10/4 Pickle AMPS 421 +2 403 PMPS 435 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/4 Pickle AMPS 421 +2 403 PMPS 435

K + P

Member since 2025
Previous post

Am I okay to increase dose in the morning? His numbers have been staying pretty high, especially today. And I noticed he peed a bit more today than he has in a while. I caught a ketone strip test this morning and it read no trace, but I just did one tonight because I had the opportunity to get another, and I'm pretty sure it read trace or right near. He's also so ravenously hungry and I feel like I'm feeding him a lot!

I want his numbers to come down! I was reading more about TR, and it seems less complex to me than I originally made it out to be. I just don't think I'm ready mentally to be often managing low numbers with food. Which is my hesitation with TR I suppose. Is there any rule or no no's about using TR to find a dose faster, then "slowing down" so to say? At least until I learn more and feel more comfortable about managing numbers with food and such.

Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Link to your previous post:
10/02 Pickle AMPS 324 +2 415 +5 342 PMPS 332

It does look like Pickle could use more insulin. Even with SLGS, you are due for an increase tomorrow.

TR can seem daunting at first, but it will help you get him to a good dose sooner. You can always switch back to SLGS once you hit a good dose, if you want find TR too much. Lower numbers can be scary at first, but cats love being in the normal range (50-100 mg/dl with a human meter) and you too will find that they're addictive.
 
Link to your previous post:
10/02 Pickle AMPS 324 +2 415 +5 342 PMPS 332

It does look like Pickle could use more insulin. Even with SLGS, you are due for an increase tomorrow.

TR can seem daunting at first, but it will help you get him to a good dose sooner. You can always switch back to SLGS once you hit a good dose, if you want find TR too much. Lower numbers can be scary at first, but cats love being in the normal range (50-100 mg/dl with a human meter) and you too will find that they're addictive.

So sorry to make you go looking! I tried to sneak it in before someone else had to.

Thank you for the reassurance about the dose increase tomorrow. I'll take a couple days to think about everything and make a decision, but I really like the idea of getting a dose faster!
 
If you switch to TR, and it doesn’t work for you, you can always switch back to SLGS. When I switched Jude to TR, his numbers began to move toward regulation. Sometimes, when getting numbers down with TR, you might go through periods where you need to carb manipulate with food, but the trade off is that TR gets kitties closer to both regulation and, possibly, remission. You always hold the syringe and make the decision, though. No one here will force you to make any dosing decisions you don’t want to make.
 
If you switch to TR, and it doesn’t work for you, you can always switch back to SLGS. When I switched Jude to TR, his numbers began to move toward regulation. Sometimes, when getting numbers down with TR, you might go through periods where you need to carb manipulate with food, but the trade off is that TR gets kitties closer to both regulation and, possibly, remission. You always hold the syringe and make the decision, though. No one here will force you to make any dosing decisions you don’t want to make.
Good luck with the dose increase!!
Thank you for always being so comforting and reassuring!
 
Back
Top