I did mean it for today; I was in a hurry before work this morning. I did mean to give 2.25 (a smidge under) as generally her numbers don't budge otherwise during the day unless we give that little extra. What does depot mean? I guess I don't understand how that works. So if I am following what you said if she at her lowest is 90-149, then keep giving the 2 units?Is this post for 10/4?
The high preshot is a combo of the depot being depleted from the skip and reduced dose. Looks like you increased this morning? Did you mean to increase the dose?
Lantus isn't good at shooting down higher numbers. Lantus is good at starting with lower numbers and keeping them flatter. It is the depot that helps do that. For that reason, it is really important to keep shooting the same dose each cycle, unless you mean to increase the dose (or earn a reduction). We dose based on how low the dose is take Minky, not the preshots. 2.0 units was taking Minky to the low 100's. When following SLGS, you stay with a dose if the nadirs are in the 90-149 range.
This makes a lot of sense to me--thank you for this!!Here is some reading for you.
What is the Insulin Depot?
And yes, keep giving 2.0 units, unless at some point during the cycle she goes below 90, in which case the new dose would be 1.75 units. Or if you keep giving 2.0 units and after a week find she's not going below 150, then you increase to 2.25 units. However, she has seen some nice numbers in the low 100's recently on 2.0 units, so that might not happen at this point in time.