? 10/4 Caesar amps 145 +2 129 +5 151 +7 124 +10 201

Jerida and Caesar

Member Since 2016
Trying to figure a good time to give shot twice daily I work m-t 8am to 12pm and f 7am to 11am I just started Caesar back on insulin.:(I'd like to keep him at 6am and 6pm but cant be here in the am to monitor. Looking in to getting a automatic feeder, but I work tomorrow so should I give shot depending on his amps and leave out food or skip his shot till I can get a feeder? or any suggestions he's on 0.25 units :confused:
 
I have the same problem but here's my solution so far. 6am shot as I have to leave the house at 8am. I test about 20 mins before leaving then put food in automatic feeder, gauging whether I think he could drop a bit. If so, I put some MC in to entice him to eat and keep BG in the greens. I work 15 mins from home (so 30 min roundtrip) and have a 40 minute break. It's a rush but if I'm worried, I have come home a few times to test. If that not an option for you, you'll need to decide if you have enough data to safely shoot and leave him. You say you restarted insulin. Do you have data other than this from previous? Perhaps a few other more experienced member can be of more help to you. The automatic feeder is great if he's a cat who likes to eat. Mine is not so the feeder hasn't been quite as helpful as I'd like. More times than not I've come home and he's eaten nothing, hence the rushing home on my break. Usually +2 gives you an idea of it's going to be an active cycle or not. If the +2 is lower than AMPS, he could really drop until his nadir. If this is all the data you have, I'd want to be a bit cautious.
 
He likes to eat :joyful: I have previous ss in a notebook from 4 years ago but he is 16 now. He has been OTJ for 4 years:D and got sick:( and now his sugars are crazy. Hoping to get him regulated. I ordered a feeder but probably won't get here till tues or weds. I'm not able to leave work to check on him,:( that's my concern. I don't have enough data yet to really know how he's going to react...So depending on his amps I'll decide what to do I guess. Thank you for answering me.
 
You're welcome! I sort of decide what to do based on the AMPS. Sometimes he needs to get MC earlier. The good part is that you finish work after 4 hours. I think you'll have a better idea the next week or so. We do go to bed and not test for several hours so this isn't a lot different; we just learn our cat's schedule and make informed decisions, to the best of our ability, based on knowing our cats. Good luck to you!

Before the automatic feeder, I did use a few suggested tricks like freezing some different carb foods in ice cube trays and leaving out a few different bowls. Is this a possibility?
 
Thank you so much for the ideas I can try that I have 5 other cats so I leave him in my bedroom while I'm gone I'm sorta monitoring his pees and poops too Tonight he is going high not sure what that's about.:nailbiting: hope I got his shot in its not a very big dose Stresses me out :arghh:
 
I see he's gone up for you. When Milo first started insulin, it took him a while to stabilize. Hopefully Caesar comes back down for you. Have a good day!
 
ty I'm trying the frozen food today see how that works I should be home to get a +6 today he went from 392 to 132 and I can't be here to monitor ugg I fed him again and put out the frozen food and just pray he levels out. I'm going to be worried sick
 
I ordered a automatic feeder hope it will be here tomorrow;) I left the frozen food out and it worked :joyful:thank you for the idea.+6 165
 
Back
Top