10/4 Lucian +5/60,+6.25/78,+7.5/101,+9/74,PMPS 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Had to give a little MC last night, just because he was dropping a little low hours before nadir.

@Mel, you questioned the R yesterday, it should be gone before the onset of the Lev. Haven't had a problem with it before, but without it the Lev is still dropping him low. I'm thinking he might need his dose fine tuned until we find what works. Keeps him low enough but not too low.

What gets me, is that you would never know he missed a shot, except for the 1 high, since then, you'd think his shed was full. I thought missing the shot would drain the shed and he'd stay a little higher for a few days until it filled again. I don't know what the deal is with him.

You always hear about everything that will make them run high, is there anything that will do the opposite? Besides just needing less insulin?
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86

I know the R was out of his system by the time the Levemir kicked in what I was questioning was did it do its job too well and took him down a little too low for the Levemir dose. So the Levemir itself brought him down further than expected because it was working off a lower spot.

Which is the purpose of using a bolus insulin with a depot insulin to bring the BGs down where the depot can get it's teeth into and do its job.

There are a couple of random thoughts about yesterday. First the 400 was a bad read and he was actually lower. As far as him not feeling well yesterday if he truly that high he dropped very quickly back to low 100s and double digits which doesn't feel good. Mom use to tell me it felt like one of those carnival rides where they suddenly drop you or a free falling elevator.

Yes there are a couple things that can make them run low. A pancreas sputtering and trying to come back on line. Which is a good reason. His body is processing his food better so he is less hungry thus eating less so fewer carbs for the insulin to counter. Again a good reason. In both cases you adjust the dose lower. Now the bad reason...Cancer eats sugar.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86

TMI I didn't want to know that, but thanks anyway. We'll hope it's the former.
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86

Check this out, I just got an email from the vet that dx'd him, that I was so pissed off at, but thought I'd have a better chance getting a script from her:

So sorry this is a day late, I replied to the original email just now realizing it probably went back to the rolesville email...

Impressive Blood glucose curve I must say:):) 2 quick questions, are you using a human or animal glucose meter and what dose is he currently on, do you happen to know if that is a U100 or U40 insulin? Glad to hear he is doing better, and I am happy to write the script, I just want to update the chart. I am impressed with how much attention you have given to him and this, he is a lucky cat:) The only reason I ask about the meter is that the human ones can be off a bit. At some point when you can, we can get him in to do a curve, have you bring your meter and we can check him with both that way we can know by how much to decerase or increase the reading.. It can vary by between 50-100, not to terribly bad but if he was getting borderline it might make a big deal:) We do have cat ones as well. Thank you for the chart, I will get the script ready, just need to know how much he is taking
Dr. Hummel

Obviously, the only thing I need from them is the script. I wrote her back, answering all her ?? and explaining what I'm doing, that I am aware of the meter differences, etc, although did not mention the web! But I told her that I disagree with bringing him in for a curve because it stresses him out and the readings are not reliable. That I would be happy to do it at home, where it would be accurate.

We'll see what she has to say now.
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70

See? this is what I don't get. The Lev hasn't had time to take affect, but he's dropped over 26 points since his shot and ate twice although just a little, maybe 1/8 can each. He should be much higher at this time in his cycle. SMH no clue!

I don't know what you'd call it, a fat .5 or a skinny .75, but that's what he got this morning.
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70

Lol... Let's see if this makes sense...what does food turn into in the cat after they eat it? Glucose...right? Okay now what does insulin do? Lower Glucose. Now what does the pancreas do in a healthy and or diet control diabetic cats? PRODUCE INSULIN!!!

Look how long you have been able to keep him below the renal threshold and not only below renal but regulated...Since he has been on Lev. you have taken the pressure of his pancreas. He isn't there yet but he just might be trying to go you know where.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70

No way! Never gonna happen! :lol:

Hey just got an answer from the vet, she has a script ready for me, will pick it up this afternoon! WOOOOHOOO! She has been very complimentary. :lol:

Here's the reply:

Sounds like a good plan. We can also probably let a meter go home for a day to have you run both samples as well. I would suspect that with as good of a job as you are doing on the curve, he is well regulated. I have written the script and will have it up from for you. From what I could learn, the levemir is a pen dispensor, I wrote the script for bottle/pen, let me know if that is not ok.l
Jenn Hummel

Is that great or what?? I am so happy, at least I have the script. I've been stressing this a lot! I can't tell you how long it's been since I've been this happy!

Oh, I posted her first reply up above, if you didn't see it.
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70,+5/60

Gave 1 T MC. He's too low before onset. Have to run to the vet to get the script, but may have to wait till tomorrow morning. I won't leave for an hour when he's dropping like this.

Shoot! I've cancelled everything for this cat! Dr's appt, Lawyers appt, invitations out. Could care less, rather keep an eye on him when he's running low. Funny, he'd almost become predictable for a while there. :lol:
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70

Some cats take longer the one that I can think of off the top of my head is Devon's Mocha who went OTJ after 22 months. It can and does happen...and even if he never comes completely off at least he will be maintained on a lower dose.

I did see both.:-) Now that's how you train your vet, cuz they can't argue with success..lol

Ya I keep catching myself looking for Jesse and Cedric condo. Really hope when she's ready Jesse will come back to visit us. They both are real special to me. Maxwell and Cedric were twin brothers by different mothers. Not only did they look like the long and short haired versions of each other. I adopted Maxwell about the same time Jesse came on the board and the boyz went OTJ close together. Just doesn't fee right for Jesse and Cedric not to be here. :'(

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70,+5/60

I'm actually amazed that the vet is being so cooperative. I didn't expect it. But I figured the worst she could say is no.

But with him at 60@+5, I will have to wait until in the morning. It's too early for him to be that low. If it was closer, yeah, but it's 30 mins each way if you don't get behind a school bus this time of day.

I'll email her and let her know. I did ask her to look at his SS, since it's been a couple days and they've been low. So she'll understand why I can come this afternoon. That or she'll realize I am OCD over my cat. :o :lol:
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70,+5/60,+6.25/78

Change of plans, since he's up a little, I gave another T of MC and I'm gonna run to get the script.
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70,+5/60,+6.25/78

No funny stuff Lucian while momma bean is out...

No calling Alska to give and get ideas for mischief. My bathroom rug is back in the wash for the third time this week because Bing urped on it but they could find other devious things to do :twisted:
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70,+5/60,+6.25/78

Back with the script!

My rugs are in the dryer and they're going in the closet. He won't go anywhere else, so I will eliminate the option.

Need to test him.
 
Re: 10/4 Lucian AMPS 86,+4/70,+5/60,+6.25/78,+7.5/101

Well, he has a couple hours till nadir, we'll see what happens. No more MC today!

But I'm glad to see a little blue.
 
I'm going to shoot .50 and set my alarms to various times to keep track of him tonight. I'll admit to being nervous over this. nailbite_smile But only because he's not coming up like he should. Or like he HAS.
 
Sounds like a plan. I'll check back periodically to keep an eye on you two. I have three cases of soda and a carton of smokes and more stitchery projects than I know what to do with I'm good to go if it's going to be a long night..lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Gee that's nice! Spent many nights up while you were gone all by my self. Not that I need someone to tell me what to do, but it's easier to stay awake with someone to talk to. You'd be proud of me, I even helped out a couple others on hypo watch. :-D I've also set my clock on the hour all night long once. Rough night, that was.

Gonna check him at 10 my time, in about 30 mins.
 
Didn't think you'd need my guidance just figured you could use the company ♡

That was the one thing I missed the most when the net was out and Autumn would run low at night.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
OK, pm+2 81 -had snack

Nice to see a little normal upward movement.


pm+4 76 -had snack

pm+6 60 -had snack

pm+8 50 -no snack

pm+10 47 -had snack
 
Okay that will be the food spike...now if his pancreas is trying to come online he should drop again at +4

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
He almost always eats a snack, 1/8 can, after testing, even if it's only been 2 hrs, so I don't how much that has to do with it with him. Whether I am testing on schedule or just waiting for him to get up and then test, he still eats a little something, except during the night when I test in the bedroom, he may not. He had no food at +8, but did @ +6 and +10. I was too tired to take him into the LR at +8 so he just went back to sleep after the test, like me. At +10, he got up on his own after the test to use the LB, so I gave him a snack.

Last nights pmps was a little off, he was wanting to eat at 7:15, I got him to wait until 7:30, then tested and fed, waiting till 8 for his shot. But was occupied and he didn't get his shot until 8:15. He ate the same food he had eaten all day, same flavor - he will do that with Liver and Chicken, 2.5 hours before his pm +2 test. He ate the same food thru +4. At +6, I opened a different can. Except for times that I give MC it's always LC and I always state it on his SS when I give MC, so that whoever is looking can see the effect.

Still, all in all, below 50, I'd rather he not go on a regular basis. I'll be afraid to leave the house. Still need a little fine tuning on the dose.

Looking at his SS, tonight's pm numbers on .50 is almost exact to 10/2 am numbers on 1.0U. Go figure huh?

I'm exhausted, but awake, may not be able to go back to sleep and it's 6:30 am! I'll try in a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top