10/4 Chester's PMPS 211,+2 =239

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
We made it through the night quite well, but I did give him a bedtime snack and a snack at 12:30 (which was +6 for him last night with the delayed pm eating and shot). He definitely ate the bedtime one, don't know about the midnight one.

Today he wasn't terribly hungry for breakfast...go figure! Shot 1.25 and leaving some LC in the feeder. Giving Chester a "day buddy" who doesn't really love wet food, so Chester should get the bulk of it if he wants it.

Thanks for all the support yesterday during my meltdown!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26526
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=154, AMPS 247

this mid yellow is a nice place to start! I hope he comes down for you nice and slow .. have a great monday guys!
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=154, AMPS 247

thinking about you guys today, hope all is going well with Chester while you have to be at work.
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=157 and Question

Thanks for your concern!

Well, someone at some of the food, but not all, and I doubt it was all Chester. Came home to a pretty nice +11 of 157. However (why does there always have to be a 'however?'), took a walk with my dogs and wasn't thinking...uncovered the kibble before I left. There's NO way that the little man (little sneaky man) didn't find that kibble bowl. I haven't done the pmps, but won't be surprised if I get wonky numbers tonight.

I'm wondering if the shed is depleting now on the 1.25? Does anyone ever vary the a.m./p.m. dose by even a tiny bit? Like 1.5 in the am (or vice versa) and 1.25 in the p.m. (or...again...vice versa) to keep the shed from depleting when one is in one of those "in between" doses?
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=157 and Question

Huh?
just kidding!
I think I understand your question....


I'm wondering if the shed is depleting now on the 1.25? Does anyone ever vary the a.m./p.m. dose by even a tiny bit? Like 1.5 in the am (or vice versa) and 1.25 in the p.m. (or...again...vice versa) to keep the shed from depleting when one is in one of those "in between" doses?


I'll give it a simple try, but I'm sure others can explain it better,,,,from what I understand, Lantus likes consistency, especially in the shot times and the dose...and yes, you may be depleting the shed a bit each time you shoot a lower dose, and back up to the regular dose.
Does that help?
Let's see what others say.
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=157, PMPS 211 and Question

Ronnie is right, it's better to keep the dose consistent between AM/PM, otherwise you're tinkering with the shed a little bit on each cycle. Usually that leads to higher numbers. If they need an in-between dose, it's better to give them the in-between dose.
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=157, PMPS 211 and Question

Thanks for the info. I'm experimenting with how many drops I can get out of .5 units for that reason. I've seen some posts on the subject but I suppose everyone's drop size is different. So far, for me, I get 5 drops per .05. Nothing can be easy, right? So when I need .25 I have to count 2.5 drops!


ANOTHER Question! If I get a +11 and a PMPS and Chester is rising normally, is there a reason I need to do a +1 or +2? If not, should I do a bedtime one...+9? Bedtime for him, of course...mine is considerably more obnoxious. Then again maybe at 12:30, which on our schedule would be a +6?
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=157, PMPS 211 and Question

Jaye and Chester said:
Thanks for the info. I'm experimenting with how many drops I can get out of .5 units for that reason. I've seen some posts on the subject but I suppose everyone's drop size is different. So far, for me, I get 5 drops per .05. Nothing can be easy, right? So when I need .25 I have to count 2.5 drops!

That's pretty good. I've never tried to count drops, but I've heard of others who get 10 drops per unit, so 5 drops per .05 units is the same. You could measure 1.5 units and then push out 2 drops. I think you could stay more consistant that way than trying to push out a half a drop more. And, that way you would be a little closer to that between number (in between 1.25 and 1.50 units).

ANOTHER Question! If I get a +11 and a PMPS and Chester is rising normally, is there a reason I need to do a +1 or +2? If not, should I do a bedtime one...+9? Bedtime for him, of course...mine is considerably more obnoxious. Then again maybe at 12:30, which on our schedule would be a +6?

This is just my humble opinion, so others opinions may differ, but I think with Chester's numbers tonight, you would be safe with a +2 (and depending on that number maybe a +3, etc.) and that +6 before you go to bed, would be great.
I always like to try to get a +11, when I'm going to work that day, so I have time to think if I need to before shooting.

Does that make sense?
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's +11=157, PMPS 211 and Question

Thanks, that's what I was hoping...for the sake of his poor little ears from yesterday. He's attacking me with kisses as we speak and apparently feeling fine (my cats kiss SO much more than my dogs...who wouldn't lick you if you paid them by letting them raid the litterbox!)
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's PMPS 211,+2 =239 AlphaTrak vs OneTouch

I've been doing a little comparison between the AlphaTrak and the OneTouch Mini. My vet is bemoaning me as a collector of meters, and she's not far off, but I'm impressed right now with what I'm seeing from the Mini.

I bought a Wal-Mart ReliOn to see just how different the numbers were between it and my AT... OMG...sometimes as many as 40+ points! Then I got out my OneTouch mini (I have two, color coded for animal). I used to think they were unreliable because they were so off from the AT, but now that I've compared some, it seems like a pretty good compromise for me, considering the price of the AT strips. I also like how, with the OneTouch, you come at the blood from the front, not from the side.

I get 50 AT strips for just over $50 at American Diabetes Wholesale, 50 ReliOn strips for $20 at Wal-Mart. Hocks has the OneTouch strips at 50 for $30.

Here are some comparisons I've done (and now am listing my numbers on the spreadsheet). The numbers weren't consecutive readings (thank goodness!) Think I'll keep doing the comparisons until the strips run out.

AT = 307 OT = 310
AT = 89 OT = 75
AT = 395 OT = 373
AT = 161 OT = 163
AT = 345 OT = 349
AT = 359 OT = 347
AT = 355 OT = 347
AT = 73 OT = 59
AT = 108 OT = 82
AT = 327 OT = 329
AT = 86 OT = 70
AT = 100 OT = 81
AT = 214 OT = 207
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's PMPS 211,+2 =239 AlphaTrak vs OneTouch

My vet, twice, wanted to compare my One Touch to his meter, and twice he was really impressed with the sameness.
Each time, we got a drop big enough for both of us, and dipped our test strips, and were well within 10 points of each other. I don't know what kind of meter he uses, but I know it's for animals. I'm very happy with my One Touch.
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's PMPS 211,+2 =239 AlphaTrak vs OneTouch

I use the OneTouch ultra.

I think Consumer Reports had ranked the mini as the best meter overall....And was the best for reliability and accuracy...even better than the ultra I use. I bought the mini but haven't used it....its just my backup meter.
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's PMPS 211,+2 =239 AlphaTrak vs OneTouch

What you're seeing doesn't surprise me. The meters are very close in the mid and upper ranges. The biggest difference is at the lower end. This is consistent with the info in the Roomp & Rand/Queensland protocol. Thanks for posting the comparison.
 
Re: 10/4 Chester's PMPS 211,+2 =239 AlphaTrak vs OneTouch

I'll definitely keep my AT strips around for those lower ranges because that's where I see the biggest discrepancy as well. The big con for me is that you need quite a bit larger drop for the OT, but on the plus side, I like that you come at the blood drop directly at the end of the strip, rather than from the side. Plus they're cheap enough that I can use a different color/meter for both the cat and dog, also keeping their histories separate.

But it's actually farther apart for my dog than for Chester.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top