10/31 Smokey PMPS-151, +2-71, +2.5-73, +3-76, +4-66

Status
Not open for further replies.
Marjorie and Gracie said:
I can see it. You doing ok there? Are you sleep testing or still up?

Sienne and Sandy are further east than Julie and I. I'm up and can help you, too.

I am still up. I am nervous to be honest. I am going to test in the next 5 minutes and see what it looks like. I am not sure at what point its safe to sleep. Another concern is when I wake up I have no clue weather to shoot or not depending on the AMPS. Once I shoot in the AM Monday-Friday I go to work for 10-11 hours. :(
 
Ok...one step at a time. It's ok...he's at a very safe number right now. Take a deep breath :-D

Just post when you get the number and I'll look for it and help you.

Insofar as tomorrow morning, the best thing to do is to get a +11 number (one hour before your normal shot time). If it's a number that is lower than what you have shot
before, post it with "Help Please" or something that will catch eyes and someone will help you. There is alot of time between now and then and numbers can change (rise)
quickly towards the end of a cycle.

I can stay up with you until he's on the rise.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Ok...one step at a time. It's ok...he's at a very safe number right now. Take a deep breath :-D

Just post when you get the number and I'll look for it and help you.

Insofar as tomorrow morning, the best thing to do is to get a +11 number (one hour before your normal shot time). If it's a number that is lower than what you have shot
before, post it with "Help Please" or something that will catch eyes and someone will help you. There is alot of time between now and then and numbers can change (rise)
quickly towards the end of a cycle.

I can stay up with you until he's on the rise.

Thank you for your help. +5-76 :-D

Assuming he is at AMPS of 151 or higher I should be ok to give 1u? Am I safe to sleep now?
 
In reality, he's doing what we call "surfing". He's staying at a normal number with no food intervention.

Because you don't have alot of data yet on when his nadir (time of peak action of the insulin) is, would you be able to get up in a couple hours and make sure he's still at this number or higher?

If you get an AMPS of 151 or above, yes, you can just shoot the 1u but you'll need to get a test or so before you leave. Do you shoot early enough that you can get in at least a +2 before you get to work? You can see what
1u does when his PS is around 150. And if you are gone 10-11 hours, that would worry me a bit. Although I know Sandy and Sienne believe the HC food will keep his numbers up.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
In reality, he's doing what we call "surfing". He's staying at a normal number with no food intervention.

Because you don't have alot of data yet on when his nadir (time of peak action of the insulin) is, would you be able to get up in a couple hours and make sure he's still at this number or higher?

If you get an AMPS of 151 or above, yes, you can just shoot the 1u but you'll need to get a test or so before you leave. Do you shoot early enough that you can get in at least a +2 before you get to work? You can see what
1u does when his PS is around 150. And if you are gone 10-11 hours, that would worry me a bit. Although I know Sandy and Sienne believe the HC food will keep his numbers up.

I have to be at work at 7am. I typically shoot at 6am and getting a +1 or +2 is not really a possibility. :(

If he is at 120 like he was this morning should I skip the am shot again? I may have to wait until this weekend before I can get hourly readings for a full 12 hours.

I would rather be safe than sorry with my long work days.
 
just want to say you did a great job tonight!

one of the things i've learned that it is hard to predict a head of time because the information between now and then helps make decisions, if that makes sense.

we have 3 basic tactics if the number you see at preshot is less than 150. mostly for new people we just say to skip the shot. some people will even say if it's under 200 to skip the shot, especially when no one will be home to monitor the kitty.

so skipping the shot is an option.

a second option is to wait 30 minutes and test again, then decide on that number. if it's risen enough that you feel comfy, then you can shoot it. it becomes your preshot number.

a third option is to give a partial dose, say 1/2 of your usual.

the thing is you have a lot of low numbers.

my gut feeling would be that if you see a 150 or less, skip the shot. the ideal situation would be for you to test at +11 and post that number to get advice at the last minute. to me, though, knowing that you're going to be gone for 11-12 hours without anyone to test, if i were uncertain at all i'd skip.

just clarifying, are you shooting at 7pm tonight but 6am tomorrow morning?
 
i personally would be loathe to shoot 1 unit again but that's just me :-) do you think you could eyeball a lesser amount? see what the consensus is when you get up in the morning maybe before doing anything?
 
You have to feel comfortable with what you are doing. If you cannot be home to monitor and you will worry all day, then you can skip if he has a low AMPS. He may very well "bounce".....his numbers may come up. Kitties bounce because the liver senses a number lower than what it is used to and releases glucagon and counterregulatory hormones to bring the number up to where the liver feels "safe". So you may see some higher numbers by morning. It's difficult to tell since you don't have much data yet.

You can always give a reduced dose.....say .25u ...just something to keep some insulin in his shed so you aren't totally draining it.

On the crystals issue...do you have access to an holistic vet? There are some very good herbs to keep crystals at bay so you can feed a high quality diet. Passwan is one of those herbs. I have a cat who was prone to crystals and he gets an herb called "crystal stone" but you can't buy it directly....you have to get it through an holistic vet. As Sienne said, avoiding diets with by-products and fish helps. C/D is pretty much garbage food...sorry.
 
I try to shoot every 12 hours exactly but I am usually + or - 60 minutes. I have a social eater kitty. If I do not sit with him while he eats he won't eat. He is also a big licker of his food and not a biter or grabber so it takes 30-45 minutes to eat. So for those reasons its really hard to shoot exactly every 12 hours on the dot.
 
If you want to get anywhere with lantus, you need to shoot the 12s.....that means shoot every 12 hours. Lantus does not onset for 2-3 hours generally....depending on the kitty. Every Cat is Different...ECID. But you can shoot and put his food down and let him eat it over the next 30-45 minutes. But you're going to have issues with stability on his numbers if you don't shoot absolutely as close as possible to every 12 hours.
 
I am off to bed. I will see what his AM BG is and make a decision from there. I will update my chart in the morning and also post here as to what I do or don't do in the morning. I would rather be safe than sorry seeing that I can't be here to monitor him. Thank you all for your help, time, and patience. I REALLY appreciate it!!!!!!!!
 
ok, that's a good bit of information to know. cats do have their little lovable quirks, don't they?!? gotta love them! :lol:

if you are shooting early, it's like a little bit of a dose increase. if you shoot at more than 12 hours, it's like a bit of a decrease. you have about a 30 minute window either direction that really seems to not matter too much. so i try to hit 7/7, but if consider 6:30-7:30 to not affect BG too much. just a bit of information for you.

edited to add - i see marj's answer there - this is probably one of those every cat is different things. i do aim for shots 12 hours apart and we get that 98% of the time. but i don't see much difference in punkin's #s if we are not quite on it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top