10/6 Farine : getting closer to a third honeymoon

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimouette

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

Farine is getting closer to her third honeymoon! Alain has lowered the dosage this morning (0.10u), and this is the smallest amount of insulin he can draw from a syringe.

Has you can see on Farine's spreadsheet : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0

she tends to have blue values 12-24 hours after she gets a nadir close to 39-50. When that happens, she eats a little more than usually and her BG levels get back into normal range right after her extra meal. But then we have these blue values which kind of make it difficult for us to figure out when exactly she will need to get OTJ. I'm sure it's coming pretty soon, but then we dont know how long it's going to last.

As you can see on her spreadsheet even when she was OTJ (08/24 to 09/22), she wasn't completely stable within the normal range. Alain took her to the vet last Thursday and we will soon get her results (urine, and blood chemistry panel). The vet also looked at her teeth and said that 2 of her teeth had moderate dental plaque (with a little redness on the gum), but we needed to wait for her blood test results to really decide if the benefits of a tartar removal are worth the risk or not.

If everything is normal in her blood tests, and we get her teeth fixed, I really wont know where to look for to figure out why her BG levels are not stable when she is OTJ!
 
The blues after numbers in the 40's and 50's suggest rebound bouncing. Reducing the dose would help, but .1 is about the lowest you can go.

Remember, an OTJ cat is still diabetic and may not have normal bg control. I don't know if there's any official strategy to deal with that other than just testing at least once a week and getting on top of high numbers before insulin resistance can set in.
 
Most of the blues are in the normal range. Is Alain feeding Farine a snack late in the cycle (e.g., at +8 or +9)? Given that it looks like Farine's pancreas is working, a bit of food late in the cycle may help to bring the AMPS dose lower.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Most of the blues are in the normal range. Is Alain feeding Farine a snack late in the cycle (e.g., at +8 or +9)? Given that it looks like Farine's pancreas is working, a bit of food late in the cycle may help to bring the AMPS dose lower.
Alain does leave some food every night before going to sleep but there are 2 complicated factors here :
1- Farine has a little sister that sometimes will eat a portion of her meal, and figuring out which one ate what and WHEN is impossible
2- We are trying to help Farine loose a little weight. And since the only quantities of food we can control are the one fed during the day, from a diet point of view, it is very difficult to count on these night snacks!


Camille : Yeah we know that a diabetic kitty will remain diabetic for the rest of its life... With a cat whose BG values are roller coasting like this, it's something you can never forget!

But honestly, the hardest thing to deal with, is that when she is OTJ, even if we make sure she eats the best possible food (now we know we must never dare to change her food!) and lives a healthy stress-free life, her BG levels tend to increase after a little while... Even though she is able to reach to pretty low values by herself, it's like there was some sort of disease sometimes putting her back in the blue range values :(
Like i said we are waiting for the blood and urine results, so we'll see about that...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top