10/4 & 10/5 Tigger back fr. vet visit - Rx Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Good evening Lantus Land!

Tigger's last 9/19 post

It's been a long time - life here's been total chaos - DH was out of town for a week so I took care of the ranch, work & 7 furbabies. During that time, Tigger had 2 episodes below 40 - one evening a 31, 2 hours after a PMPS of 234 :shock: , & the 2nd, a few nights ago at +4 when he dropped from 95 to 35. :o It's been too crazy for posting, & I'm pretty exhausted. Caught another cold, too from DH when he got home.

Spankey's dental last week went well. We got a fecal & urinalysis on Tigger - all fine. Then 6 days after the dental, Spankey got a URI with a 104 fever. The vet figured a herpes outbreak from all the ABs (5 -6) for his throat foxtail & prescribed azithromycin for secondary bacterial infection. I'm giving him fluids, too. He's been in isolation with a stuffy nose & blowing bubbles; his fever's down & he's eating, but depressed.

Then the vet called yesterday - apparently when Spankey had his dental, another cat who had a dental abscess recovered in the cage next to Spankey & already had or got a URI. Their cages were separately ventilated, but that's how Spankey got sick & it may not be herpes. :cry: Yesterday afternoon, Tigger came down with it - so more azithromycin, fluids, & isolation. Then today, little Simon got it, too.

The vet felt terrible & has been really wonderful with prescriptions & help for my gang. It was no one's fault. But my little babies are miserable & it'll be at least 10 days before they're better. I haven't vaccinated in 5 years because of the potential problems from over-vaccinating :roll:

:?: We've never had URIs before, so if anyone has any suggestions, I'm open. Is there anything else I can do to lessen the symptoms? We have clear mucus so far.

:?: We reduced Tigger's dose twice following those extremely low numbers - but he's been high & level (all yellow & pink) since this last reduction - 6 cycles tonight. I thought I would hold the dose through tomorrow (Saturday) for 8 doses, but if it stays at this level, should I increase the dose? Tigger won't let me take his temperature - he goes absolutely nuts when I try - but he feels pretty normal. anyway. I gave him 100 ml fluids today to help flush his system, anyway. I don't know how much the virus will affect his BG if there's no temperature.

PS - just noticed - Tigger's eye that's been removed is swollen - the left side of his face seems swollen - like a retrobulbar abscess - could a respiratory virus do that? The other eye seems fine. Now I'm really worried.........


Thanks to everyone for any suggestions or guidance - hope everyone's been ok!
 
Re: 10/4 Tigger PMPS/350 - All 3 cats caught URIs

Sorry, no suggestions - just best wishes and healing vines for you kitties
 
Re: 10/4 Tigger PMPS/350 - All 3 cats caught URIs

Suzanne - :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Life has really dealt you a hard hand lately!

Congrats on those reductions. That 234 to 31 is a good advertisement for testing frequently. :shock: :shock:

I've worked at a shelter before, so just a bit of experience at URI's. My favorite being the person who dumped 12 cats on us just before Christmas, some with URI which subsequently went through the herd. :roll: First thing, are you giving l-Lysine to the gang? That seemed to help shorten the symptoms some. I've seen 250-500 gms either once or twice a day. You can get powder, or capsules and use the powder inside, and I've seen reference to L-Lysine chews. Also, don't fret on the shots thing. The gang at the shelter all got their shots when they came in, plus regular boosters, and still got infected. Some URIs are just tough.

If the cats get really stuffy, you can do a tiny bit of saline solution up the nose to help clear things (sort of a kitty neti pot). I've also seen reference to putting the cat in a steamy room to help loosen things up. I wonder if Tigger has inflamed nasal passages? Better ask the vet about that one.

Tigger's dose - It's not yet been a full 6 cycles, so he could still be in bounce mode. If kitties are feeling yucky, that could stress them and impact the BG. But if he's still high after 8 cycles, I'd think about increasing. But be careful, if ABs kick in, he could come tumbling. But you do test a lot so should be OK.

So you just have the 3 kitties? I think you have some ferals too? I'd keep a separate set of clothes you use just for dealing with the URI guys. I brought home one of our shelter guys who got an episode (herpes or calici, who knows), and I put a set of outer layer clothes, shoes, and hat (long hair), vinyl gloves in a bag outside his isolation room and changed in and out every time after seeing him. Keep dishes separate, wash separately with disinfectant. That's the protocol we followed at the shelter too. Luckily Neko never got it.

Good luck!
 
Re: 10/4 Tigger PMPS/350 - All 3 cats caught URIs

Wow, thanks so much, Wendy, that's great advice. I have saline solution & never thought to use it.

I'll check with the vet re. Tigger's nasal passages. His sneezing/snotting isn't as bad as Spankey's, but I'm really concerned about the swelling. It could be sinuses are infected/swollen(?) His good eye isn't tearing or swollen, tho'. The removed eye socket is swollen - can't tell if its the skin over the eye & cheek or something under the skull like retrobulbar. If you look at him from above it sticks out 2-3 times further than the good eye. Unfortunately, his specialist is off till Tuesday - that's the one who should really look at him. Saturday regular vet will not be very helpful, but I'm hoping to get clindamycin or other AB for dental or ocular infection to add to the azithromycin Tigger's already taking. It doesn't seem to bother him, but my ferals except Simon are notorious for hiding pain.

:!: I'll try to take photos of Tigger's eye to see if anyone has any suggestions. Looking down on it it looks like his muzzle is also swollen, so Wendy's suggestion re. swollen nasal passage may be right on target. Any thoughts??? Appt. w/ regular vet is at 10. If anyone has any suggestion for AB, that would be great - I don't know how they can check Tigger's socket since the eye was sutured shut when it was removed.

We have 10 cats - 3 indoor (Spankey, Tigger, Simon), 4 feral outdoor/barn cage & our DD's 3 in a kennel attached to our shop. Spankey was trolling outside before he got actively sick, so interaction with the ferals & DD's 3 is possible, as also for Tigger.

We're keeping items separated as much as possible - unfortunately the potential for contamination already occurred. The vet thought there might be enough separation between primary indoor & outdoor cats (paws crossed), but we're disinfecting. DH is handling most of the outdoor cats & I do the indoor - DH won't change clothes, but sanitizes hands & keep interactions to a minimum.
 

Attachments

  • Tigger bad eye 1.JPG
    Tigger bad eye 1.JPG
    141.6 KB · Views: 788
  • Tigger bad eye 2.JPG
    Tigger bad eye 2.JPG
    100.6 KB · Views: 788
Re: 10/4 & 10/5 Tigger PMPS/350 AMPS/419-URI & Blind eye swo

Here's a shot of Tigger's eye when good - it's more concave & the suture seam is white.
 

Attachments

  • Tigger good eye 1.JPG
    Tigger good eye 1.JPG
    109.5 KB · Views: 802
Re: 10/4 & 10/5 Tigger PMPS/350 AMPS/419-URI-Blind eye photo

Suzanne,
How long has Tigger's eye socket been swollen? Did it happen in just a day or two?
 
Re: 10/4 & 10/5 Tigger PMPS/350 AMPS/419-URI-Blind eye photo

I don't know what to tell you about Tigger's eye. My knee jerk reaction is, "vet visit."

The only thing I'd add to Wendy's suggestion is that if a kitty is stuffy, running a hot shower so the bathroom is steamy and keeping the kitty in there for 20 min. or so may help. Also, lysine chews contain corn syrup so aren't good for Tigger. I use powered lysine and add 1/8th teaspoon to food x2/day.
 
Re: 10/4 & 10/5 Tigger PMPS/350 AMPS/419-URI-Blind eye photo

Glad to see you back. Oh boy an the URI spread. When we got Emma she went on L-lysine and i went through the whole changing clothes in the garage until we got her herpes under control. Tess got the L-lysine as a preventative too and she never got anything. maybe give all the cats the L-lysine until the outbreak is under control.

I don't know if it would l\help or not , but when I get sinus congestion warm compresses help a lot.
 
Re: 10/4 & 10/5 Tigger PMPS/350 AMPS/419-URI-Blind eye photo

Running your shower or bathtub with hot steamy water will help loosen mucas up so may make him feel better. Just get it as steamy as you can and leave him about 20 minutes (of course make sure he doesn't jump into any hot water)

Or if you have a vaporizer like ones you'd have for a baby, you could use that in a small room.(bathroom or small bedroom) to do the same thing.

Hope he feels better soon! Sending lots of healing vines your way!
 
Re:Tigger's vet visit

Hi Everyone, thanks for all the suggestions & input. Here's what I know:

I only noticed the swelling last night (Friday PM) - Tigger got visibly sick Thursday afternoon. Mostly sneezing & huffing & open-mouth breathing. No tearing.

Don't have a vaporizer & should, but the shower will be a interim mister. Will try that as soon as I'm done posting.

Tigger's on 1,000 mg. daily for herpes from the eye problem as per the eye specialist - high dose, I know, but she's adamant.

The weekend vet thought Tigger had inflammation of the eye & left side of the face sue to viral 'snot' accumulation - it can't tear out of his nose so has to go down his throat. She recommends hydroxyzine 10 mg. twice a day - an allergy pill - to try & get the mucus to thin & drain down the throat.

The vet didn't want to drain the swelling yet - thought Tigger's immune system might kick in & do it on his own. She thought we should see his eye specialist Tuesday & go with her recommendation. The swelling is soft & to her appears to be under the skin & not under the bone, as a retrobulbar abscess would be (whew!) I was worried about waiting till Tuesday, but she said there's alot of room there for it to swell & Tigger should be ok. That's good, because it keeps getting bigger! He is eating, tho'. She didn't think adding clindamycin to treat the swelling would help because she didn't feel it was an abscess or wound. She also recommended hot packs & massage.

Tigger's not been very snotty like Spankey, so it may be the stuff's just pooling there or in his sinuses with no place to go......

Just did some research & hydroxyzine seems pretty ok, but can cause seizures & excitation in some animals. we have one epileptic, so that always panics me. I checked the FDMB website for info & didn't find anything bad, so I may start with 5 mg & see how Tigger responds.

:?: Has anyone else tried hydroxyzine with any results to report???? I'll hold off a little longer to see if anyone responds.

I've given everyone their meds & fluids - not much time for anything else yet today - Simon foams & throws up the azithromycin, so I am syringe feeding him with tuna water. So far so good. Spankey just hates it. Tigger luckily thinks its a treat ;-)

Tigger's BG is still higher - but only 333 after the vet visit @ +3.5!!! I am going to hold at least for today & tonight & maybe increase 16mm at most Sunday or Monday. Unless others have a better idea???"
 
My eldest cats have an URI because I babysat a friend's cats over Christmas holidays about 10 years ago, who turned out to be carriers. I will never do anything like that again.

Steam them, as was already suggested. Bring everybody into the bathroom, and run a hot shower, or take a hot bath. Play with everyone, or let them nap, but keep them in for 10-20 mins.
I use these lysine chews, http://www.vetriscience.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=900743120, which I bought on Amazon. I give two twice a day during outbreaks.
They don't raise the BG; I've been checking this carefully.
I don't recommend these, http://www.amazon.com/Optixcare-L-Lysine-Chews-60-count/dp/B004UHJMBM?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 as my cats couldn't stomach them, although that might just be them.

I also give my cats colostrum to help boost their immune.

Lots of love to you and the kitties!
 
It seems like hydroxyzine is recommended for atopic dermatits and alopecia in cats. It's an antihistamine vs. anything that has a decongestant component.
 
Thanks, Sienne, due to the seizure component I decided not to try the hydroxyzine & went with 1/4 tab Zyrtec. I know that's a half-dose, but I want to see how Tigger responds, since its a 12-24 hour dose. So far he's konked out 45 min. following dosage.

His eye continues to swell - I hope not draining it was the right decision - but the vet didn't want to do it & preferred to wait & see if Tigger's immune system would kick in. Tuesday is a long way away, though. nailbite_smile
 
Hi Suzanne,

I have no rx experience to add, but wanted to let you know I am sending mega healing vines and hugs to you! I hope this all clears up quickly, and Tigger's swelling goes down on it's own before Tuesday!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon

Jane
 
Hi Suzanne,
Lots of vines heading Tigger's way tonight. I hope that all will get under control. We use L-lysine (powder emptied out of 500mg capsules): 1/4 teaspoon, twice a day. I think it helps, but Rusty has chronic congestion, which never goes away entirely.
If the swelling doesn't begin to go down tonight, I think it might be wise to see a vet tomorrow. Tuesday is pretty far off in circumstances like this.

Hang in there. You really have your hands full!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top