10/6/18 Olive AMPS 322; +4.5=204; +9=197; PMPS 334; +4=208 PIC cabergoline started

Olive & Paula

Very Active Member
Yesterday

She definitely still needs her gab right now. Have call out to vet to see about test results. I will start the cabergoline tonight regardless.

Visit day with dad. Hope the sweater I got him fits this time and I can finally throw out the rag of the sweater he's so reluctant to give up.

Hugs and vines to all in need.
 
Vet just called. Fructosamine is 400 she said that's in the good regulation range. She said normal for animals is 143-373. I haven't looked this test up yet so I really don't know. No glucose in urine, no infection. She is mailing the results to me. I mentioned how Olive has been since the visit. I told her I been giving her the gab which is 12.5 mg every 12 hrs and it does help. She said that was to low a dose for her. She suggested I up her gab to 25mg every 12 hrs long term. If it's to much then do the 12.5mg every 8 hrs. But she thinks long term is best for now. I won't argue with that. Must say Olive is definitely happy on gab. She is sitting in the sliders purring away. Higher dose just given. Head and ears are up.

Cabergoline starts tonight!!!!!!! Yeah!!!! Hope it works.
 
How exciting! Fingers and paws crossed that the Cabergoline works!

I hope the sweater works for your dad and he will let go of the old one.
 
I am not understanding how a fructosomine of 400 can be considered good regulation?

I thought the same thing. It's measured in how many particles of something is in a drop or cluster of a particular component of the blood. I haven't read up on it yet so don't know the technical stuff. It's like measuring the AC1 in humans, which is totally different than finger sticks meter readings.
 
Hooray!! Such a long battle, but I am SO excited that you are finally able to start Olive on the Cabergoline! May you see wonderful results!!

The A1C test in humans basically tests the sugar levels on hemoglobin, and comes back as a percentage. Hemoglobin is a part of red blood cells, which only live 120 days in the blood stream. So the A1C percentage can show how low/high a person's blood sugar has been on average over the last 3 months or so, which is great to get that average rather than the glucose test which only gives the BG now. Definitely a frequent test for diabetics so doctors can know what the patient's BGs have been (usually high, low, or normal) without reviewing a patient's meter (especially if the patient "swears" they've been following protocol). From my understanding, the fructosamine test is the kitty version of the A1C test. :)
 
Hooray!! Such a long battle, but I am SO excited that you are finally able to start Olive on the Cabergoline! May you see wonderful results!!

The A1C test in humans basically tests the sugar levels on hemoglobin, and comes back as a percentage. Hemoglobin is a part of red blood cells, which only live 120 days in the blood stream. So the A1C percentage can show how low/high a person's blood sugar has been on average over the last 3 months or so, which is great to get that average rather than the glucose test which only gives the BG now. Definitely a frequent test for diabetics so doctors can know what the patient's BGs have been (usually high, low, or normal) without reviewing a patient's meter (especially if the patient "swears" they've been following protocol). From my understanding, the fructosamine test is the kitty version of the A1C test. :)

That's my understanding of it also Amanda.
 
Here's my girl. Would love to rub her belly but I know how uncomfortable it is for her.
20181006_214827.jpg
 
Best of luck with the new meds! Love the pic.

I hope your dad likes his new sweater, and that he gets to keep his old one!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:S and scritches

No he didn't get to keep the old. The facility shrunk it, it has a ton of holes and only one button left barely hanging on. No, I don't think he needs to keep it.
 
Back
Top