10/4 Fur Ball AMPS 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregFurBall

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Wasn't able to post yest. Life can sure get hectic. But when I read about Melissa and Tarragon and Rhiannon and DD helps put things in perspective. Also, had 2 clients attempt suicide this week so needless to say its been intense. One is still in ICU so I'm not sure of his recovery. Ugh.

Fur Ball seems to like the little bit higher numbers. My goodness was he playful last night and this morning.

Hope everyone has a great day.
Karen
 
I'd count that AMPS as green :lol:

I'm sorry about your rough work stuff. You guys are doing a wonderful job with Fur Ball! Don't worry about those few points higher. His SS looks TERRIFIC.

Let us know if we can help or give any input you'd like.

Hugs
Jane
 
Thanks Jane.
I know, I was pleased with his BG. Just glad to have a bit of reprieve from the low numbers.

How long do you think we should stay on the drop?

karen
 
That's a bit of a tricky thing to answer :smile: Overall, I think you should stay on the drop until Fur Ball drops low again, say, to the low 40s. IF he does NOT drop below 50 by the time he has been on the drop for 7 days, I think you could try doing an OTJ trial (that's according to protocol), though there can be reasons to stay on even such a tiny dose a bit longer, and generally in LL an OTJ trial recommendation isn't made before several other have also chipped in signing off on it, as it were - it just makes it safer that way. I'm afraid it's a bit of a wait-and-see matter now, and I know that's quite frustrating.

Some cats *never* drop below 50. Obviously Fur Ball is not one of those :smile: (though, for instance, ours was - Karre's lowest-ever BG was 52). Some cats stop dropping below 50 when their dose is soooo tiny - a few more days will tell us is FB is such a kitty. If he is, I would definitely try for a week of basically all-green (a couple of exceptions are ok) before trying a trial. Be all that as it may - I'm sure it won't be long now, and I hope that helps you guys to stay motivated.

Right now, I would say: Let's give him until the weekend, and then re-assess. How does that sound?
Hugs
Jane
 
Sounds good Jane. I thought at least one week unless he dropped below 40 was what we were striving for. DH is less receptive to this idea but its really important to set Fur Ball up for success.

I appreciate your input. You guys have definitely been at this a lot longer than I have. As I look back over his SS I'm amazed at how short of time period we've been doing this. I guess the amount of tests just makes it FEEL so much longer. :smile:

Hope your day is wonderful.
karen
 
For newly diagnosed cats, the cut-off BG is 50, normally, and for a cat that got the DX over a year ago, it's 40. But again - they're guidelines, and sometimes a cat just being a cat, or some other extenuating circumstance, makes us suggest other options.

I sympathise with you both, and with Greg not being too thrilled to have to wait patiently for longer! This is a draining process. But you guys are very, very lucky to be where you are soooo fast, as you say :smile: Just think how great it will be when you start your trial, and how happy you will all be if it's successful and you can all breathe easy again! You are so close and have amazingly great chances - try to hold on to that a bit longer! :smile:

You guys have a great day too! Thanks for posting and keeping us all in the loop despite all you have going on!
Hugs
Jane
 
It is so exciting to watch you guys handle Fur Ball's protocol in the middle of your busy professional lives. BIG :thumbup :thumbup to both of you, and to Fur Ball!!
 
That's a great start today.
Fur Ball may be like Shadow in liking those higher numbers than "we" think they should be.
Marje tells me they feel the same at 50 as they do at 100. If it's a good number, don't sweat it.
Shadow always naturally rises after she drops so I know her body just likes the high greens , low blues.
She doesn't drop under 50 very much either.

You are indeed blessed to be getting thru this so fast.
Another few days to start the trial will pass in no time and Fur Ball will have a better chance at holding remission.
Paws crossed that he can stay that way for a very long time.
 
Hi Karen, More great numbers for Fur Ball today! I know its hard to wait the whole 7 days before starting OTJ, especially when sleep deprived and life outside fd is hectic. We wanted to start Jasper's trial a couple days early and Jane persuaded me to wait the full 7 days. They dont make patience pants in my size, but if trial had failed, we would have always wondered if it was from jumping the gun. You dont have much longer to wait, if you guys and Fur Ball hang in through the weekend you may be ready to start OTJ trial next week with the greatest chance of success!
Leslie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top