10/5 Lion - nadirs at 18 hours

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lion, Oct 5, 2021.

  1. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    9/30 Lion - high. Bad insulin? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

    Hi everyone, in my last post we decided to move to 1.75 both morning and night. As you can see that's not working well at all.

    I'm now wondering if there is a veterinarian diabetics specialist and what they would be called? I can take him to a University that is a couple of hours away and see a specialist?

    I am also wondering if there is an underlying condition?

    Also - The diabetes started when he had some teeth extracted. Since then he had diabetes and also sores in his mouth that we believe are from the top teeth biting down on to gum. (they were tested and are not something more serious.) My vet has wanted until we got him more stable before removing the remaining teeth, but thats not happening.

    Thoughts on a specialist at our University a couple of hours way or other thoughts?

    Thank you
     
  2. Librarianista

    Librarianista Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2021
    Is there a reason you skipped insulin completely this morning? If you were going to be able to keep an eye on him and have your hypo kit (just in case), 199 is a totally safe number to shoot. If you're not going to be around and his BG is lower than he and you are used to, shooting half the dose is usually better than not shooting anything at all. The skipped shots might be contributing to his bouncing.

    If you ever have questions about whether you should give insulin, that's definitely something to put in your subject line so it grabs more eyes.
     
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Why do you think you need to see a vet specializing in diabetes? A specialist called an endocrinology vet might know more about it, but maybe not. It depends on their specialty. Which university is near you?

    Lion's spreadsheet looks very typical of a cat with a recent diagnosis, especially if he's got mouth problems. Perhaps a dental specialist would be a good place to start. Mouth/dental problems can make it hard to regulate a cat. And dental specialist cats are used to dealing with unregulated cats and would have no problem doing any needed dental.

    If Lion tested "Lo" and that was a true reading (always good to restest Libre Lo's with a manual blood test), then you need to go back to 1.5 units.
     
  4. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    There is no normal to compare to.

    He hypo'd (went low may be the right term) on 10/1 when his number was higher than it was today.

    I skipped the dose this morning because I was not home between the shot and now (+8).

    University of Gainesville is couple of hours away. I took a different kitty there many years ago.

    My vet did mention a dental specialist. I see her this Friday to swap out the FreeStyle Libre. I’ll explore this with her.

    The “Lo” was while I was sleep. I feel confident it was accurate. I agree, I’ll go back to 1.5 for now.

    The diabetes started when he had the dental surgery, I’m very much feeling its contributing to everything (in addition to the fact that the vet showed me the sores are back last visit.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2021
    Reason for edit: spellilng
  5. Librarianista

    Librarianista Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2021
    Poor guy :( Hope those mouth issues can get resolved. Especially if it's affecting whether and what he will eat.

    Hopefully I will be corrected by a mod if I am wrong, but some insulin is better than no insulin if you're not going to be home to monitor. Completely skipping 3 doses in the last few days is probably contributing to that up and down.
     
  6. Lion

    Lion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2021
    Thank you! I would agree, a small amount of insulin would probably have been better. Hopefully moving back to 1.50 will help lessen the ups and downs and I'll talk to my vet on Friday about the dental specialist.

    Thank you both for your help and support.
     

Share This Page