
Liz
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Maybe Teddi asked Tobey to do her a favor, a one time thing, as a sign to you. And maybe Max and Teddi are getting along better now in the spirit world. :smile: Gracie, please clear that bounce.

I hope DM is ok and recovers from her fall. And good luck with your conversation. That will be a tough one.

It got cold here too! There is snow on the San Fracisco peaks but none in town. Yet. Stay warm!
Liz
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Oh, our beloved kitties never really leave us, do they?

And that conversation with DM... Well try to start with an atty adjustment with the sisters. If you are all excited about the positive things a good AL facility can offer DM, no more dishes to wash, no floors to clean, good company of her peers, just maybe she'll tune into the possibilites for the future instead of seeing such a move as the end of what she is accustomed to. Good luck!!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Thanks all......oh, I think I don't have so much on my plate. Losing Teddi is one thing but the rest of it is just life and you gotta dig your heels in and deal with it....we all do.

I think DM knows it's about time. Oh, Linda, I wish she was the glass half full type. She lives in independent living right now and the AL facility is attached. She's familiar with it. She likes alot of attention and I told my DSs that's what we have to tell her...look at all the extra attention you'll get!! I don't see it that much different from where she is now....someone will do her meds, help her dress, and make sure she eats; she has a home health aid that is helping her with the latter two things.

Come on down Miss Gracie!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Awww, I am sorry to hear about your DM .. It's hard for the independent types to go into assisted living .. I hope this transition can be a smooth one for you all ..

How sweet teddi wanted to show you she is still around, and she will make her presence known :YMHUG:

Come on down now sweet gracie .. that color does not do anything for you ..
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

we've never seen another cat do it....until last night...Tobes did it and he's n-e-v-e-r done it. He did it just like she would. I think she is sending us so many messages that she is still here.
This made my day.

I want to tell everyone about Henry too - but haven't had the mental energy to put together a longer post. It's uncanny.

I'm sorry about your Mom. That must be so painful. :(
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250

Hi Marje...there's so many things you said this today that resignate with me. I'm so glad you are experiencing things that make Teddi's memories closer to your heart.

It's funny that you fed that +4. I had my DH feed Boo some carbs all day today - we've all been tired trying to keep up with his downward slope and just needed a break. I've never done that before, but truthfully....it was the one day at work when I didn't worry one bit!

I'm so sorry to hear about your mom. It's tough anyway you look at it; the talks, the decisions, the situations. We have my mother in law with us and it really is something big in our lives.....I'm very glad that you have options.

Thanks for stopping by our condo today and tell Mike that Boo literally has a bit of the character in him!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250 +7 314 Lev ??

Since I took Gracie back up, I'm wondering if it's too much insulin.....I can't tell if she is bouncing from last night or if she has some inverted stuff going on from too high of a dose.

Any thoughts from any experienced lev eyes please? Thanks!!!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250 +7 314 Lev ??

Hi Marje, I hope your DM will be all right. I know hw frustrating it can be when they have to give up their independence. My DM "knows" it was time, but dhe still isn't happy about it.

I think I'm giving up thinking I know what 's going on w/ Tess, at least saying so out loud. :roll: :lol: to me this looks like a bounce, it just seems too early in the cycle to really be a reverse curve.

Let tobey know how happy he made you remembering Teddi. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250 +7 314 Lev ??

One cat's spirit doesnt go into another cat..But it could communicate it's feeling through another...
But it is wonderful that you are receiving signs already :-D :-D :-D
I know they stay around us..I am happy for you!
Keep watching for signs, she is there..loving you as always!

Sorry about your Mom, hope you can find the answer easily & quickly.
Dont know much about lev, but I know you are doing a great job--Just one cycle, just one day, remember?
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250 +7 314 Lev ??

Hi Marje,
I've given up trying to figure out Rusty's recent numbers, too. Lev. was easy when he was in flat high greens and low blues, but now . . . who knows? Today he had a pretty good day. I realize that it is impossible (and not recommended) to compare today to 4 months ago, or even to last week, but it sits in the back of your mind (or in the front of your mind) anyway. Try not to analyze too much. I make that mistake and it doesn't help!

Sorry to hear about your mom's fall and broken cheek bone and about the "it's time to move to assisted living" conversation. We went through this with my aunt. She broke her hip at age 91, tried to stay in her home, but couldn't manage any more without help. She still lived in the house in which she had been born. She did not want to move to a residence, but she was low on money and we had to sell the house. Even though she moved to a place where she already had friends, it never worked out. She lived to be 99 and never adjusted (interesting, because she was a career woman, head of a department in the garment industry, and previously could adjust to anything).
My parents had friends who made all the right moves at the right times. They never looked back and made the most of every situation, even their move to "total care". It's hard to "downsize". We tried it and failed (sold our 3-story brownstone row house and moved to a 1-bedroom apartment: big mistake! But we're glad we made it; it changed our lives.). We "over-downsized" and have been "up-sizing" again ever since!!!

Rusty has acquired one of Stu's mannerisms: he digs around in the wastepaper basket every morning. He never did this when he first came to live with us. I hope he doesn't acquire the habit of pounding on doors! Interesting that Tobey is so tuned in to both Teddi and Max. What a fine kitty he is!

Have a fine evening and good luck with your DM. We're sending her some beautiful healing vines.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. sorry about the mistake on Rusty's condo!!!!!
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 190 +5 250 +7 314 +10 253 Lev ??

I think your definition of freezing and mine are similar, now that I live in Charleston. You would never know that I used to be a Minnesotan. :lol:

I don't think Gracie's dose is too high. This goes against what I usually say (usually I like dose increases!), but I would be inclined to hold onto this dose for a couple more days, at least. Even though she hasn't had green yet, it looks like the dose might have some potential to get there once she quits bouncing. If not, you can always increase. I could be wrong - I can't really say WHY I think this dose will settle nicely. Usually I like to have a reason and I don't, just a feeling. Not much help, I know. ;-)
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie AMPS 251

Down a little.....hope she clears some more and comes on down. She's been pretty sassy today ...playing in her cubes!

Ann: thanks...I believe she will be fine; she's pretty tough. I think she also knows it's time...I hate for her to give up independence but it's getting unsafe. I don't know enough about reverse curves to know but I thought +7 was pretty late to be that high. Oh....Tobes...he gets lots of snuggles.

Roni: that's interesting!!! Tobey definitely has some of Max's mannerisms, etc but he's also just Tobey. I think he was pretty close to Teddi.

Ella: no worries about the rainbow...just glad all is ok. You are right...I shouldn't try to analyze so much...it doesn't help because there is no answer...she's a cat. That's amazing your aunt was 91 and living on her own. I'm so sorry she didn't adjust, though...I am sure it is very difficult. Thank you for healing vines for my mum. I do have friends who talk about downsizing as they retire....not us...we like our space!! That is amazing about Rusty!! Oh yes...Tobey is a special boy.

Libby: And you would probably never know that I was raised in AK and also Labrador!! And Mike and I met while living in AK....now I freeze at the first temps below 80 :lol: :lol: I do remember from wwwaaayyy back when on lantus that Jill suggested in our condo one day that we hold Gracie's dose increases for a week and let her really settle in. I'll trust your intuition! I just wanted to be sure the high numbers weren't from too much juice. Gracie...gotta do it her way.

Dinner time here!! Hope you are all having a great evening.
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie PMPS 251

hi - so sorry to be so late in visiting... just no time anymore these days. Can't help with the dose either. I barely understand Lantus,let alone lev. All one can do is look for patterns, see the trends, and act accordingly.

Sorry to read about your DM. It's a tough call, and I hope she will listen.

Love the Tobey and Teddi story - she is still there with you, Signs are signs - enjoy them.
 
Re: 10/6 Gracie PMPS 251

Hi Marje- I've been so busy the last few weeks that I haven't had much of a chance to write in condos, although I have been trying my best to keep up. I hope your DM recovers quickly...

Trixie does that same stretch you described that Teddi used to do, and Tobey is now doing. I call it kitty yoga, and it IS incredibly adorable! I'm so glad to hear Teddi is showing you signs!

I've only got one GA, Mr Kitty...and I swear, Trixie is his reincarnate. She has the same type of voice, the same love for food, many of the same character traits. I find it very interesting. She came along several years after he crossed, but I feel he is part of her. There's a lot of "hindsight is 20/20" stuff attached to his memory that I won't go into, but I think he sent her to us because he knew we'd do the right things by her. You'll hear more of her story later this month, as Halloween is her "gotcha day".

Didn't meant to hijack Gracie's condo...your story just struck a little note. I hope you're able to get some R&R in for yourself!

Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top