10/5 Asia AMPS 175

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
So I eyeballed a .75 dose last night (should be getting half dose syringes today), and while I don't know exactly what happened when I was sleeping, her numbers looked a heck of a lot more stable than they had been.

Question, do I now keep her on the reduced dose of .75 until something dictates otherwise? I think I'm going to try the TR protocol to start, as the remission data looks pretty impressive.
 
Yay, Asia is already breaking her bounce! Wait.. she is 21 years old?! :eek:

Keep her on 0.75u unless she goes too low - 68 with TR.
 
Thanks! And yes, she's a furry dinosaur, but a very happy one. 68 is the number for the AlphaTRAK or human monitor? Is there a conversion chart for AlphaTRAK numbers vs human monitors around here someone could point me to?

I may switch to a human one in the future, but I'm at least going to use up these expensive strips I bought before I consider it. I asked about human monitors before I bought this one and my vet wasn't thrilled with the idea.
 
Thanks! And yes, she's a furry dinosaur, but a very happy one. 68 is the number for the AlphaTRAK or human monitor? Is there a conversion chart for AlphaTRAK numbers vs human monitors around here someone could point me to?

I may switch to a human one in the future, but I'm at least going to use up these expensive strips I bought before I consider it. I asked about human monitors before I bought this one and my vet wasn't thrilled with the idea.
68 is for the pet meter. 50 is for the human meter. There is no conversion chart between the two. The higher the numbers, the more they differ, but the lower the numbers, they are closer.

That's awesome about Asia doing well at 21 years old! I have a 17 year old and he has some issues. You are doing something right by Asia. :)
 
68 is the number for the AlphaTRAK or human monitor
68 is the reduction with TR on the AT meter

Is there a conversion chart for AlphaTRAK numbers vs human monitors
No unfortunately there isn't. I started with the AT meter too but switched to the human since the protocols were written with one. You don't need your vets permission to do so. I kept my AT meter as a back-up meter and if needed I'd do a few spot checks and send it to the vet to keep them happy.
 
Not sure if you seen this example which is located in the The Basics New To the Group Sticky. With Lantus a +2 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle might go and how much testing you need to possibly do especially in the beginning. Once you have an idea of Asia's onset, nadir and deration testing can become less. When you shoot numbers lower then you have in the past we recommend to monitor closely until you learn "thy cat" as we say. Take note of the +2 and the +11 below. Also note, nadirs move and are different for every cat or ECID (every cat is different) and the lowest reading in a cycle....hence...not necessarily at +6.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
That's awesome about Asia doing well at 21 years old! I have a 17 year old and he has some issues. You are doing something right byAsia. :)

I would like to think so, but I really think she's just an extraordinary cat. We almost lost her at 13, she was sick and we couldn't figure out what was going on with her and my vet was on her way to my house to euthanize because nothing we did seemed to be improving her situation and she was suffering...the vet happened to find a tooth issue at the 11th hour. She had several extractions and she was good as new again. I call every year since 13 her bonus years! :p

17 is awesome too! Show me a 17 year cat that doesn't have issues. It's special to have senior cats.

No unfortunately there isn't. I started with the AT meter too but switched to the human since the protocols were written with one. You don't need your vets permission to do so. I kept my AT meter as a back-up meter and if needed I'd do a few spot checks and send it to the vet to keep them happy.

I will probably end up doing that, thanks for the suggestion, I didn't think of the having both meters option. I want to keep my vet on my side. I sent her the TR protocol, I hope she has heard of it, or at least is willing to support it. Since we just moved, this is a brand new vet for us and the one we had for over a decade that I LOVE is several states away...but still willing to take my phone calls. :D
 
This is the actual published study. Not sure if you sent this or just the sticky notes. Also, not sure if you read anything about the depot What is the Insulin Depot . I can take upto 6 cycles for the insulin depot to fill with increases and it can also take up to 6 cycles for the depot to drain on decreases. Not to confuse you but this part really helped me understand Lantus/ Levemir.
 

Attachments

Not sure if you seen this example which is located in the The Basics New To the Group Sticky. With Lantus a +2 is usually a good indicator of how the cycle might go and how much testing you need to possibly do especially in the beginning. Once you have an idea of Asia's onset, nadir and deration testing can become less. When you shoot numbers lower then you have in the past we recommend to monitor closely until you learn "thy cat" as we say. Take note of the +2 and the +11 below. Also note, nadirs move and are different for every cat or ECID (every cat is different) and the lowest reading in a cycle....hence...not necessarily at +6.
Thanks, this is really helpful. I have looked at that sticky and many other ones, but there is only so much info my overwhelmed brain can decipher and hold. I appreciate the nod to that at just the right time it's starting to make more sense to me. I might still be in analysis paralysis and crying if I hadn't found this forum.
 
I might still be in analysis paralysis and crying if I hadn't found this forum
This site has saved so many beans and kitties. It certainly save me and gave my Doodles 2 extra years he wasn't going to have. Fortunately for you and Asia you found it very early on! Don't worry about "understanding and knowing" everything. It takes a great deal of time and most of the time our kitties don't follow the rules. Ask questions, lean on the group.
 
This is the actual published study. Not sure if you sent this or just the sticky notes. Also, not sure if you read anything about the depot What is the Insulin Depot . I can take upto 6 cycles for the insulin depot to fill with increases and it can also take up to 6 cycles for the depot to drain on decreases. Not to confuse you but this part really helped me understand Lantus/ Levemir.

Thanks for that, I will send it along. I sent her the link to the tillysdiabetes website.
 
Looks like she's going to be a bit bouncy. Just stay with the .75u for 6-8 cycles unless she drops below 68 then you reduce. The depot needs time to stabilize
 
PMPS 390, this was the first time since her am shot that her number has gone down instead of up??? It's not a significant number down and it doesn't make any sense to me, it's as if the insulin never kicked in, but at the same time, the numbers are not as drastically high as they had been. It's probable the pm dose last night was off since I was eyeballing it on a one unit marker syringe. I got the new half unit marker ones today, giving her .75 again tonight.

My vet responded, she has heard of the protocol, though none of her clients have ever used it for their cats because it's too labor intensive. So she's on board for me to try this TR protocol.
 
Lantus is known to do a double dip. It's not as low as the nadir. I've experienced it myself.

Asia's numbers are getting better! That's awesome about your vet being on board! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top