10/6 Ginger PMPS 524, +2 414, +4 431, +6 453 !!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori in Ohio

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Late afternoon yesterday, tested for Ketones. A trace is present.

10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417, +4 350, +7 388
PMPS 524, +2 414, +4 431, +6 453
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513 !

I don't know what to say. How is she feeling this morning?
Come on Ginger, let's go down nice and easy to the pinks, and then the yellows, today, please.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513 !

Good morning....Hope Ginger will come down a bit for you today...

How's the transitioning from EVO dry to the canned going? I've got one cat who won't touch the canned (my civvie) and than Curry who will eat just about anything...thank goodness.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513 !

She seems to feel ok.

She eats about 1 tablespoon of Special Kitty mixed with a little water before I give her the low carb dry.
Sometimes I take away her water bowl and add more water to the canned so she will eat it.

she is eating less of the dry. She use to eat only 1/4 cup of that 2x a day, so a little less now.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417

That's good that you are giving her extra water with the canned food. The fluids help to flush the ketones....but you really do have to keep a close eye on them. Have you tested again today yet?
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417

No, I did not test for Ketones yet today, I will try later this afternoon.

I have a job interview today to get ready for, so printing out some things to bring with me, etc.

I plan to test her BG for +4 reading before I leave the house.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417

Come on down there, Ms. Ginger Girl! Looks like you are trying so keep up the good work!
Glad Ginger is transitioning well to getting less dry food. And the old water in the food is a good trick! I actually do that for all of my kitties. I figure that if it's good for Spot it certainly can't hurt them! Hope the keytones don't find their way into the test strip.

Good luck on the job interview today!
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417

Hi Lori! When there are ketones, it's very important to try to flush them out. I know others have suggested that you accelerate the switch to canned food with water added, and I agree with that. The dry food is a double whammy, it boosts the BG numbers, and doesn't add water. Ketones can become an emergency if they continue to rise, and it can happen quickly. I think you need to keep a very close eye on the ketones...can you test a couple of times a day?

With that said, it is also important that Ginger eats! If you are having trouble convincing Ginger to eat the wet food, you can try sprinkling parmesan cheese, freeze-dried chicken dust or Fortiflora on top. One reason that it is difficult to transition cats from dry food is that the manufacturers add a lot ingredients to make it very palatable and attractive smelling. Dry food addicts sometimes need extra incentive to eat the wet by making it more attractive smelling with additives on top. However, beware of doing this if you don't need to....Pat will attest that it can lead to kitties refusing to eat unless you add the topping! :mrgreen:

Does Ginger have any signs of an infection of some kind? I have no personal experience with ketones, but I believe that infection is very often part of the picture.

Good luck with the job interview!
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417

Ginger's Mom said:
She is barely eating a tablespoon of food, 2 times a day and eats very little of the low carb dry.

When you get back from your interview, can you do a quick calculation on the number of calories Ginger is eating? She probably needs to be getting somewhere around 230 (that's for a 12 lb cat) give or take. Based on what you're describing about her food intake, I'm concerned that she's not getting enough calories. Given her numbers, it may mean there's an infection brewing. Not enough food, infection, and the presence of ketones can be a recipe for diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) which is a condition I'd recommend you'd avoid.

If you're still seeing trace ketones today, despite all you're doing, and Ginger's food intake is below normal, if it were me, I'd be planning on a visit to the vet.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417, +4 350

Finally BG is going down to a 350. Hopefully it will stay in the 300's or a little lower today. For now, I'd be happy with that.

Regarding her food intake. She has always been very picky and would never touch the canned before. Adding the water has helped. She has only been eating canned food since 9/27.
Sometimes she will eat canned at the AM +7 too.

This cat will not even eat kitty treats, real chicken or anything like normal cats do.....never would.

Before the diabetes diagnosis, I have always put 3/4 to 1 cup of the dry food in the bowl for (3 cats) 2x a day.
So each cat has always eats approx 1/4 cup twice a day.

One cat that is thinner than the rest, we always fed him 1/2 a can of canned food inbetween.
Then fat boy Babibear always wants some too.

Lucky is 10 lbs, Ginger is 14 lbs, Babibear is 18 lbs. So I do not think they are undernourished.

Lucky and Babibear could easily do without the dry. They love the wet. (They eat alot of it now)
Since Ginger is only eating a tablespoon of wet at a time. I am going to continue to feed her the EVO dry until she starts eating more of the wet.

Ginger has had bloodwork and urine tests done she does not have an infection.
She has also had ex-rays and ultra sounds earlier this year. Nothing was found wrong.

Off to my job interview. See ya later.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417, +4 350

well I'm glad to see that ginger is slowly coming down, that red floor is the worst! Please keep an eye on the trace ketones ... good luck at your job interview!
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417, +4 350, +7 388

Job interview went really well. Hope I get this one.

Ginger is in the bathroom with a litter box and the gravel, a bowl of water and a little of the cannned food and water.
So waiting for her to pee.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger AMPS 513, +2 417, +4 350, +7 388

Yay! Go Ginger! flip_cat

from your fellow newbies

Cee & Gandolf
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger PMPS 524, +2 414

She feels terrible today. Still showing a trace of ketones.

She has been drinking alot of water and I also gave her water via a syringe a few times.

Increased Lantus dosage this evening.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger PMPS 524, +2 414, +4 431

I hope Ginger feels better soon!

You might want to talk to your vet tomorrow and see what they want you to do about ketones. Maybe you can get subq fluids to give at home. Trace ketones can quickly turn into more if all the ingredients line up the wrong way.
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger PMPS 524, +2 414, +4 431, +6 453

those are subcutaneous fluids given to the cat thru an iv type system... administered beneath the skin just like insulin is injected under the skin. sounds a lot more intense than i have found it to be...it was very easy to administer to 3 very different cats with 3 very different personalities. prescribed for lots of things, dehydration, etc...flushes the system beautifully. that's just a brief overview...the experts can give you more indepth info and maybe some links to read.

you're working very hard for your girl...kudos to you!

and here's hoping you get the job!

celi and binks
not an advisor...just saw that no one had responded yet...
 
Re: 10/6 Ginger PMPS 524, +2 414, +4 431, +6 453 !!!

As high as Gingers numbers are at, what do I do if I do get a job?

She seems to be getting worse and worse instead of better. I see no one other newbies here with numbers this high.
She started off in the 300's before I started insulin and now is in the 500's.....
She had no Ketones present before, and now she does.
 
You mentioned that Ginger had labs done a while ago. How long ago? The same with any of the other tests. Fundamentally, a blood test can be normal on Monday and be abnormal by Wednesday. An ultrasound may be fine 3 mos. ago and pancreatitis can develop and the ultrasound can then show the problem.

High numbers can be indicative of the presence of an inflammation, an infection, or pain. You're doing everything right in terms of dosing. The presence of ketones is worrisome and, as Libby noted, trace ketones can worsen very quickly. If this were my cat, I'd be taking her in for a check-up to make sure there is nothing medically amiss.
 
Blood Work and ultra sounds were a few months ago.
Urine tests 1 month ago.

Hubby thinks its time to put Ginger down. When her BG level is this high, she wimpers or moans.
We have been trying for months to find out whats wrong with her.

Diagnosis's:
Diabetic, not diabetic, diabetic, not diabetic, heart condition, not heart condition, pancreitis, not pancreitis, hepititis, not hepititis, then finally......yes diabetic after all.
cost: $1600.00

I am going to call the vet to discuss about subQ fluids and her dosing.
 
Lori,

I'm not sure if you saw Libby's post a couple of days ago:
Libby and Lucy said:
good luck with the dosecrease!

With Ginger's nadirs this high, you might want to consider increasing the dose more aggressively. It's entirely up to you, but the protocol allows for increases of 0.5 units at a time when nadirs are over 300.

The presence of ketones also indicates a need to be more aggressive with dosing increases. IMHO, you should be increasing by 0.5u at a time if Ginger's nadirs continue to stay above 300. Did you look at the links in the dosing protocol sticky? http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_20 ... otocol.pdf

I know it's extremely stressful when the numbers are high, Tinkles had numbers this high and higher when he was diagnosed. Fortunately for us, he didn't have ketones. Please know that with time and the appropriate dose, Ginger's numbers will come down.

I would also encourage a trip to the vet....ketones are not something to be taken lightly.
 
Guess you could tell I am stressing out and so is Hubby........

I did read that but wanted to try just .25 more for a 24 hour period. Since it was so soon after the last increase.
Once I talk to the vet, I will see what she suggests.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top