10/31Tiny Solé +5:94, +7:95, +9:79, PMPS @ +13.5: 157, +3:116 @11:30pm, +4:138

YESTERDAY

+10: 84 at 5:30 AM
Nice end or start, depending on how you look at it.
That's a wonderful start! Hope she's headed back to the lagoon today! I wish Luci would go along with her...she's a bit high this morning...no rhyme or reason to it...just stubborn I guess...I'm happy when she has a 'blue' day...but it sure would be nice if she'd throw a green my way from time to time...

I start to doubt that she'll ever get regulated when she starts in those yellows... :(
 
Just wanted to mention, when Tiny Sole's bg is in green there isn't a need to give honey, unless she's very low near Hypo. The honey works fast to bring up the bg but won't last too long.
Ravan has gone down into 30's & I've never given Honey I just give him a spoon of Med Carb FF (Gravy Lovers). If he doesn't come up in 20 mins, I give a spoon of High carb Gravy,which always works.
If he didn't come up by then I'd resort to a drop of honey But so far He hasn't ever needed it.
The spoon of med Or high carb food works longer to keep the bg up. Once his bg comes up on the food I have at least 2 hrs to get a bit of sleep. You can check with someone with more experience ,but it's been working for me.:)

Have you read the Yellow sticky note by Dr Pierson Why not to feed dry food? It's really not good for any cat.
 
Just wanted to mention, when Tiny Sole's bg is in green there isn't a need to give honey, unless she's very low near Hypo. The honey works fast to bring up the bg but won't last too long.
Ravan has gone down into 30's & I've never given Honey I just give him a spoon of Med Carb FF (Gravy Lovers). If he doesn't come up in 20 mins, I give a spoon of High carb Gravy,which always works.
If he didn't come up by then I'd resort to a drop of honey But so far He hasn't ever needed it.
The spoon of med Or high carb food works longer to keep the bg up. Once his bg comes up on the food I have at least 2 hrs to get a bit of sleep. You can check with someone with more experience ,but it's been working for me.:)

Have you read the Yellow sticky note by Dr Pierson Why not to feed dry food? It's really not good for any cat.

Hi! At work, so not too much time to reply.
Thanks for info; it's most helpful.
I do know about the dry food and have read the sticky. The Young Again Zero kibble is 1% carb and left out at night for grazing. No one eats more than 1.5 tsp at a time, if that. Our brood gets small meals of moist food throughout the day.
 
Remember she might be in green now because of the depot from the previous shot. Before you decrease the dose again you should ask Wendy or Marje.
I always thought their body needs time to adjust to the new dose? :)
 
She is in the Lagoon! This is the 4th cycle since the reduction. Let's see how it goes from here. :D Drum roll for the PMPS ......will she drop lower in true Tiny fashion?????
 
PMPS: 77 !!! Now what???

And I'm sorry to say that I fed her! :banghead:
Hmm, you fed her so if you can be off with your schedule and have her come up over 90, then shoot and be very vigilant with testing , I would shoot. Test in 30 minutes from the food. I would hold the dose of 1.25 since you just reduced this AM . Back to back reductions usually do not hold.


ETA: Not ideal to feed and bring them up and then shoot when the number rises, but is lieu of the fact that you reduced this AM, I think you might be okay and I don't' want to see you lose momentum.
 
Hmm, you fed her so if you can be off with your schedule and have her come up over 90, then shoot and be very vigilant with testing , I would shoot. Test in 30 minutes from the food. I would hold the dose of 1.25 since you just reduced this AM . Back to back reductions usually do not hold.


ETA: Not ideal to feed and bring them up and then shoot when the number rises, but is lieu of the fact that you reduced this AM, I think you might be okay and I don't' want to see you lose momentum.

Ok, wait...let me get it straight...
She ate, so test to wait for her to come up to 90 and then shoot? Then monitor.

I can be off of my schedule a bit.
So, obviously food will make BG rise, so it won't be an accurate number when I shoot...
 
Like I said in my ETA on post #20, it is not ideal to feed and then have them rise to a shotable number, in your case doing SLGS, 90. But since she just got a reduction this AM, she is still under the influence of the higher dose ( 1.5).


Get a +1 and +2, I will check on you. I will stay up as long as needed to be with you and Tiny.
 
Last edited:
You are following SLGS, don't shoot below 90. The problem with feeding is that if she goes up 30 points to 107, for example, is that because she's naturally rising at the end of the cycle, or because of the food. When the food wears off, she might drop back down again.

How late can you stall and still be OK with your schedule delayed that much? If you can delay, I would wait half an hour test, then another half hour and test so you know if she's continuing to rise after the food bump.
 
Like I said in my ETA on post #20, it is not ideal to fedd and then have them rise to a shotable number, in your case doing SLGS, 90. But since she just got a reduction this AM, she is still under the influence of the higher dose ( 1.5).


Get a +1 and +2, I will check on you. I will stay up as long as I needed to be with you and Tiny.
:bighug:
 
169 at 8 pm, 1 hour after eating.
She ate 2st of FF pate, liver and chicken at 7 pm...such a big rise.

It must be so frustrating dealing with someone like me who barely has any knowledge. It's so much to take in...
 
Then 157 would go in the PMPS cell and then put into the cell with the number @ 13.5. Then we all know that the shot was 1.5 hours late.

Since she is really on the rise, I wouldn't test again until about +3- +4. If she is the same or higher, call it a night.
 
Then 157 would go in the PMPS cell and then put into the cell with the number @ 13.5. Then we all know that the shot was 1.5 hours late.

Since she is really on the rise, I wouldn't test again until about +3- +4. If she is the same or higher, call it a night.

Ok! Woot! THANK YOU for walking me through this.
Since I have issues with my spreadsheet for some odd reason, I put the numbers in dark green and left the cell white.
It seems that when I try to color the cell myself, it ends up pink and the numbers inside it don't show up - a Google issue, so says Marje.

Do I do anything with that 77 @ +12, the 129 @ 7:30 and the 169 @ 8 pm?
 
Ok! Woot! THANK YOU for walking me through this.
Since I have issues with my spreadsheet for some odd reason, I put the numbers in dark green and left the cell white.
It seems that when I try to color the cell myself, it ends up pink and the numbers inside it don't show up - a Google issue, so says Marje.

Do I do anything with that 77 @ +12, the 129 @ 7:30 and the 169 @ 8 pm?
You can stack the 77 into the PM @ +12, then 129 @+12.5 cell along with the 157 @13.5

ETA: Color code to green to reflect the lowest number in the cell.
 
Fun fact for the night...
A Group of Cats is Called a 'Clowder.' Interestingly, there are also two other valid ways to refer to a group of cats, other than just saying “group of cats” or “cats”. Those other two terms are 'clutter' and 'glaring'.

So, a clutter? ...I can see that...it's what my house is like since I haven't had time to clean it with two sick cats! :smuggrin:

And a glaring? ...yes, I can see that too...it's what our cats do when we don't feed them what they want! :woot:

You see, I was trying to think what I should call all of you wonderful people here who are so helpful...I thought to call you a cat "hive" but didn't think the association with cats and bees made sense, so, Ima call all of you a "clutter of cat experts" - because you are!

Feel free to add to it!

I will test tiny at 11:30 PM and 12:30 AM to see where she is.
Will anyone be up if I'm beating my head against the wall?
 
Fun fact for the night...
A Group of Cats is Called a 'Clowder.' Interestingly, there are also two other valid ways to refer to a group of cats, other than just saying “group of cats” or “cats”. Those other two terms are 'clutter' and 'glaring'.

So, a clutter? ...I can see that...it's what my house is like since I haven't had time to clean it with two sick cats! :smuggrin:

And a glaring? ...yes, I can see that too...it's what our cats do when we don't feed them what they want! :woot:

You see, I was trying to think what I should call all of you wonderful people here who are so helpful...I thought to call you a cat "hive" but didn't think the association with cats and bees made sense, so, Ima call all of you a "clutter of cat experts" - because you are!

Feel free to add to it!

I will test tiny at 11:30 PM and 12:30 AM to see where she is.
Will anyone be up if I'm beating my head against the wall?
I knew of Clowder but, I have never hear the other terms! We can be a clutter of Cat Experts. I like that.

I will be up again at around 12:30PM EST to feed Bubba and Forrest and test Bubs. I will look in to make sure all is well. My guess is that she will stay in the blues tonight. :cool:
 
I knew of Clowder but, I have never hear the other terms! We can be a clutter of Cat Experts. I like that.

I will be up again at around 12:30PM EST to feed Bubba and Forrest and test Bubs. I will look in to make sure all is well. My guess is that she will stay in the blues tonight. :cool:

Again, from your lips to god's ears!!!!!

But how about her progress, right?
Every day I'm so thankful to have found this group, and that so many of you who are experienced decided to help us.
Thank you, from all of our hearts.

XOXO, J+K, Tiny Sole, Cookie, Dino and SkeeterBean
 
Back
Top