? 10/6 Chispa, diving and bouncing

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-4-chispa-270-amps-86-4.294605/

Zooming out on my spreadsheet today, I noticed that Chispa's numbers before August were in a much narrower range of mostly blues and yellows, even on SLGS, vs. a rainbow patchwork of colors now. I used to try to keep her from diving with spoonfuls of MC until the numbers leveled out, but at some point I was advised to stick to LC instead and let the chips fall where they may (I don't remember who said that, and it doesn't matter). Today I tried again to slow the drop with strategic spoonfuls of MC, but she made it to the greens anyway, and here we are with another pink preshot.

Maybe it's a coincidence, but it seems like the higher the dose, the more extreme the numbers. I regret letting the vet talk me into trying SLGS, and I'm beginning to despair of ever getting her regulated again. If it ain't broke, don't fix it -- that's the moral of that story.

Is there anything I can or should be doing differently?

@Wendy&Neko
 
I'd recommend following TR as written for a while. With green nadirs, we hold the dose for 10 cycles, unless tightly regulated. When you followed SLGS for a while, her body got out of practice with greens. Now it's seeing them and bouncing. You have to try to get to a dose where she'll see long stretches of green, and more often.
 
Thanks, Wendy. Looks like I am on dose #8 since the fur shot, so I'll plan to increase Tuesday morning.

What are your thoughts on trying to slow down the drops with MC -- is that a good idea, or not?
 
trying to slow down the drops with MC -- is that a good idea, or not?
Depends on how carb sensitive your cat is. Some people can get away with regular LC, some need higher LC, some need MC. How sensitive to carbs is Chispa?

I think the "slow the drop" may have been a bit late today. She already dropped 100 points by +2 so I might have tried slowing things then. I actually gave Neko a small LC snack at +1 and +2 and +3 so she had some fresh carbs on board before onset.
 
Depends on how carb sensitive your cat is. Some people can get away with regular LC, some need higher LC, some need MC. How sensitive to carbs is Chispa?
That's a tough question ... it depends. Sometimes a teaspoon of MC will turn those numbers in the other direction, and other times I can give her half of a pouch without it seeming to make any difference at all. It's always the same MC, too, so the results should be predictable, but they're not. :confused:
 
Wouldn't that be too easy if anything related to our cats was predictable?
I hope you have a nice day today, Karen. It's frustrating and patience is great but difficult to find sometimes!
 
Back
Top