10/4 Shylo AMPS 230 +1 200 +2 199 +5 163 PMPS 163

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
Previous thread here; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126386

Hopefully my roommate will be able to test at +4 or +5, I'm going to show him how to do it... fingers crossed he can manage it without me here, lol. Shylo doesn't seem to mind as long as you bribe him with treats.
 
Re: 10/4 Shylo AMPS 230 +1 200 +2 199

Great job!!! thank you so much and also thanks for the profile. It really helps us.

Remember that there are no stupid questions......any time you have any question, it's a good one so please ask. We also love questions!

I'm very happy that Shylo is recovering so well and I hope you are able to continue to remove the dry slowly. You might see his BG coming down as the dry is eliminated.

BTW, you also don't need to do a curve (testing every two hours) but you can if you want. We actually think spot checks over different cycles is more helpful. So one cycle, you might want to get a +1, +3, +7 and another a +2, +6, +10, etc. Of course, it also depends on his numbers because there might be a cycle where he's coming down and we will need you to get different tests. Once you have a few cycles with spot checks, then we recommend you try and get a +2 test every cycle that it is possible. It's often a good predictor of what kind of cycle you might see, as Julie explained. The other tests that are really helpful when you are able to get them are the +10/+11 tests because that tells us whether he's dropping or flat going into pre shot. Again, other than the +2, you can get different tests each cycle based on his numbers and your work schedule.


Good luck with the roommate. Yes, most cats will work for treats ;-)
 
Re: 10/4 Shylo AMPS 230 +1 200 +2 199

Thank you so much (again!). Just showed roommate how to do it and he seemed kind of skeptical that Shylo would sit for him but he's willing to try. I told him if he really couldn't do it not to stress out over it... going to leave up the page on my PC about testing so that he can see the step by step process.

He cleaned his bowl this morning so I'm thinking of I keep adding a little more wet and less and less kibble eventually we'll get him weaned off of it. Step by step! We'll get there.

I may do one curve this week just because the one the vet did is probably super inaccurate... but I also like the idea of testing at different times for different cycles, that makes so much more sense. I should be able to always do a +2 though since I leave myself time before and after each shot.

Off to work now... fingers crossed that kitty behaves while I'm gone, haha.
 
Re: 10/4 Shylo AMPS 230 +1 200 +2 199

Hi Emily,

I just wanted to pop in and welcome you to LL (Lantus Land)! I'm sorry you have a need to be here, but you're in a great place for help. The wonderful people here helped me get Jersey into remission after just a couple of months on Lantus. She is now diet-controlled.

I saw this in your post from yesterday:

Of course hahaha, I should have added that to my forum profile earlier. My name is Emily! I've definitely noticed everyone has their names + cat names for their forum tags, that would have been a smart idea if I had thought of it when signing up. :P

You can actually change your user name if you want to. Go to the user control panel - profile - edit account settings. There, you can update your user name. I didn't sign up with my name and Jersey's in the beginning and ended up changing it later. You can also add it to your signature where you have your profile and ss linked if you don't want to change your user name. To add info to your signature, go to the user control panel - profile - edit signature. Anyway, I wanted to throw that info out there just in case.

Hope you have (or had) a great day at work! :-D
Shelly
 
Re: 10/4 Shylo AMPS 230 +1 200 +2 199

Oooh good to know! I'll look at that when I get home tonight. (:

Roommate texted me earlier, said he was able to test at +5 and got 163 for the result. I think that still sounds good? I won't be able to test him myself until the PMPS... but tomorrow afternoon I'll be around to do some more thorough checking.
 
Re: 10/4 Shylo AMPS 230 +1 200 +2 199

Yep, that's a good number. (Yay for the roommate!) As the Lantus starts to settle in, hopefully we'll start to see even more blues and greens on the spreadsheet.
 
Phew, just got in and did his preshot... down at 163. Safe to do his usual dose, do you think? I'll be up for several more hours so I'll be able to monitor if he starts to drop, at least.

In other news, managed to find the largest cat tree that work carries on clearance... of course I bought it (it was 40 bucks ahahahaaa best deal ever).
 
Whoops double post, I tested a half hour later and he was up to 170... went with his usual dose of 1 unit and I'll check him at the +2 to see what's happening there.
 
HI Emily and extra sweet Shylo and a belated Welcome to LL!

While we're never against lots of tests, unless you shoot a really low Pre-shot, usually a test at 1/2 hour later really isn't necessary...save those pokes for later! You're going to have lots of opportunities to do it...LOL

GOOD for you shooting the 163! Once you have enough data, you'll shoot lower and lower numbers....Most of us will shoot anything above 50 once we know how our kitties respond to both food and insulin

Usually, getting that +2 is the best "first test" to get after shooting (like I said, unless you're shooting a low pre-shot and then we'll suggest getting a +1 and +2 to see where he's going)

It's nice to see blue so soon after starting this journey too! As much as we love our new members, we always hope their visit here is short and sweet and they only have to come back to say "hello" and encourage another newbie!
 
Thank you! Obviously still learning, but at least Shylo is super patient with me hahaha. Tomorrow afternoon I'll be around and I can test a couple times during his cycle, so I'll finally know what/when his low usually is (which will take a weight off my chest). Mostly being a nervous nelly over him... but then again I think most people are to some extent!

I'm hoping that because of the circumstance of his diabetes development that we'll be able to put him into remission! He's been responding so well already, I'm really kind of floored with him.
 
I'll finally know what/when his low usually is

Don't mean to burst your bubble, but these are cats we're dealing with....They absolutely refuse to read the rulebook on how this is supposed to work! :lol:

The nadir (the lowest point in the cycle) can change from cycle to cycle....even with cats that you think you have "figured out", and have pretty much always nadir'd about the same time, all the sudden they'll decide that you're getting too comfortable and change things!

Oh..and welcome to the Vampire Club!
smileys-vampire-173831.gif
 
Actually, when you shoot your lowest number for the first time, we like you to get a +1 and a +2. But since you got the +.5, than a +2 works :-D

Nice response to the dose, Shylo!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top