tylertheragdoll
Member Since 2014
So I know this is way too early to say anything but Tyler has been doing really well with 1 full day of no insulin and switching to Fancy Feast. I don't have a large sample size as I've done 2-3 curves/mini curves since early September but it is telling enough imho...Tyler's BG spreadsheet.
I read on several posts that in order for our sugar babies to be in full remission, they must remain so for at least 14 full days. Is there an OTJ trial protocol that's followed here as I saw those key words pop up here and there? I'd love to know as I just started recording Tyler's #s on my own spreadsheet before ever knowing about the spreadsheet used here with the AMPS, PMPS, +1, +2, etc...So yeah, my SS is not as complete and is painfully lacking any AMPS data. I would love to follow whatever the standard is here so we can compare apples to apples, where any key data is missing (such as my AMPS lack of knowledge...When I read that for the first time, I was thinking...What? AMPS? Like energy where I'm amping to get Tyler started on the juice?) :mrgreen:
Tyler started showing the classic signs of diabetes this past August where his very large water bowl was always empty every day...he started displaying highly unusual litter behavior peeing outside of the box. I thought it was b/c of the sweltering heat w/ no AC, the fact that we just moved halfway across the country, and a new place to transition to.
I took Tyler to the vet once it was very clear that all signs pointed to diabetes. The blood test they did came back w/ BG a little over 500. Initial urinalysis indicated there was sugar in his urine. Thus, he was diagnosed w/ diabetes 8/29/14 and prescribed 2 units twice a day on ProZinc.
His dry prescription food for preventing bladder stones had to be stopped completely...yet I continued to have him on the prescription wet food. After a full day of having Tyler on the prescription canned food alone, he ALREADY stopped urinating outside the litter box and resumed the normal litter behavior before any insulin.
I think Tyler is in a really good place to be off the juice but I've overzealously pricking his ear every 2 hours for the past 24 hours.
I can't keep this up as the week begins again so I'll be monitoring as much as possible over the remaining weekend...I'm sure there is some sort of standard/"best practice" for how many hours I should check. I'm so tired and sleep deprived at this point that I'm going to take a nap and w/ the hope that there will be great advice that magically appear.
Thanks so much for reading.
I read on several posts that in order for our sugar babies to be in full remission, they must remain so for at least 14 full days. Is there an OTJ trial protocol that's followed here as I saw those key words pop up here and there? I'd love to know as I just started recording Tyler's #s on my own spreadsheet before ever knowing about the spreadsheet used here with the AMPS, PMPS, +1, +2, etc...So yeah, my SS is not as complete and is painfully lacking any AMPS data. I would love to follow whatever the standard is here so we can compare apples to apples, where any key data is missing (such as my AMPS lack of knowledge...When I read that for the first time, I was thinking...What? AMPS? Like energy where I'm amping to get Tyler started on the juice?) :mrgreen:
Tyler started showing the classic signs of diabetes this past August where his very large water bowl was always empty every day...he started displaying highly unusual litter behavior peeing outside of the box. I thought it was b/c of the sweltering heat w/ no AC, the fact that we just moved halfway across the country, and a new place to transition to.
I took Tyler to the vet once it was very clear that all signs pointed to diabetes. The blood test they did came back w/ BG a little over 500. Initial urinalysis indicated there was sugar in his urine. Thus, he was diagnosed w/ diabetes 8/29/14 and prescribed 2 units twice a day on ProZinc.
His dry prescription food for preventing bladder stones had to be stopped completely...yet I continued to have him on the prescription wet food. After a full day of having Tyler on the prescription canned food alone, he ALREADY stopped urinating outside the litter box and resumed the normal litter behavior before any insulin.
I think Tyler is in a really good place to be off the juice but I've overzealously pricking his ear every 2 hours for the past 24 hours.
I can't keep this up as the week begins again so I'll be monitoring as much as possible over the remaining weekend...I'm sure there is some sort of standard/"best practice" for how many hours I should check. I'm so tired and sleep deprived at this point that I'm going to take a nap and w/ the hope that there will be great advice that magically appear. Thanks so much for reading.