10/31 Sootie: amps356/341/342,+3/196, +6/156 +11/253 Pmps263 +4.5 224

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can monitor til early afternoon.
Bringing azalea to vet then and will be calling vet to add Sootie. The extremes worry me too. She hasn't been this high since soon after Dx a year ago.

Appy: famished (and came downstairs while I was making their breakfasts) but not eating much.

Just retested on other ear. 342
 
With the numbers started to edge up like that after a long time in good numbers, I would be concerned if there is an underlying cause such as needing a dental or other similar factors. Perhaps a full bloodwork and exam might be in order.

:bighug: :bighug:
 
Sootie may be bouncing this morning. She may have dipped lower than the 127 last night. Or she may be bouncing because she hasn't seen low blues for a little while and she's not used to them. I think you should hold the dose today and see what she does after she clears the bounce. She may need an increase, but I'd hate to see you increase today and have her zoom down if she clears the bounce today.
 
Sootie may be bouncing this morning. She may have dipped lower than the 127 last night. Or she may be bouncing because she hasn't seen low blues for a little while and she's not used to them. I think you should hold the dose today and see what she does after she clears the bounce. She may need an increase, but I'd hate to see you increase today and have her zoom down if she clears the bounce today.
That's probably a good idea.
 
With the numbers started to edge up like that after a long time in good numbers, I would be concerned if there is an underlying cause such as needing a dental or other similar factors. Perhaps a full bloodwork and exam might be in order.

:bighug: :bighug:
Had full B/w and exam and ultrasound a couple weeks ago, two rechecks last week, last week u/a indicating uti, vomited orbax, had convenia inj Friday.
Also tried Mirtz on Friday re appy and stress/depression re Bo's death. Spunky wreaked havoc on Sootie snd the others the night after Bo died, Asked vet last week about redoing b/w, he suggested wait. Well...yes I agree new b/w in order pronto.
 
Sootie may be bouncing this morning. She may have dipped lower than the 127 last night. Or she may be bouncing because she hasn't seen low blues for a little while and she's not used to them. I think you should hold the dose today and see what she does after she clears the bounce. She may need an increase, but I'd hate to see you increase today and have her zoom down if she clears the bounce today.

Possible. Am kicking self for falling asleep through my intended 3-4 am retest and offer of snack.
 
Had full B/w and exam and ultrasound a couple weeks ago, two rechecks last week, last week u/a indicating uti, vomited orbax, had convenia inj Friday.
Also tried Mirtz on Friday re appy and stress/depression re Bo's death. Spunky wreaked havoc on Sootie snd the others the night after Bo died, Asked vet last week about redoing b/w, he suggested wait. Well...yes I agree new b/w in order pronto.


So sorry about your Bo kitty :bighug: :bighug: and the upset from your other kitty.

If you had BW and US done just a few weeks ago, it would be unusual to have something happen that quickly since, although not impossible. It may be a combination of bouncing from a low that wasn't caught and the general upset within the household.
 
Sootie may be bouncing this morning. She may have dipped lower than the 127 last night. Or she may be bouncing because she hasn't seen low blues for a little while and she's not used to them. I think you should hold the dose today and see what she does after she clears the bounce. She may need an increase, but I'd hate to see you increase today and have her zoom down if she clears the bounce today.
Though I could monitor til mid afternoon, I'm feeling like increasing right now might be too much. She's in a rocky boat these days.

Holding at 0.05 makes sense given bounce possibilities. And stupid me sleeping through intended early early recheck. This morning's dose will be I think cycle #5 at 0.05u.
Gonna call vet. Thinking positive not panic...deep breaths... Thank you.
 
Though I could monitor til mid afternoon, I'm feeling like increasing right now might be too much. She's in a rocky boat these days.

Holding at 0.05 makes sense given bounce possibilities. And stupid me sleeping through intended early early recheck. This morning's dose will be I think cycle #5 at 0.05u.
Gonna call vet. Thinking positive not panic...deep breaths... Thank you.


The big change came at the time that Bo passed. I am really leaning towards a stress induced glucose increase personally. Since you are not sure if there was a bigger drop last night IMO holding the dose for at least this cycle would make more sense :bighug:

ETA Sorry I missed the comments about Bo on your spreadsheet the first time I posted. It really seems to be more than a coincidence that this was when the numbers started going bad.
 
Don't beat yourself up about sleeping through the recheck time. You need to take care of yourself to be able to take care of your furbabies. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
The big change came at the time that Bo passed. I am really leaning towards a stress induced glucose increase personally. Since you are not sure if there was a bigger drop last night IMO holding the dose for at least this cycle would make more sense :bighug:

ETA Sorry I missed the comments about Bo on your spreadsheet the first time I posted. It really seems to be more than a coincidence that this was when the numbers started going bad.

Yes I've wondered same, especially now and with your observation. when Sootie's sister Guernsey passed away suddenly last year (cardiac post-thyroidectomy recovery), was when Sootie began to decline and was Dx'd diabetic a month later with bg in 500's. On reflection, that says a lot. And...did vet and I approach this all the wrong at Dx? Can't second guess that now. But Sootie clearly is very sensient and feels everything very deeply.

Did retest at about 7:45am: 342. She's eating in spurts, and in midst of much appreciated input from you all, held off shooting the 0.05 til about 8:15. But did it. And right now she is resting with Bella on bed. Good sign that she's out in the open, not receding in closet.

I called vet; bringing Sootie in this afternoon with Azalea. Plan to retest and offer food snacks periodically (every 3 hrs or so?) til we go to vet.

:bighug::bighug: Thank you.
 
We're home from vet, Sootie's third visit since last Tuesday (I think!).
Good news is that her weight went from 8.5# on Friday to 9.2# today. A lot of Mirtz-induced eating this weekend that's for sure !

He agrees that the Mirtz affected Sootie pretty intensely, consider cutting dose in 1/2 or less and if want to continue using it, just do a dose once weekly on weekends or less. I'm thinking...never say never but....no more Mirtz for awhile...

I'd prefer to find something that can be meal-specific. She likes slippery elm bark powder but I don't think the slippery elm it's quite enough for her iffy appy bouts. No answer to my question about if elevated bp side effect a factor in elevated glucose levels. No b/w today given her phenomenonal weight gain over the weekend, relaxed and engaged behavior today and that the 2nd and 3rd bg's today were good signs. Agrees continue with micro dosing as needed (and was even ok with twice daily...under the circumstances, haha!).

Giving Sootie some time to settle back in at home, dust off the white coat effect, then will test etc. and see what tonight's dose to be....

Azalea's eye same, but not worse. Still feeling positive that she won't lose eye but vision likely will never return. We talked about ways to reintegrate and issues involved.

Thanks again for hanging in there with us , :bighug::bighug: vines for all. Sootie, civvies and Bo (GA) looking forward to tonight's Halloween party, too. :bighug::):bighug:
 
Hope so and vines for all this Halloween.

Sootie's +11 at 7:18pm Est was 253. Didn't eat after 11am wet fud snack other than FD salmon treats. Maybe that and residual vetty bust accounts for the jump back into yellow? She's eating well right now.

My hunch is to retest at pmps ca 8pm and shoot 0.05u at 8pm unless there's mega drop in the next half hour. Or shoot 1/2 hour early while she's still eating even tho the pm would be 11 1/2 hrs from am shot?
 
Sootie's pmps 263 at 8:10pm. Had been eating. After pmps started in on more fud and I shot 0.05u.
Did you shoot 1/2 hr early? If so it's ok, you can move shot time 30 min one cycle so you should be ok. And if it's a better fit you can move it back tomorrow either in two 15 min adjustments, one each cycle or one 30 min adjustment.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Les, HH,
thank you!
I shot at 12 hrs from am shot.
But.....thinking about the change to daylight savings that comes this weekend. Read the thread about ways to transition to that. So probably will try one of those suggestions, which means beginning it a few days ahead.

Past few days seems like sunrise soooo late and sundown soooo early. Everybody wants to eat earlier...even Sootie!

Heading upstairs to check Sootie's bg, do snacky and do azalea's nighttime eye drops.
:bighug::bighug::D:D For Gussie. Was he the flamenco guitarist tonight??

Sina, ED
 
Hi there in this continuing All Hallow's Eve. Sootie home from the party and am glad she felt well enough to go. Tho the broomstick ride home a bit swing and sway due to her sampling the pumpkin spice sangria. Her civvies are taking their time getting home. All saying thank you for this, their most glorious Halloween ever. And The Maine Coon Choir during the Circle of Remembrance, with Bo in the baritone section, was extra special for this family.

Sootie's pm+4.5 at the bewitching hour realm of 12:57am was 224. However, she'd already had a few Minnows. Ate about 1/4 of her new and late slurry snack.

Crossing paws that the 4am recheck is in the blues! And crossing paws that I don't sleep through it again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top