10/6 Charlie AMPS 140 , +11 123, PMPS 142, +2 113, +3 92, +4 86, +6 107

Julie & Charlie

Member Since 2020
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-5-charlie-pmps-185-2-90-3-91-4-92.236429/

Charlie had surgery to remove several teeth yesterday. This morning he wants to eat and laps up a little bit of food but is having a bit of a hard time eating. I've added water and smashed all lumps so it is pretty soupy but I think he probably feels the stitches and tries to wipe his mouth with his paws. I've also tried baby food.

How much food is enough to shoot? I'd guess he has had more "broth" than actual food.

I have a dose of Metacam to give him today and tomorrow but now I'm nervous about that after researching possible side effects.

Any recommendations?
 
You need to be able for him to eat at least 1/2 of his normal food and a few teaspoons every few hours should be enough. . I had to skip the morning dose with Max after his extraction because he wasn’t eating. I would not use Metacam . There are other medications for pain but buprenorphine is what I was always given.
 
I hate to skip his AM dose again but I'm sure that is better than overdosing. I'd guess he has only eaten a tsp or two when he normally eats a full can of FF for breakfast. I'll call the clinic when they open in half an hour and ask about buprenorphine. I know he is in pain and metacam looks really risky.
 
I'm new here but I second the use of buprenorphine in place of metacam. I would even look into gabapentin...It worked really well for us. I would also give the highest calorie food you can since he is not eating much. When my girl came back from the ER vet with hepatic lipidosis (along with her many other diagnosis) In order to help reverse it with her lack of appetite I was giving her the highest calorie foods I could find. Fancy feast makes a beef and chicken feast classic pate thats 101 cals for a 3 oz can. The other high calorie foods I have found are the purina pro plan focus kitten pate and purina pro plan prime 7+ pate. They can run anywhere from 101 -119 cals per can and are all4% carbs or less I believe. That way if kitty is eating a half of a can throughout the course of a day , they are actually eating 50-60 calories as opposed to a lower calorie food which can be as little as 45 calories a can...in which case they would only be eating 20-25 calories for the day.

As for the diabetes part of the question...i'm still too new to be able to help with that.

Hope kitty heals soon!
 
His 3 standard flavors range 99-101 per can. I'm not sure about the salmon and will check on that and keep working on small amounts throughout the day. I'm about an hour past normal shot time so am just going to let that go for today and focus on pain management and making sure he doesn't go backwards with food. Ugh.
 
His 3 standard flavors range 99-101 per can. I'm not sure about the salmon and will check on that and keep working on small amounts throughout the day. I'm about an hour past normal shot time so am just going to let that go for today and focus on pain management and making sure he doesn't go backwards with food. Ugh.
thats good...theyre all fairly high calorie then. poor kitty. I'm not sure how much your cat weighs or should be eating but I would think if you could get at least 80 or 90 calories in , that should be enough. Good luck with kitty...keep us posed!
 
Since he’s drinking the broth you could give maybe a half dose of insulin and give gravy lovers if he won’t eat. It has the carbs to keep him up.
 
He is only getting .1 - or as close as I can get to that, even with calipers. Now I'm an hour and a half past normal dosing time. Ugh.

LOL, Charlie is 15.85 pounds so I guess I need to research lower calorie food because he needs to loose some weight. He lost weight pre-diagnosis, but he's gone up almost a pound since starting insulin.
 
Got buprenorphine from my vet. Charlie is pretty spacey and immediately ran to hide under the bed. It took a while but I got him out and blocked him out of all of his hiding spots so he has to stay where I can watch him. With asthma I'm a little worried about the buprenorphine and impact on his breathing. They only gave me 2 doses at 24 hours apart--though it looks like dosing typically lasts about 8 hours or so.

He is also on Clavimox for the dental procedure.
 
How much is in each dose? Max didn’t need it too many days. I can’t remember how long though.
 
She gave him .23ml in each of the 2 doses. He seems to be doing okay and is eating a little better. I gave him some chicken with gravy which is 15 carbs I think. He's also had some chicken baby food. His BG is going to be way out of wack tonight. As long as he doesn't go backwards, I assume we will be able to get back on track with his insulin dosing starting tonight. I imagine it will take a couple of days to undo these two skips.

In the scheme of things, he needed to have the teeth removed so that should help his overall health in the long run.
 
How much does Charlie weight? Buprenorphine is dose in a range based on weight of cat. Just for reference, my 14+ lb cat got 0.22 ml per twice a day dosing. Sometimes we find vets overdose the bupe. But as long as he's doing Ok and eating, looks like you are OK. I had a civvie cat that went all glass eyed and walked like a drunken sailor on too high a dose. Turns out the weekend vet had used a concentration of bupe that was higher than I was used to. :rolleyes:
 
How much does Charlie weight? Buprenorphine is dose in a range based on weight of cat. Just for reference, my 14+ lb cat got 0.22 ml per twice a day dosing. Sometimes we find vets overdose the bupe. But as long as he's doing Ok and eating, looks like you are OK. I had a civvie cat that went all glass eyed and walked like a drunken sailor on too high a dose. Turns out the weekend vet had used a concentration of bupe that was higher than I was used to. :rolleyes:

Charlie is currently 15.8 lbs so .23 is consistent based on weight, but his 2nd dose is at 24 hours rather than 12. He had a rough 1-2 hours initially but then acted more or less normal. He is eating some, but not a lot. I've been giving MC food with some gravy.

I gave his .1 PM shot (BG at an hour before shot was 123, he ate a little MC then BG was 142 just before his shot).

You want to trust the vet but it's a bit scary sometimes. A small mistake can make a big difference for our babies:(
 
Back
Top