10/5 Sootie VOMITED & AdVISE amps140 7:29amET,103/+4.5, 138/+9.5 7:08pm ET

Status
Not open for further replies.

HWright

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sootie-pm-dosing-suggestions.166087/#post-1793970

Good morning,
Hope all surfed well last night.
Updated SS. Sootie's am (bg or ps depending on dosing) 140. Noting that she is also lately on orbax antibiotic for likely UTI/cystitis and uromaxx. And recently lots patience pants to get her to eat enough at a time. Also nighttime 10/3 went hypo/low numbers +1 after pm 0.1u. back up into safe numbers within 3-4 hrs (thank you Gussies mom and all). Yesterday am bg was 140, decreased after food and during the day, last night pm bg 131. Opted not to shoot last night bc of time and her again minimal eating at a time. So.....I'll add that she's also become leery, weary of and sometimes distressed the ear prick routines when they are frequent.

I'm going to continue to encourage her to eat.. And retest at ca 8:30am et, crossing fingers that she'll eat a bit more. Posting now, asking dosing suggestions in context of events since 10/3, continuing UTI abs, and that we've been trying MICRODOSING since 9/18 to heal sputtering.
 
@carfurby
Thank you. the +1 (at 8:48am et) was 139, down a point from ambg 140 at 7:29am. she ate a bit more after +1, I'm leery of dosing 0.1u small as it is. Yet I recognize that doing 0 not best choice either. Thinking droplet this am, all in consideration so far.
 
+9.5 at 7:08pm ET was 138. VOMITED light brown frothy vomitus right after bg test. Not fur ball.

She is reclusive again, am making different kind of supper for her...to be in the baby food, canned pumpkin slippery elm mode, the recovery menu...
Now she's out and about, pacing a bit, staring at supper I brought upstairs.
 
Last edited:
aw, poor sweetie.

Some people give Pepcid to help with an acid tummy - not sure if that's what's going on with Sootie or not. Often people see that when the kitty's stomach is empty. If you want to try that, it's PEPCID AC NOT * PEPCID COMPLETE* (Generic: 10mg Famotidine Tabs) and the dose is 1/4 of a 10mg tab BID if needed to reduce tummy acid. Give 30 minutes before meal if needed. Chase with 4 - 6ml water.
 
Thank you Julie. Have used fomitadine/Pepcid with foster cancer kitty now GA and when she stopped responding to Slippery elm, which is the go to here for them all.

DH brought baby food mix I made (described above) upstairs to Sootie (darn back and legs of mine). He reports that she ate almost all of it which was about 1/4-1/2 cup.

I'll go upstairs (which now is on all fours...ludicrous but only way these days!) in a bit to retest.

The vomitus wasn't quite in the empty stomach realm (believe me, I got so I could make vomit distinctions in a snap) but did have the frothy aspect. I checked color to see if was more like the orbax or today's food. Darker than orbax, lighter than the food. No particles, graininess blood etc in it. Hmmmm?

As we know, Sootie's appetite has been off for what feels like an eternity in these past days. And that it's a vigil every day to try to get enough food into her, for her nutrition and safety in dosing. Could be another visit to vet with Sootie this week.
 
Ok, +2 hrs after vomiting (bg was 138) of which approx 1 hr after vomit, she ate 1/4-1/2 cup baby beef with pumpkin and slippery elm mixed in, just did bg test and retest = 162 and then 173, during which she endured but stressful for us both.

Have not dosed tonight nor do I feel safe about determining a pm dosage given that the most recent #s could be stress (fully acknowledge that our stress is shared), recent meal that is the most she has eaten in one sitting for some days now, the recent nighttime hypo/low numbers. So, again...and I don't want to sound like a broken record...but tonight we have the vomiting and then eating scenario that might or might not be contributing to the rise? Would this be a situation where you'd hold off or estimate a reduced minimal dosage based on "short duration" (such as stress, immediate food intake, which would likely level off sooner rather than later?)
 
You might edit your thread to read need dose help now!
And tag some of the folks who were helping you with dosing advice..
Hugs! Keep bumping as you need to...
 
It's kind of hard to pinpoint exactly what is causing the higher numbers. It's now been 4 cycles since her last 0.1 dose, with only one droplet dose in there. The depot from the 0.1 dose is probably almost gone so it could be just the lack of insulin causing higher numbers. And since her numbers seem to be trending upwards, that's what I think may be what's causing the higher numbers. With my Neko had her iffy appy, I find her numbers are a little higher if she's feeling some nausea, so I've been generally giving her the same dose, unless she's dancing in numbers lower than I like to be.

If the UTI is in fact cystitis, she may be feeling some pain. Is she on any pain killer? Pain can also raise numbers.
 
It's kind of hard to pinpoint exactly what is causing the higher numbers. It's now been 4 cycles since her last 0.1 dose, with only one droplet dose in there. The depot from the 0.1 dose is probably almost gone so it could be just the lack of insulin causing higher numbers. And since her numbers seem to be trending upwards, that's what I think may be what's causing the higher numbers. With my Neko had her iffy appy, I find her numbers are a little higher if she's feeling some nausea, so I've been generally giving her the same dose, unless she's dancing in numbers lower than I like to be.

If the UTI is in fact cystitis, she may be feeling some pain. Is she on any pain killer? Pain can also raise numbers.

Thanks @Wendy&Neko.
she's not on any pain meds right now.
I'm calling vet in morning to bring her in again for recheck this week (was there on Monday).

I appreciate your reply about some possible reasons for bg rises and the interplay of depot effect. When I 'see' it organically (and in your way of describing/understanding) and in relation to Sootie, I feel more grounded. Alas, during these past few weeks I have felt Sootie slipping away and myself less grounded in the stresses of trying to fit with procedures, including twice daily dosing which is new to her body and rythyms and increasingly problematic/worrisome.

I remember reading a think tank thread (l/l tr or slgs, I think) what a member wrote: that managing FD is as much art as it is science. I feel that Sootie and I are losing the balance of the art and science for her well being in this well intentioned push to assist her healing. I keep feeling that there is a way to bring this all back in balance even if it is a modified effort that I/we can finely tune to Sootie (yes and with data experience, knowledge and knowing thy cat as the keys) Does this make sense to you?
 
Last edited:
I remember reading a think tank thread (l/l tr or slgs, I think) what a member wrote: that managing FD is as much art as it is science. I feel that Sootie and I are losing the balance of the art and science for her well being in this well intentioned push to assist her healing. I keep feeling that there is a way to bring this all back in balance even if it is a modified effort that I/we can finely tune to Sootie (yes and with data experience, knowledge and knowing thy cat as the keys) Does this make sense to you?
You know your cat best. You are there and can see her and how she behaves. That is a lot more information that the rest of us have that just see her through her spreadsheet or whatever you tell us about her bahaviour. All we can do is give you suggestions to try, and above all, support you as you move forward managing her diabetes. :bighug:
 
You know your cat best. You are there and can see her and how she behaves. That is a lot more information that the rest of us have that just see her through her spreadsheet or whatever you tell us about her bahaviour. All we can do is give you suggestions to try, and above all, support you as you move forward managing her diabetes. :bighug:
@Wendy&Neko
Thank you Wendy. Yes true. Connecting the dots not always easy, from distance of observation or from in-the-thick-of-it, whatever the "it" of the moment/situation may be . Either has its pro's and con's. I truly do appreciate you all. :bighug: Sina
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top