10/5 Smudge: AMPS 132, +1.5 69, +4.25 76, PMPS 122, +2.5 62

allicatmeow

Member Since 2023
AMPS 132

Another blue morning after a low 50s fence walk last night. Really considering a reduction at 7 days in green, to see if the past 2 blue mornings are from an overnight low I'm not seeing... But unsure the protocol here. Wendy's thread she linked for me is great , just unsure if PS numbers have to be under 100 as well to earn it, because I understand PS numbers come down last. Just worried about him - woke up at 2:30am in a panic that he went hypo.

I won't be able to test til +4.5 today, I have an appointment outside the house. Will test at 1.5 before I go. Little nervous. :nailbiting:

Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...2-56-3-69-4-5-64-pmps-91-2-25-56-3-52.282229/

Alli, could you maybe make his feeding and shot times earlier so you could get to bed earlier? Just a thought :bighug:
(I get up at 5:30 am to prep the food and supplements and draw insulin, husband thinks I’m a new wife. I could never get up before him, but now I have to! :banghead:)
I get up at 6, prep his and Penny's foods and meds (and a coffee for me), preshot test, feed, shoot. I need to be in bed at 9:30 to fall asleep by 10 for a solid 8 hours. I told my husband, we can win the lottery anytime now so I can quit my job! Lol.
 
Last edited:
AMPS 132

Another blue morning after a low 50s fence walk last night. Really considering a reduction here, to see if the past 2 blue mornings are from an overnight low I'm not seeing... But unsure the protocol here. Just worried about him - woke up at 2:30am in a panic that he went hypo.

I won't be able to test til +4.5 today, I have an appointment outside the house. Little nervous. :nailbiting:


I get up at 6, prep his and Penny's foods and meds (and a coffee for me), preshot test, feed, shoot. I need to be in bed at 9:30 to fall asleep by 10 for a solid 8 hours. I told my husband, we can win the lottery anytime now so I can quit my job! Lol.
I know Alli. The schedule is really tough. Same for me. I have always needed more sleep than less. (Now if I get 5 hours, that’s a lot. It’s not doing my body any good). :(
 
I told my husband, we can win the lottery anytime now so I can quit my job! Lol.
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
Totally with ya!

I also understand the nervousness of leaving the house for 3 hours with a low preshot, particularly knowing what a diving queen she is.
My nervousness leads me to feed her higher carbs before I go :oops: probably more than what she needs :oops::oops::oops: but I want to err to the safety until I know she is stable.

Smudge, be a good body and stay steady today for your momma! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I also understand the nervousness of leaving the house for 3 hours with a low preshot, particularly knowing what a diving queen she is.
My nervousness leads me to feed her higher carbs before I go :oops: probably more than what she needs :oops::oops::oops: but I want to err to the safety until I know she is stable.
It's always that game of do I feed some high carbs just in case or leave it and maybe it'll be okay? It's always nice when you get it right ever so often.
 
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
Totally with ya!

I also understand the nervousness of leaving the house for 3 hours with a low preshot, particularly knowing what a diving queen she is.
My nervousness leads me to feed her higher carbs before I go :oops: probably more than what she needs :oops::oops::oops: but I want to err to the safety until I know she is stable.

Smudge, be a good body and stay steady today for your momma! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's always that game of do I feed some high carbs just in case or leave it and maybe it'll be okay? It's always nice when you get it right ever so often.
Yes! It's the fear of the unknown. I left him some LC (he didn't finish breakfast as usual, takes him til about +2.5 to finish) and he seems to have surfed through okay.
 
Yes! It's the fear of the unknown. I left him some LC (he didn't finish breakfast as usual, takes him til about +2.5 to finish) and he seems to have surfed through okay.
Kit is also super slow to finish her food - she's so used to grazing and just won't get behind maybe being a little more timely. It mostly works for her, and luckily she seems to always know to eat some when she's dropping lower.

For real though - Smudge is looking great and you've been doing so good!
 
Kit is also super slow to finish her food - she's so used to grazing and just won't get behind maybe being a little more timely. It mostly works for her, and luckily she seems to always know to eat some when she's dropping lower.

For real though - Smudge is looking great and you've been doing so good!
I hear you. Smudge is a natural grazer too. I can only seem to get him to eat a good "meal" in the evenings, but not at preshot, about an hour afterwards. They sure run the show, don't they?

Thank you!! I am so proud of him, even if he is getting mad at me for pokes now that he is feeling good all the time. :eek:
 
Unfortunately as I understand it, for a reduction to be earned after "seven days in green" -- the occasional blue that is just slightly above 100 is fine and allowed. But anything beyond that restarts the 7-day counter.

So unless I'm mistaken, Smudge does not qualify for that sort of reduction due to those mid-blues at AMPS. But also, he hit 51 on Tuesday. Had you tested 10 minutes before, maybe he hits with a 49, who knows. He almost looks like he needs a reducie to me but what do I know.

@Suzanne & Darcy ?
 
Unfortunately as I understand it, for a reduction to be earned after "seven days in green" -- the occasional blue that is just slightly above 100 is fine and allowed. But anything beyond that restarts the 7-day counter.

So unless I'm mistaken, Smudge does not qualify for that sort of reduction due to those mid-blues at AMPS. But also, he hit 51 on Tuesday. Had you tested 10 minutes before, maybe he hits with a 49, who knows. He almost looks like he needs a reducie to me but what do I know.

@Suzanne & Darcy ?
That's how I understood it as well. I guess I just worry because I feel like I'm missing his lowest lows and causing the mid blue bounce. Just don't wanna get stuck in that loop or for him to feel sick.
 
Had you tested 10 minutes before, maybe he hits with a 49, who knows.
And maybe he didn't. If we didn't see it, it did not happen.

As for are the odd mid blues are OK, maybe this quote from the Sticky Note on the TR dosing methods will help clarify:
Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Emphasis mine.
 
Max never managed to earn a reduction by staying all green for a week. He got my hopes up many times. :bighug:
 
Smudge got my hopes up this week for sure.

PMPS 122. Sigh.

Am I holding this dose for now? I am not comfortable increasing with him hitting 51/52 regularly.
Look back - 10 days ago was his last over 200. That's a lot of progress in a short period of time. :) And yes, hold the dose. Nadirs of low 50's don't give much room for an increase.
 
Look back - 10 days ago was his last over 200. That's a lot of progress in a short period of time. :) And yes, hold the dose. Nadirs of low 50's don't give much room for an increase.
Thank you. You're right, it is a lot of progress. I just got so excited to see solid greens for 3 days straight! It's so easy to forget those high numbers of the beginning and how stressful they were as well.
 
There is nothing to be sad about, he is doing awesome!!

It is very early to expect him to earn a reduction by staying green all week. Some cats take years to reach that stage, be patient with him. He'll get there but these things take time.
He really is, isn't he? And he is more than patient with me, for not really being my cat at the beginning of this. I was a stranger inflicting pain on him and he just took it and still takes it, even though it's with a little sass. I am very lucky to be seeing greens this early and I need to remember that.
 
Back
Top