10/6 AMPS 222, +7 285/ PMPS 255 **INCREASED to 31 U*, +4 192, +6 204

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
So I called my vets office today. The one that diagnosed Xena. I called to see what their price would be to get the IGF-1 and IAA tests if they did it at all. I know it would be pretty expensive, but one of the doctors got on the phone and told me that considering my financial situation, that it would be not in my best interest to do those tests, because she said they’re not definitive, and the only treatment is very expensive. So I mentioned. Cabergoline. She did not seem to be familiar with it being used to treat acro she also asked me to spell it, which led me to believe that she didn’t know much about it, but she was googling it while we were talking and she said “do you know this medication is used to abort, kittens, and puppies?“ she said there hasn’t been enough studies on it and it would be a risk basically. She went on to tell me that she thought it was more likely that Xena has Cushing’s. Of course the test for Cushing’s is an ultrasound that will cost about five or $600.
I told her where Xena’s numbers usually are. She’s aware I’m using a human glucometer and she said that she would probably just keep giving the dose on that or even try lowering it to see what happens. She said she feels she is somewhat regulated.
She asked if Xena drinks a lot of water and I told her that she doesn’t anymore because when we started having a problem with hard store, we started adding a lot of water to her meals. Regardless, after that, she kept saying “since she’s not drinking a lot of water“ so she didn’t get the point that, the only reason she’s not drinking from the bowl all the time is because she’s getting a lot of water in her meals. Everything this doctor told me threw me for a loop it’s completely the opposite of what I was hoping to hear especially since it doesn’t lineup with this protocol.
She also said that after increases, you should let the cat stay at that dose for 7 to 10 days that three days (six cycles) is not enough time for their body to get used to the dose, and that I could have passed a proper dose.
She asked if Xena is ravenous, and I told her that she’s not ravenous, but she is food aggressive, but this did not seem to register with her as a clinical symptom.
She mentioned that cats with acro usually gain weight. Xena‘s weight is exactly the same as when she was diagnosed.
To her credit, she did spend a good amount of time with me on the phone, which is surprising since this particular vets office has always seemed very much strictly profit oriented.
So her final suggestion was to drop to 25 units… Originally she was saying 20 but she changed it and said you can try 25. She suggested adding 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon of Metamucil 2x / day to her food. She mentioned that fiber helps sugar attach to some thing (she was talking so fast)… And that’s why they usually recommend MD or WD, and that she knows that there’s a Nother field of thought that high protein, low carb is better, but the fiber is important.
One thing I asked her was “ so if I got the IGF-1 test done, and it pointed toward acro… You wouldn’t prescribe Cabergoline?” She said it’s not that she wouldn’t prescribe it and basically went on again about how it hasn’t been clinically tested.
Anyway, you get the gist.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Sounds like a conversation with a vet that ended up going in circles. :banghead: Yup, vet doesn't know what she's talking about. The first Cushings test is a blood test, there could be more than one, depending what that one tells you. The ultrasound is if they suspect an adrenal tumour causing the Cushings, but that's more rare than the pituitary caused Cushings. Oh, and at 31 units, it's highly unlikely it's Cushings. There is this old tale floating around that acro is much more common with male cats and Cushings is for girl cats. :rolleyes: I ran into that one too. While the percentages maybe true, we've had lots of female cats here with acro, and some males with Cushings.

This post talks about the cheaper way to get the tests done, but involves more work for you and still needs the vet to do the blood draw:
MSU VDL testing instructions for IGF-1 and IAA

Cabergoline has been studied by at least two research groups. The best paper on cabergoline studying quite a few cats in South America - link here. This paper talked about 23 cats in the study, but in private conversations with another member here, one of the authors mentioned more like 50 now studied, and that was over a year ago. Might want to pass that article onto your vet. Yes the drug was originally used to abort cats, but that's because it targets the pituitary, which is where the acro tumour is. The other group that studied cabergoline was at the Royal Vet Clinic, but they only studied 5 cats. We've had way more than that on FDMB. And our findings are in keeping with the South American one.

Neko's weight stayed pretty much the same too.

Metamucil is OK, you can get powdered psyllium husk fiber, same thing and possibly cheaper. I give it to my IBD kitty. Not sure it does anything for the diabetes though. Remember, at Xena's dose, she doesn't have regular garden variety feline diabetes which is more like a type 2 diabetes. Xena likely has one of the ones falling under the type 3 or other diabetes. She may in fact have a working pancreas.
 
Thank you.… Yeah, the vet still has to draw the blood which would be fine but also would need to be willing to cooperate with the whole thing in general.
 
Hi Don - Confirmed acro girl cat’s person here.

That vet conversation sounds super frustrating. Once it was becoming clear to me that Pumpkin had more than regular diabetes going on, I ended up looking for a new vet who would be better for her condition. I had some success looking for vets whose profiles specifically mentioned interest in feline chronic diseases or endocrine diseases. The vet I found hadn’t treated an acro cat before, but she was familiar with the latest research and willing to try things with me. Her office didn’t want to send the test to MSU (it’s a chain), so she worked with their best vet tech to coordinate the blood draw and send me home with everything I needed to mail it myself. It made such a huge difference to have someone I felt was a partner in Punpkin’s care.

Pumpkin’s a month into the cabergoline and her dose has dropped from 32 down to 18. Even from a financial point of view it’s already a better situation, and I’m hopeful she’ll keep dropping since it can take a few months to have its full effect.

Good luck with everything.
 
(Although, for what it’s worth my new better vet did also point out that the research on cabergoline was pretty thin. But, after we talked it over we agreed it was the best option since SRT and surgery weren’t feasible for me. So it’s possible you can talk your current vet into the cabergoline, but I’d be a bit worried based on how that conversation went.)
 
Last thing (I’ve been reading some of your recent posts), talking to the receptionists at vet offices isn’t going to help find one who can be helpful high dose cats. If you think about how hard it is even for medically educated vets to keep up with this kind of condition, it’s going to be that much less likely their office staff or techs will be familiar. You’d have to get really lucky there.

This last bit might be a hot take, but I think a younger vet would also be a better bet. They’re more likely to have covered acro in their training, they’re more comfortable sorting out fact from fiction on the internet, and they’re more likely to be using resources like vet forums to hopefully get connected with someone who has dealt with these conditions. I’m not saying an older vet can't or won’t do any of these things, but I think your chances are better with a younger vet if all else is equal.
 
Thanks man. I have read some of your posts etc. too. Up until now I hadn’t even asked the vet that diagnosed her about the acro/IAA test, because I just know that there are ideas are inconsistent with the way we do things on this site. I really just wanted to see if they did the test and how much it would cost, so I could figure out how much I had to try to put aside . I had put a little money aside, but then the inner and outer tie rod on my car needed to be replaced. I’m going to continue to try to find a vet that will work with me. One of the problems is that vets don’t really want to get on the phone and talk to you and I don’t have the money to make appointments with various vets until I can find one that’s on board. Side from that my vet wanted me to bring the cat there every 10 days to have her glucose tested which is really stressful for a cat, more so than cats I’ve had in the past, and she has a heart murmur, so I don’t want to kill her carding her around anyway,
I’ll definitely try looking into their profiles like you suggested I knew asking the vet where she was diagnosed wasn’t gonna be the best option, but I figured I’d give it a try since I haven’t been having luck even getting simple answers. Two other vets I called said that they don’t do that test, but I’m welcome to come in for a reevaluation.… Like I’m not gonna spend 100+ dollars to take her to a vet that I pretty much know they’re going to think what I’m doing is not correct, especially if they don’t even do the test I’m trying to get done.
I had a cat that was diabetic 10 years ago, and I and across someone who was previously a member here, and he literally walk me through the entire process, and Chester was in remission within like a month. He never went over one unit… So you can imagine how unexpected this overwhelming situation was. I think Xena was probably starting to show signs of being diabetic, but it was missed because we had a very sick cat that we had to have finally put down not too long before Xena was diagnosed. We probably missed the window of opportunity. If in fact, that’s even the case because at this point, I kind of don’t know what to think.
I increased her last night to 31 units, and her a.m. PS was 117, and I haven’t had even a blue number before last night, I was any luck. Maybe I’ll be able to get her regulated by some miracle.
I appreciate you reaching out. I had one question for you. I actually replied to one of your posts but what I was asking is… You mentioned it’s best to get them to pull the blood on Sunday or Monday morning. Since it’s being frozen anyway, I assume it would be OK to get it done on a Saturday and keep it frozen and ship it on Monday? I ask because if I do get the blood work done at this particular vet, they’re not there on Sunday and a Monday morning appointment is almost impossible to get.
Thanks again for reaching out brother. I was wondering how old is pumpkin a Xena’s is 13 now I believe.
 
Thanks man. I have read some of your posts etc. too. Up until now I hadn’t even asked the vet that diagnosed her about the acro/IAA test, because I just know that there are ideas are inconsistent with the way we do things on this site. I really just wanted to see if they did the test and how much it would cost, so I could figure out how much I had to try to put aside . I had put a little money aside, but then the inner and outer tie rod on my car needed to be replaced. I’m going to continue to try to find a vet that will work with me. One of the problems is that vets don’t really want to get on the phone and talk to you and I don’t have the money to make appointments with various vets until I can find one that’s on board. Side from that my vet wanted me to bring the cat there every 10 days to have her glucose tested which is really stressful for a cat, more so than cats I’ve had in the past, and she has a heart murmur, so I don’t want to kill her carding her around anyway,
I’ll definitely try looking into their profiles like you suggested I knew asking the vet where she was diagnosed wasn’t gonna be the best option, but I figured I’d give it a try since I haven’t been having luck even getting simple answers. Two other vets I called said that they don’t do that test, but I’m welcome to come in for a reevaluation.… Like I’m not gonna spend 100+ dollars to take her to a vet that I pretty much know they’re going to think what I’m doing is not correct, especially if they don’t even do the test I’m trying to get done.
I had a cat that was diabetic 10 years ago, and I and across someone who was previously a member here, and he literally walk me through the entire process, and Chester was in remission within like a month. He never went over one unit… So you can imagine how unexpected this overwhelming situation was. I think Xena was probably starting to show signs of being diabetic, but it was missed because we had a very sick cat that we had to have finally put down not too long before Xena was diagnosed. We probably missed the window of opportunity. If in fact, that’s even the case because at this point, I kind of don’t know what to think.
I increased her last night to 31 units, and her a.m. PS was 117, and I haven’t had even a blue number before last night, I was any luck. Maybe I’ll be able to get her regulated by some miracle.
I appreciate you reaching out. I had one question for you. I actually replied to one of your posts but what I was asking is… You mentioned it’s best to get them to pull the blood on Sunday or Monday morning. Since it’s being frozen anyway, I assume it would be OK to get it done on a Saturday and keep it frozen and ship it on Monday? I ask because if I do get the blood work done at this particular vet, they’re not there on Sunday and a Monday morning appointment is almost impossible to get.
Thanks again for reaching out brother. I was wondering how old is pumpkin a Xena’s is 13 now I believe.

Not a problem to freeze then send to MSU or to send to MSU on a different day. If they get the sample early they just freeze it anyway. The key thing is to make sure it arrives on a weekday because they aren’t there on weekends.

I hear you about how disorienting a high dose cat is. Everyone else is freaking out about hypos and micro dose adjustments and you’re just like “I’d love to start seeing any movement at all in the numbers”. I’m so glad you’re finally seeing tentative results. I cried the first time Pumpkin got into the greens.

I hope you can come to an understanding with your vet or find one who gets it. Another thought I had is to see if there’s a teaching vet hospital associated with a local university. You’ll get a vet who’s likely more open to learning and who has access to faculty whose job it is to stay up to date with the latest research.
 
Back
Top