10/4 Pumbaa - AMPS/367 +3/310 +6/284 +9/295 PMPS/268

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa's dose was increased to 1.25U tonight. He definitely needed this increase, even though I was so hopeful that he would find his optimum dose at a very low level on the Levemir.

It seemed like the .75U and 1.0U doses got him so close to having regular blue numbers with some "below renal threshold" yellow numbers as well, I really didn't expect the numbers he is now getting, as in the pinks. Sheila explained how this could be a case of insulin resistance. None of this is logical or easy, is it? Not to me, anyway. *sigh* Logical to me would be that he shouldn't have had any 300 numbers at the 1.0U dose, and should have had more blues once he settled into that dose. But that isn't what occurred.

Will I ever learn all of this and get all of this? The insulin resistance vs. the Somogyi rebounds and how to tell the difference; the too much insulin vs. too little; etc.?

I want to thank you all for trying to educate me about this stuff. (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
This probably won't make sense (headache), but I think the initial "greater" response to lev that some cats have is due to the uniqueness of the insulin, or perhaps the close structure it has to their own insulin. Then they get used to it and start ignoring it :lol:

Then you have to slowly raise them until they obtain near (or actual) normal numbers and let the whole body relearn what that feels like. Then, if its going to happen the pancreas can "reboot" and start functioning properly again. Glucose toxicity plays a roll in PREVENTING the pancreas from working correctly.

Cat have type 2 diabetes, so insulin resistance is a major factor. A new insulin only temporarily over rides that. But once you raise the dose high enough to overcome it for a while usually the dose can be reduced. This would be when remission would happen as well, if that is possible. It isn't with some cats.
 
Sheila, good explanation, even with your (ouch) headache.

So, I am now putting away my "look how great he's doing right off the bat" wish for a miracle, and going back to the "what will be will be" dance with Pumbaa. :)

I'm still very pleased with the switch, simply because Pumbaa still doesn't react at all when the Levemir hits his body, and because the Levemir is so much easier to draw into the syringe which, in turn, is causing me to waste much less insulin. And because Pumbaa's numbers are still way flatter on the Levemir than they were on the Lantus. :)

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top