? 10/5 Minner AMPS 213 PMPS 346

MinnerPip

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...0-1-146-6-vomiting-7-361.294589/#post-3211454

Hi, I have some questions from prior thread that I think Elise might answer. I’m anxious to hear more about Max and the ondansetron experience.

Note that I did get a Libre on Minner yesterday but it was dislodged within 12 hours. Wendy had encouraged a curve be done since its been a while. I did one as best I could with ear pricks on 10/1 but was hoping for many days of curves as the repeated ear pricking every few hours isn’t sustainable.

My vet gave me bottle of injectable ondansetron yesterday in case there is more vomiting. The vomiting has happened twice now per 9/29 and 10/3 posts. Both cases had similarity of PMPS in 80’s, skipping the PM dose, feeding at time of PMPS ear pricks and then vomiting 5-6 hours later and her BG then being high (350-450).

Both times her future dose was also reduced by 0.25. I truly must be more patient b/c I resisted staying at 4.0U after seeing how high her numbers were for the short 12 hours when Libre was on her yesterday (above 350 and never below 250). I went back and re-read the SLGS guidance and I’m supposed to hold a dose level for a week. Yet based on the 10/1 curve she’s not getting under 200, which suggests an increase. I can’t seem to find right spot between 4.0 and 4.5. I was doing what I thought was good enough by having her AMPS and PMPS in the 200s but then her 10/1 curve showed never going below 200 and add in the low 80 on 9/29 and 10/3 followed by the vomiting those 2 days and its hard to know what to do now.

Thank you for feedback.
 
I only have used the ondansetron pills so I am not sure the dose if injections but know it’s not a long lasting medication which is why it needs to be given at least every 8 hours. It helps best with nausea and cerenia is better for vomiting so often both are needed.
The skipped dose and lower pmbg is why you need to hold the dose for another 7 days now so an increase should not have been given.
 
It's great you got the injectable. That makes it so much to give with a nauseous cat. Plus it lasts longer than the pill version.

Injectable dosing is to start at 0.2 mg/kg 2 times a day, increasing as needed to up to 1.0 mg/kg 3 times a day.

Your dose should be 4.0 units as 4.25 units got Minner below 90. The numbers went high after the skip for two reasons. First is the skip depletes the depot, the second reason is probably a bounce from that 80. You need to be patient and stick with a dose a while for the depot to build. For that same reason, you don't want to do a curve too soon after a skip, like you did on 10/1, as you had skipped just two nights before. Wait at least 3 days after a skip or reduced dose before doing a curve.
 
Thank you very very much. I’m sticking with the 4.0 for a week and we’ll see what happens. I’ll do a curve this coming weekend assuming no more skips at 4.0. Going to stick with ear prick approach despite that meaning I have to be present to get the reading and she yelps each time. I wish i could get Libre again, will try again in a few weeks, it rips up and irritates her back. :(
 
Back
Top