10/5 Tiny Sole AMPS: 335, +4: 451!, PMPS: 402, +4: 366

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
not much of a CONDO: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-04-tiny-sole-amps-378.204186/#post-2265105

Tiny has been running in the 300s so much that today's AMPS of 335 seems encouraging!
Will get some tests on her throughout the day and we'll see where she is.
I've been slacking on the evening tests...I'm usually so damned tired, in bed by 9 pm and I will admit, discouraged due to those 300s.

I'm hoping for an uptick...or is it a lowtick in BGs. 200s would be a pleasure to see.

We are still struggling with our other kitty, Cookie, having diarrhea. This morning's box check looked a little more promising but still, not any dramatic change. The Florastor seems to be helping a little, at least. Tomorrow is a Vet visit and we'll get those thyroid levels checked again. I'm not inclined to keep her on that powdered "antibiotic" since we've had her on it for a month with no real change. The Florastor seems to be a bigger help, so we'll stick with that!

See everyone later!
Much love, Joanne & Tiny Sole, and Cookie too!
 
Spoke too soon!
How about those numbers! AMPS: 335, +4: 451!, PMPS: 402, +4: 366
I'm not feeling these 400s!
I'll try to test in the middle of the night.

I hope everyone's night goes well.
 
I think that +4 tonight is high enough you don't need to keep on testing, unless you are just curious and gathering data. It might have been more profitable to test last night, cause it looks like a bounce today. Paws crossed you see better numbers tomorrow.
 
Bring it down Tiny. The depot of 3.25 should be starting to get filled in some by now so hopefully you will start to see some downward movement soon.

Good luck with Cookie's vetty visit today and hope the BW sheds some light on this ongoing diarrhea.
 
hope the BW sheds some light on this ongoing diarrhea

Hi @Bobbie And Bubba !
So happy you popped in to see me...
I have a Florastor question...Cookie finally seems to be responding to it, but that is just now after what, a week? Yes, I started her on Florastor on Sunday.
She's getting 1 capsule a day. Do you know of any counter-indication to giving more than 1 cap/day?
Or do you think I should just stick to that 1 cap/day and see how her blood work looks today for her hypothyroidism?
We finally had some softly-formed stools yesterday and today, but still they are mixed in with mud piles.
This poor kid. She must feel so lousy...

Let me know your thoughts.
I'm beginning to think that something more may be going on with her.
I stopped the powdered antibiotic as of last night.
She hates it - it is bitter even with masking it, and I hate that she has to endure the taste.
It hasn't done a thing for her anyway. Florastor has done more for her than that antibiotic!

Your thoughts?
XOXO, Joanne
 
Paws crossed you see better numbers tomorrow.

Hi @Wendy&Neko ! Yes, I hope so too. I'm going to be out all afternoon through 6 PM, so won't be able to test too much, but will see what we can do to get some more data at some point today.

I'm feeling like I've failed Tiny this month concentrating mostly on Cookie - the medicine giving, the clean up and all the regular necessary tasks...
I work an incredible stressful and demanding job dealing with elderly, take care of my 93 y/o mother and then come home to cat care.
My exhaustion level is through the roof. I've been so out of it at night when I get up to use the lieu, I don't have the energy to test Tiny when I do get up.
I'm not trying to excuse my lack of nighttime testing, and I'm not looking for sympathy or a pass, but I'm barely making it at work or at home. :(

Well, I'll report back later and hope to have some good news on both Tiny's numbers and Cookies issues.

I appreciate the support from everyone here tremendously!
XOXO, Joanne
 
Hi Joanne , as far as I know the Florastor can be giving indefinitely. The following is for Emergency Stop Diarrhea as taken from the FoodFurLife website. ( a great resource with all kinds of great articles and links to read: This might be a good idea since this diarrhea is ongoing.

Give one-quarter of the 250mg / 5 billion CFU capsule every two hours or so. Many cats accept it when mixed into finely ground poached chicken breast / turkey breast / pork loin or meat-only baby food. (Beech Nut, Goya, and Gerber list “meat” and broth or gravy as ingredients. These are fine, they are referring to the water used to cook the meat, and they contain no spices). If your cat does not like the taste of the probiotic, you can syringe after mixing with water. If you are not experienced syringing liquids into your cat, you can use empty #3 gel capsules. Simply fill 10 to 20 of these by transferring the S boulardii from the larger capsules into the smaller ones. These are a size easy to pill your cat. Pill your cat with one #3 capsule filled with S boulardii every two hours or so. For pilling instructions, see How to Pill (Your Cat).

This frequent dosing method usually stops diarrhea within 24 – 48 hours, other than when diarrhea is caused by another disease that requires treatment (low B12, exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, hyperthyroidism, as examples). This “loading dose” can be continued for longer if necessary, up to three to four days – but if you do not see substantial improvement in the diarrhea on day 3, it is best to follow-up with your veterinarian. It is NOT necessary to use this approach, it can be given at “therapeutic” doses as discussed above twice a day (and doubled if you see improvement in stool but diarrhea or soft cow patty stools have not resolved).


Something else you could try would be to give her Slippery Elm Bark ( SEB) . It is great to help with the GI tract . If you do use SEB, it needs to be given to her 2 hours away from any medications as it can interfere with absorption. Here is a recipe :

Slippery Elm Powder Gruel
Pour 6 oz of spring water into a coffee mug. Heat in Microwave until hot ( not boiling )
Mix in 1 level TBSP of SEB and stir well unti thickened, cool and refrigerate. Discard unused portion in 5 day.
Cats: For an average size cat (approx 10 lbs) give 1 tsp twice daily mixed with food.
Dogs Up to 10 lbs give 1 tsp twice daily medium dogs give 1-2 tbsp twice daily

I have used the above recipe when there was a lot of diarrhea and vomiting.

I swear by the SEB . I now give my cats a maintenance dose of 1/4 tsp of SEB mixed with 1/2 tsp George's Aloe Vera Juice and add about 1 tbsp. of water mixed into the food twice a day to help them both with IBS issue. It helps with constipation and /or diarrhea. Some call it a band aide for the GI tract.

Good luck with the BW ! And BTW, I take care of my 91 year old mom who has Alzheimer's. She has lived with me and DH for 4 1/2 years. I know how tacking it can be. :bighug:
 
Back
Top