Tigger's Friend
Member Since 2013
Good evening Lantus Land!
Tigger's last 9/19 post
It's been a long time - life here's been total chaos - DH was out of town for a week so I took care of the ranch, work & 7 furbabies. During that time, Tigger had 2 episodes below 40 - one evening a 31, 2 hours after a PMPS of 234 :shock: , & the 2nd, a few nights ago at +4 when he dropped from 95 to 35.
It's been too crazy for posting, & I'm pretty exhausted. Caught another cold, too from DH when he got home.
Spankey's dental last week went well. We got a fecal & urinalysis on Tigger - all fine. Then 6 days after the dental, Spankey got a URI with a 104 fever. The vet figured a herpes outbreak from all the ABs (5 -6) for his throat foxtail & prescribed azithromycin for secondary bacterial infection. I'm giving him fluids, too. He's been in isolation with a stuffy nose & blowing bubbles; his fever's down & he's eating, but depressed.
Then the vet called yesterday - apparently when Spankey had his dental, another cat who had a dental abscess recovered in the cage next to Spankey & already had or got a URI. Their cages were separately ventilated, but that's how Spankey got sick & it may not be herpes. :cry: Yesterday afternoon, Tigger came down with it - so more azithromycin, fluids, & isolation. Then today, little Simon got it, too.
The vet felt terrible & has been really wonderful with prescriptions & help for my gang. It was no one's fault. But my little babies are miserable & it'll be at least 10 days before they're better. I haven't vaccinated in 5 years because of the potential problems from over-vaccinating :roll:
:?: We've never had URIs before, so if anyone has any suggestions, I'm open. Is there anything else I can do to lessen the symptoms? We have clear mucus so far.
:?: We reduced Tigger's dose twice following those extremely low numbers - but he's been high & level (all yellow & pink) since this last reduction - 6 cycles tonight. I thought I would hold the dose through tomorrow (Saturday) for 8 doses, but if it stays at this level, should I increase the dose? Tigger won't let me take his temperature - he goes absolutely nuts when I try - but he feels pretty normal. anyway. I gave him 100 ml fluids today to help flush his system, anyway. I don't know how much the virus will affect his BG if there's no temperature.
PS - just noticed - Tigger's eye that's been removed is swollen - the left side of his face seems swollen - like a retrobulbar abscess - could a respiratory virus do that? The other eye seems fine. Now I'm really worried.........
Thanks to everyone for any suggestions or guidance - hope everyone's been ok!
Tigger's last 9/19 post
It's been a long time - life here's been total chaos - DH was out of town for a week so I took care of the ranch, work & 7 furbabies. During that time, Tigger had 2 episodes below 40 - one evening a 31, 2 hours after a PMPS of 234 :shock: , & the 2nd, a few nights ago at +4 when he dropped from 95 to 35.
Spankey's dental last week went well. We got a fecal & urinalysis on Tigger - all fine. Then 6 days after the dental, Spankey got a URI with a 104 fever. The vet figured a herpes outbreak from all the ABs (5 -6) for his throat foxtail & prescribed azithromycin for secondary bacterial infection. I'm giving him fluids, too. He's been in isolation with a stuffy nose & blowing bubbles; his fever's down & he's eating, but depressed.
Then the vet called yesterday - apparently when Spankey had his dental, another cat who had a dental abscess recovered in the cage next to Spankey & already had or got a URI. Their cages were separately ventilated, but that's how Spankey got sick & it may not be herpes. :cry: Yesterday afternoon, Tigger came down with it - so more azithromycin, fluids, & isolation. Then today, little Simon got it, too.
The vet felt terrible & has been really wonderful with prescriptions & help for my gang. It was no one's fault. But my little babies are miserable & it'll be at least 10 days before they're better. I haven't vaccinated in 5 years because of the potential problems from over-vaccinating :roll:
:?: We've never had URIs before, so if anyone has any suggestions, I'm open. Is there anything else I can do to lessen the symptoms? We have clear mucus so far.
:?: We reduced Tigger's dose twice following those extremely low numbers - but he's been high & level (all yellow & pink) since this last reduction - 6 cycles tonight. I thought I would hold the dose through tomorrow (Saturday) for 8 doses, but if it stays at this level, should I increase the dose? Tigger won't let me take his temperature - he goes absolutely nuts when I try - but he feels pretty normal. anyway. I gave him 100 ml fluids today to help flush his system, anyway. I don't know how much the virus will affect his BG if there's no temperature.
PS - just noticed - Tigger's eye that's been removed is swollen - the left side of his face seems swollen - like a retrobulbar abscess - could a respiratory virus do that? The other eye seems fine. Now I'm really worried.........
Thanks to everyone for any suggestions or guidance - hope everyone's been ok!