10/3Michaelam240+5.56+862+11.25 91P103+1 115 +2 137+3 233

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126304

Good Morning & Happy Friday ~O) ~O) ~O)
Michael is in his yellow suit this am. (amps 240) at Least it isn't pink. If he decides to change, Let's hope for blue :!:
This am started him on 2u of insulin.
Big Drop : :?: (amps +5.5 66) He decided to skip blue and go directly to green. He's playing
diabetes monoply :!:
Still in the lagoon. amps + 8 62 +11.25 91. Went back to blue (PMPS 103 +1 115 +2 137)
M decided to sleep in his yellow suit! (pmps + 3 233)
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66

When you see numbers like that you need to keep testing he may have went be low 50
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66

It he is still low at pmps I would not give the 2u, since his nadir was below 200 last night I would not have increased the dose.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66

Paula - Darin is right. If you see a number in the 60's, it's always a good idea to test again 1/2 hour later to see if he's still dropping. You want to catch any drop below 50.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62

Just tested pmps +8 62. I will keep monitoring.
If he is still low @ pmps (50+) should I go back to 1.75u :?:

Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62

I'm not sure what dose you should give, but if you shoot low, you will need to get a +1 +2 feed higher carb food if really dropping, +3, before bed test. Print out and read the "how to handle low numbers" found in the stickies.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62

Copy and paste this into a word document and print it out.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62

And when you added the "big drop info" to your first post, next time do that as a reply, not as an edit to your first post. Otherwise it will not get bumped to the top.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62

On 9/1 an cycle 1.5 took him to 48, I think your insulin was losing potancy. If I were my cat I would go 1.25, but wait to see what dose advisers , either way if he I low at shot time more testing then your normal and possible higher carb food intervention may be needed.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91

I'm confused you have on your SS 11.25 91 but no pmps, on your condo subject line you have pmps 91....
Never mind I see you changed it
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 pmps 103

Thanks. I just tested pmps 103.
Waiting for dose advice. Should I give the 2u or go back to 1.75u :?: . I'm using the new insulin.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

I definitely would not give the 2. On 9/1 1.5 took Michael to 48, so I would not even give 1.75.
I pm Julie to stop by, she was on for a min then gone.
With you only being able to test as late ad +3/4 I would go very easy on the dose. Hopefully someone stops in.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

In your situation Paula, I think it's best to go back to 1.75U. The tricky thing is that the 2.0U you gave this morning may still impact tonight's cycle. Can you stay up later with Michael tonight?
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

Because of her health she is not able to stay up late, let alone do a PJ party. She has never had to deal with low numbers.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

Can you delay 1/2 hour, without feeding, and test again? If he bounces it would be nice to get insulin in him.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

sorry - i got caught on a couple of phone calls.

i agree that since you can't monitor in the evenings, you should make a conservative choice tonight.

As Wendy & Darin have said,

you could reduce your dose,

you can wait until he's coming up and then give it, or

you could just give a small amount to get some insulin into him.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

Thanks.
I just gave a "skinny" 2.0u @6pm (PMPS 103) I was 1/2 hr. late. Would there be a slight dcrease :?:
Also, I think I gave a skinny 2.0 or it could have been 1.75 it is really really hard to see
between the two. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

seems like your insulin was toast - you are definitely getting a response from the new vial.

would you make sure and put in your ss that this was a new vial/pen today? that is helpful information.

can you get a +1 and a +2 as Darin suggested? Michael may just coast along, but let's make sure.

If you have any doubts about being able to stay awake at least through the +2, leave him a LOT of extra food so that if he needs it, it's there. Don't worry about overfeeding him in this circumstance. Leave plenty for him and Lola. They can have a little food-fest if you fall asleep! :-D
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

Giving that much you are going to need to get multiple tests in tonight and be prepared to intervine with higher carb food and stay up later then normal.
Test @ +1 +2 and more testing for Michaels safety.
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

Thanks guys.
I will get a +1, +2, and possibly a +3 and will leave out plenty of food.
BTW I was reading on another post That Manufacturers are allowed 20% difference between the human
meters and the pet meters. What does that mean :?: I'm confused. According to protocol we can use the 30-40% for example; when I was doing the curve for the vet I tooke35% of the # and added it to Relion #.
(350x.35=122.5 so I added 350 & 122 and got 472.)
I don't understand the 20%. Could you give me an example :?:
The post I was reading was Opinions on switching Glueclose meters by EllieKozak.
Julie,
It has taken two days for the new vial to take effect. I started the new vial on 10/1 and didn't see low #'s until today, 10/3. Is this what usually happens when you start a new vial :?: Does it usually take a couple of days to see the effects :?:
Sorry for all the questions. I'm so :?
 
Re: 10/3 Michael amps 240 +5.5 66 +8 62 +11.25 91 PMPS 103 D

it's good to ask questions when you don't get it. don't ever worry about asking too many questions.

personally, i never considered meter variance, except when i looked at a string of numbers, say 190 - 220 - 200 and would say that is basically flat.

What it means is that by law, meters are allowed to have 20% inaccuracies, or variances. So if one drop of blood is tested at 100, the same drop of blood could test at 80 or at 120 and that's ok. The manufacturers don't have to be more accurate than that.

What it means for you, is that you can remember that Michael's +5.5/66 and +8/62 are the same numbers, essentially. He was flat all afternoon. His +11.25/91 and pmps 103 were also essentially the same number.

But as I said, I didn't worry about that. If I saw a +11.25/91 and a pmps of 103, I'd think Michael was rising slightly. So I basically took BG tests at their face value.

What you did to convert your relion numbers for the vet to see in AT is probably accurate enough. I wuoldn't worry about it.

As you get the +1 and +2 and +3 would you put them in your subject line people can see if you have something going on from the main page. Just in case you need help. It should be about +1 now, i think.
 
10/3 Michael am240+5.56+862+11.25 91P103+1 115 +2 137+3 233

Hi again,
I think Michael may be starting s bounce. (pmps + 3 233) Most of the day he was in green and part of the evening in blue.(#'s on his SS) I still will leave food out for him.
Good night all
Thanks for your help.
Paula I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 10/3Michaelam240+5.56+862+11.25 91P103+1 115 +2 137+3 23

Good job today, Paula.

Sometimes on a new dose, especially when the kitty is clearing w bounce, numbers can come down fast and then they can stabilize. I hope thst is Michaels plan for this dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top