10/4 Mandarin AMPS 253 / Walter AMPS 215

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Mandarin is one pathetic little boy. His eye looks terrible, but he is still too scared to let me put the eye meds in. He just hates any form of restraint and I just can't figure out a way to put in eye ointment without at least holding on to his face. This morning, I at least got the ointment close to his eye - I know, that doesn't help any, but it seemed like progress... well, at least it did until I realized that he had also peed in his panic. :(

He is also way overdue for a dosecrease, but he is not eating well and I am not too sure that he will cooperate with testing, so I am holding off on that. Good news is that he is taking his ABs like a champ. So happy that he loves pill pockets.

The kittens are doing pretty well. Flora is loving the homecooked chicken and her diarrhea is already getting better. I should get the EZ Complete Premix today or tomorrow and will start mixing that in. So far, Flora and Sparrow are the most excited about the chicken. Iris, Walter and Mandarin will eat it fine. And Capone isn't so sure. He is my kibble addict and was upset enough over switching to canned food... and I don't think he really approves of this change just yet.
 
Wow Christina you are, quite seriously, one awesome Bean! I don't know how you juggle all of their special needs! Lots of hugs to you just for being you! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Happy to hear that Flora is improving! What is the EZ Complete Premix? Is it food or a supplement?

Boys.....start working the juice ok? Dosecrease threat is out there!
 
Maybe @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey can give you some tips about giving eye drops. I'd hold off on the dosecrease too, it's not worth the risk with all he has going on....poor baby. Great progress with the home cooked food and it doesn't surprise me even a little that Flora is doing better already. Sending mega vines and prayers along with lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you.
 
Wow, you do have a lot going on and poor Mandarin in pain and swollen! Can someone help you administer the drops? Glad he doesn't mind the pill pockets and you can get the AB in him. Sending vines. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad Mandarin likes the pill pockets. I hope the AB helps. It's good to hear the homecooked chicken is helping Flora. Sending prayers.
 
Christina, I am so happy to see that Flora is improving. The little scamp had us all worried! I'm glad the others like the new food, and I hope Capone will adjust.

I don't know what I can suggest about the eye drops that you probably haven't already tried. My cats were reasonably cooperative, despite getting as many as eight different drops a day. Have you tried reaching from behind him to gently hold his head? I wish I had a picture of how I did it, but never thought to have one taken. You have to have the drops ready to go so as soon as you get the eye open, they're in and you're done. I always held the head gently, rubbing the cheek or chin for a moment or two to prevent kitty from shaking his head and losing some of the med. Of course, if his cheek is painful, that might not be the best way. It may be a two person operation for Mandarin. Did the vet give you pain meds? If you can relieve the pain, he might not be so resistant to having his head touched.

I'm sure you're already doing the usual things, like giving him a treat before and after.

He just hates any form of restraint and I just can't figure out a way to put in eye ointment without at least holding on to his face.
Do you have a cat sack? I used to have to use one with Harvey to give him meds, and it was amazing how much he calmed down once he was in it. After a while he actually helped me get it on him by putting his feet into it!

I wish I had more suggestions to offer, or was close enough to come help. Hang in there!

Sending lots of healing vines and :bighug:s.
 
All I can add is vines and :bighug:. I hope it gets easier to give the drops. I usually approach Neko from the back of her head for her meds too.

Great news on the home cooked food agreeing with Flora! There are so many gums or carageenans or other icky things in canned foods that I found home prepared better to give. Now if only a certain black and white cat would eat it.:rolleyes:
 
I too favour the Apocalyse Now opening scene approach - where you hear the helicopter coming in behind you, with the cat on floor between thighs, facing directly into corner (easily grabbed if he tries to vacate). Agree with having the stripe of ointment at the ready. I've even tried getting a bit of ointment into a 1cc syringe (no needle) as I'm more used to working with syringes than a tube. You'll waste some ointment but …. Also, you don't necessarily have to have the tube super close to the eye. I've dropped the ointment in from a height when necessary - the cat might not even see the tube.
 
I too favour the Apocalyse Now opening scene approach - where you hear the helicopter coming in behind you, with the cat on floor between thighs, facing directly into corner (easily grabbed if he tries to vacate).
LOL - I think in this particular case, the sound of the helicopter would be immediately followed by the sound of a terrified cat peeing all over his bean. :rolleyes: Mandarin really is a scaredy cat and he hates to feel cornered or restrained in any way. With his Insulin and tests, I finally realized that it all goes a lot better if I let him walk around and rub on me and I test with just one hand while the other hand is petting him. It took some time and practice, but we now pull that off without a problem. Or at least we found a way to manage... I can't tent his skin (that would be the second hand), but there's enough fat on him that there's little risk of the needle going through. I am trying a similar approach with the eye. At this point, I am able to touch his eye and I am able to wipe off some of the discharge, but the tube really freaks him out. The syringe might work - I will definitely try that.

Did the vet give you pain meds? If you can relieve the pain, he might not be so resistant to having his head touched.
No they didn't - but that's a good point. I will ask about that! No matter what it is (abscess or conjunctivitis), I'm sure it's painful.

What is the EZ Complete Premix? Is it food or a supplement?
It's an all-in-one supplement that you add to raw or cooked meat to create a balanced diet. It's a bit pricey, but it makes the entire process a lot less daunting. You can find the info at: http://www.foodfurlife.com/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top