10/6/10 Charlie: amps- 490 2u; +4.5-314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Member Since 2010
I know it'll take a few days to see if his all-wet diet will improve his numbers. Hopefully they will look better by the weekend.
 
Hi Claudia,
If I had to guess, I would think his nadir is closer to +5 (or maybe +6), and that the prozinc is long gone at both preshots. Any chance you could grab maybe a +5, +6, or a +7 over the next few days? They can be on different days/cycles, AM or PM, but it helps to know how low he goes at nadir. If you also grab later numbers sometimes, we could start to see how much duration he has before it fades. For us it usually started fading at +8, and was rising fast by +10.
 
Pmps: 529, 2u

Nancy- I can do that! I thought prozinc was supposed to last at least 12 hours (according to vet and prozinc's own website). I'll try for one of each of those times over the next couple days.
 
look at the colors on your whole ss. The most frequent pink is at +4, and they are brief, then he's back up to red.
Typical nadir for prozinc is kind of extended, and occurs between +4 to +7.
It does seem to get more steady, and predictable, and later, after a few weeks.
With Cody nadir moved around a lot but was always lowest mid cycle and highest at preshot. Once we got up to a dose that was close, his nadir got later, and the duration got longer.

Once he's been on a dose for 3 days its wonderful to get several mid points so we can get a feel for what it does, and how long it lasts and whether its time to move up .2

Once you get up to a good dose it should last close to 12 hrs.
If preshots get too low, you back off the dose and the duration shrinks. Its a balancing act.
 
I think I'm starting to understand. I'm still using u40 syringes. I guess I should switch? Can you buy insulin syringes at stores or online? Do you need a prescription?
By the way, Nancy- I really appreciate you picking up where lori left off with Charlie and me. I know your plate is full with other sugarkitties and klinger! So a big thank you!
 
Yes, in my state, insulin syringes are available w/o Rx, but they are stored behind the Rx counter. I like the walmart/Sams Relion. One time I was asked to sign a log?!!

***It is critical that you get the ones that have 1/2 unit demarcation lines ( whole unit lines AND half unit marks)

Sometimes they don't say that on the box, so you just need to peek inside the box / bags.

I'll look later for the exact wording on the box but you want the ones with smallest overall volume ( i think thats 3/10cc)

the conversion chart is is the PZI stickies which you need to read.

Obviously they will be U100 syringes for u100 insulin.

and then there is 2 choices for needle length, (short 3/8" and 1/2 inch?) your preference.

cost is about $12/100

Lori may have some???
 
The language on the Walmart/Relion U100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings is: 3/10ml, 30G, 8mm, short needle. UPC (bar code) 81131 31173.

Be sure to print out the conversion chart and post it on the fridge, I check the chart with every shot.

Also, IMO I would caution about .5 unit increases, especially when you are getting closer to your ideal dose. Prozinc can give big results with .1 & .2 increases.

Nancy is spot on with the nadir getting later and duration longer as you get to ideal dose, Harley did the same thing, then you start fine tuning and backing down a little bit as the numbers dictate.

A few days ago I said I was going to take a break from the board because it seemd that everyone was covered but with Lori leaving I guess I'll stick around a while longer, sigh.
 
Thanks Rob & Harley! I pmd Lori to see if she has any syringes, next up I'll try walmart, though. I appreciate the advice. Hopefully by tomorrow I'll have his nadir figured out. Then low increases from there! I'm just glad the insulin is lowering his bgs, just not to where I want them, yet! Today, we decreased by 177 at +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top