10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60 +3/50 +4/46 +5/44 +6/60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning! No ~O) yet, it is brewing....

We woke up and at AMPS Stella was 284 so we all hit the hay. It has been a rough 9 days as Stella seems to be racing down the reduction ladder. We all went back to bed. Usually, one of the cats will wake me up again, but no...it was I whose eyes flung open 4 hours later. We haven't been getting sleep around here because of Stella's low BG's so I finally woke up rested!

I tested her and she was +4/38 :shock: I fed her some LC and we just tested 15 min later and she was 138. Her BG has raised this fast before...but I didn't even administer Karo. I thought it was my imagination at first, so I looked at the meter reads and double checked both readings. They were both right. I would have thought the 38 was wrong had Stella not been so low for the past 9 days.

So here we are at another reduction. At least the likelihood that a reduction will stick is pretty high. You definitely cannot say we have rushed down this reduction ladder like last month. We are trying to keep our patience in check. Stella though...seems to want to race me down.

We are enjoying the rain pitter patter. The window is wide open and the kitties are enjoying the sound. I think Stella really likes this time of year...maybe the weather change is giving her a stronger body...and a will to get better faster.

Have a great day! We will be trying to figure out our options for the PMPS.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38

Ya know, it seems kinda weird that a 38 would turn into a 138 in 15 mins. I generally advise that if you get a weird low number to immediately re-test. However, with Stellas recent past I would not have found the +4/38 to be weird...
You gonna be around to monitor?
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38

Sandy, this quick BG rise with Stella can happen in an instant. She also can make it lower. That is why I am having such a hard time with her reductions. Look at a month ago...she did this crazy race down the ladder and we had to go back up again. I think her Pancreas is very active...she wasn't well enough a month ago to keep up the heavy lifting in her pancreas. Maybe this month she is getting it right.

I will definitely be reducing tonight. I didn't last night because I didn't have enough expert input and I was trying not to do what I did last month (a matter of bad timing...the experts are great! :-D ). I also wanted to make sure I wasn't reacting to the Karo inflated numbers. I still think we saw Karo this morning in her AMPS. That is why I didn't give it to her this morning and she brought it up on her own. I now see with this 38 she definitely earned a reduction and I am not jumping the gun. I think she threw me a 38 to remind me I definitely need to reduce and not to think twice about it. Well, I heard her.... ;-)
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

While ECID, my experience is that Karo wears off within a couple of hours at the most. This morning may have been a bit of a bounce.

What meter are you using? I agree with Sandy about the rise from 38 to 111. Unless you gave Stella a tablespoon of Karo, I wouldn't expect that big of a rise in an hour.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Hi guys .. I bet that 38 woke you right up! :-D I'm glad you are trying to hold the reductions for as long as you can but those 38's need to be read loud and clear :-D Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

I would site many cases where an increase of 50-70 occurs, but I have to get to a meeting.

I am using a Bayer Contour meter...it has been reliable. I have no reason to think otherwise since Stella has done this before. I know...seems unbelievable.

I still plan on doing the dose reduction per Libby and Sienne last night. This is too much drama. Gotta run... I may check in again if I have time before I leave. :mrgreen:

PS the BG seems correct since she went from 38 to 138 to 111. It seems she is trying to regulate her bounce. It doesn't seem unreasable and ECID.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Mary:

I understand and you know Stella best. But I have to absolutely agree with Sienne and Sandy....up 100 mg/dl in 15 mins is incredibly fast. If you look at it more like the 38 was an incorrect test, then her 111 would fit in just fine. In other words, if the 38 was in between the 284 and the 138 and she is clearing a bounce....then the 111 would be totally logical.

I also use a Contour as my backup and a OT as my primary. Both are very good, reliable meters but I have gotten wonky tests occasionally....either not enough blood, too much, or doesn't fill just right but doesn't give an error. I'm a big proponent of retesting when a number makes no sense.

We've been on the "down the dosing scale fast" route and, like Lucy (Libby), we had to go way back up. I know you test alot and keep Stella safe. I hope her reductions aren't coming too fast.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Hey I am running out....

Whether the 38 was bad or not, we are taking the reduction per yesterdays condo. Have a peek... Bye and thanks again! I have another meter...I can switch...this ought to bring on a new ride!

PS I switched to pain reliever type neosporin... wonky? I will go buy old kind. Ahhh...too many changes???
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Mary....I know you are on the way out.

I would never argue against a reduction that Sienne, Sandy, and Libby suggested you take and I totally see why they recommended it...I just thought you were going to take it this morning.

You shot the 2.25u again this morning...were you just shooting through the bounce twice? Fingers crossed your darling girl has a nice day.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Wow and the drama queen continues!

water.jpg


Oh Mary...I soooo wish you a calm night!
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Good afternoon Mary!! I hope you are able to get some rest today. We are right there with ya. Hope you have a wonderfl day!!
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

I think what you learned is that with Stella, you can't shoot through the bounce, and definitely not for more than one cycle. She clears the bounces fast and holding the old dose was too much. Glad you reduced tonight. :smile:
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104

Breathe.....

OK. I must be very sleep deprived (I thought I was rested) I guess not, because yes...I accidently shot another 2.25 this morning and did NOT take the reduction as planned. I didn't even notice until it was pointed out to me above. I have it on the SS as 2.25, on my written tablet that way and so it must be. I recall the syringe saying 2.25 and thinking how hard it was to get that dose. What was I thinking? I obviously wasn't.

All I can say is I do believe in divine intervention, so that must be the dose that Stella was supposed to have this AM.

I am using the 'new' meter ... it is also a Bayer Contour. I used the test liquid and it is testing fine. (I also went and tested the one I just stopped using, and it tested fine as well...just for info for myself and others who may have been wondering.) We will never know if it was a true 38 or a wonky meter...and this seems like a deja vu moment although it is a first for me and Stella. I also bought the old 'ointment' version of neosporin (I like how the blood pools better) so there will be no case of too much or too little blood to rule that out as a possibility. I found the 'pain reliever' type difficult to deal with, so I can imagine it may have assisted in wonky as far as how much blood got into the meter, but the pharmacsist insisted it would not effect the actual BGs of my little Stella.

Where does that leave us? with a PMPS of 104. Really makes you wonder about her numbers doesn't it????

We have reduced officially to 2.0 Experts, thanks for weighing in...since there are different views...I can only take one. I do however appreciate the food for thought on which way to go! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Libby, please leave me a detailed message of what you mean exactly so I understand. Seriously, answer as if I am six so I know what you mean. As far as the actual 'bounce' what would we call her bounce? Just since this AM, or since the first 38 nine days ago?

Also, concerning meters. I know there is a 20% variance. The test solution is given a 'range' of numbers to be correct. Example (107-148) Is it me, or is that a HUGE variance? Someone please explain that to me as well. So really, this new meter can make Stella look well when she is not? I just don't get it.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

I use a Contour, as well. It is very reliable unless I get too little blood even though I don't get an error message. FWIW, if I get a test that doesn't seem logical, I re-test. (The other night I got a 499. I retested and the new test was pink, not red.)

What Libby was referring to was your having shot the old (2.25u) dose. If you shoot your "old" dose after your cat has earned a reduction and the numbers bounce up, it's referred to as shooting through the bounce. Since Stella may bounce up a bit, under ordinary circumstances, shooting though the bounce might be fine. However, Stella is clearing her bounces quickly -- usually the next cycle. As such, shooting the old dose is only going to throw her numbers low again and wouldn't be recommended.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella AMPS/284 +4/38 +5/111

Just popping in to see what's new in Stellaville. . . Looking good! :cool:

I too use the Bayer Contour - have been very happy with it. Same one for a back up.
Back in the early days of our journey I had the experience of a crazy low out of place number- and it was of course the wee hours. I think it was in the 40s, back in those days BK was always pink and often higher.. I flipped out. I jumped online and posted - fortunately we had a few seasoned beans :lol: over in Germany, which was wonderful for the early morning rising beans in the US. I was advised to re-check immediately, which I did and got something that made sense. I think it was the only time that happened, which is a pretty good record when one considers a 21 month test fests worth of tests. Probably a bum strip.

Mary and Stella said:
What was I thinking? I obviously wasn't.
you were sleep deprived and on auto pilot, one of the pitfalls. Don't pass up an opportunity to cat nap :razz: ,grab all the rest you can.
I hope the brakes have been applied just enough for you to get a breather (and then of course get back down to business!)
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104

That makes perfect sense Sienne...but to be very clear... in knowing now how Stella handled the doses, what might have been a better plan? On AM 10/5/11 cycle, Stella got 37, 30, 57...should I have dropped her dose another .25U at that point? (I believe we all thought we should hold it), instead I held the dose (patience pants), and was going to reduce the next AM...(as we all know, I made the mistake of injecting the old dose for the 2nd time...thus creating another BG of 38 bad mama).

So, we now think since Stella clears bounces quickly...instead of injecting her old dose that PM I should have immediately dropped .25 and not worn the patience pants?

It is so hard to say...if you look at last month...I took the reductions and they did not stick with immediate reductions. Stella is a month more in healing though, so I guess anything can change...
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104

As a cat moves along in this dance, sometimes, the reliable "rules" of the week before may no longer apply. To some extent, it can be trial and error. In other cases, someone with experience may pick up on a trend or see something later in the day that wasn't there earlier. When I suggested you hold the dose, hours later Stella graced us with a number in the 30s. Libby saw the drop and recommended the reduction. Likewise, you may shoot through the bounce and then one day, Stella starts clearing her bounces within a cycle and it's no longer such a good idea to follow the old "rule." The best you can do is to remember we are not leading the dance -- our kitties have the lead and we need to be wise enough to follow.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60

Sienne... with that in mind, it looks like Stella will be taking another dive this evening. Her +2/60 didn't exactly make me do the happy dance. ;-) How exactly should I be dancing? I am too tired and not sure what to do in the morning if she dives again tonight. Another .25 reduction? Thanks!

Don't forget, I just started using a new meter. It is the same type. How different can two meters be? Technically they should be regulated pretty much the same right?
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60

Mary:

I wonder if you might want to feed her a little higher carb (not HC...just a little more carbs than normal) food now and try to bring her up just a bit so she doesn't get another reduction right away. It's possible that you are still working off that 2.25u shed from this morning. If so, you don't want to have to take another reduction so quickly if it's just the shed talking. Just my thought....Sienne or Libby may very well have a better one.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60 +3/50 +4/46

Hey Marjorie- just an fyi (it should be in my signature) my little kitties, Stella and Boo are both still free feeding from the dry DM (the big no no because of my job...my condo yesterday mentioned the munching is what woke me when I fell asleep on the couch and caught her 38 or maybe that was this morning...oh my...this has been a tough time for us!). Stella mostly eats wet food now, but every so often (especially right now) I hear her munching. So, even eating the bad stuff she is diving.

I think I might want to take a reduction and hold a few cycles and if necessary go back up. I am going to be gone most of the day and night tomorrow. I was hoping we could work this out before tomorrow...it has been so long since I have gone out to have fun with friends and my plans were made 2 months ago.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60 +3/50 +4/46

hi mary, i'm just stopping by and seeing what a crazy couple of days you've had. it does seem like just when you learn the game, the game changes. no advice for you - you've had the best. just sending you a little encouragement. hugs.

ps, i think my meter is great but i also think i've had bad strips a couple of times.
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60 +3/50 +4/46

Thanks for the encouragement Julie! I appreciate the well-wishes. Yes, this game has really changed on us.

Another note: 9/26 We started shooting under the arm (not the scruff) and I noticed the injections are having a much bigger impact. This could be the cause of the sudden dose reductions?
 
Re: 10/5 Stella PMPS/104 +2/60 +3/50 +4/46 +5/44

Yes, you can reduce her to drain her shed a bit if you want especially considering your schedule, it's a good idea. Yes, you are right, you can always bring her back up if it fails.

Even though she free feeds on dry, if she doesn't eat when she's low, it probably doesn't hurt to give her a little something to bring her up so she isn't so low and you aren't up all night. You've had alot of late nights lately.

Supposedly, chest shots result in faster onset. You started on 9/26 but there wasn't a huge change until about 10/2. So hard to say. I rotate scruff, outer scruff, and chest just to see, and I've never been able to tell a difference on Grace.

Good thought, though....and it could be what is happening...or she could just be done with liver training school. Hope you get some rest.
 
Yes Marjorie, I ALWAYS give Stella something to bring her up. What I meant was, after I give her something...if she needs more she walks over and eats a few more kibble. Especially these past few days when she was low. Tonight I tried not to intervene aside from the little after poke treats because I wanted to see what her pancreas would do without me. She came through with flying colors, and just hit +6/60 without an 'event'. The 46 and 44 were too low for my liking, and we are definitely taking an AM reduction (as long as I am thinking straight :lol: )

Good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top