10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 +3 401 +4 185 +5 166 (home from vet!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
Talked with the vet on the phone this morning before going over for visiting hours; he said Shylo was relatively the same overnight, and at this point we're just sort of waiting for his blood work from today to determine if his liver values have come down at all so we can figure out the best course of treatment at home.

I ended up staying for over an hour, had to visit him in ICU again as he was hooked up to some medication in his IV. Techs said he refused to eat for them (again), but he perked up the minute I pulled back the towel over his kennel and opened the door. I literally had to have him eat out of the palm of my hand (he didn't want to eat out of the little paper bowls, of course), but after an hour of work he ate about a half of a small can of Instinct Rabbit. I know once he's home that he'll eat just fine, and I'm pretty sure the techs have passed this all on to the vet as well lol.

I had a thought that I wanted to check with you guys- is it possible that if Shylo were somehow ingesting the neosporin ointment that this could have potentially caused some of this? Dr. Cooper said that the way his liver was reacting was also symptomatic of poisoning from something like xylitol or acetaminophen, and this morning the thought crossed my mind that the pain relievers in that ointment could potentially have an adverse reaction? Shylo tends to wash his face not long after I poke for blood, and he definitely smears the ointment around because it leaves gunk on his forehead... which means that he's getting it on his paw when he washes over his ear, and then licking it. I didn't think I've been using that much of it, but do you guys think this is a possibility?

Mostly just thinking out loud, since I really don't know what else he could have possibly gotten himself into.

Either way, he's more than likely coming home today as I literally can't afford for him to stay another night at the vet, ahaha. Poor baby has pretty much bled me dry for money at this point. P:
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

Hi Emily:

Interesting theory about the Neosporin. Did you ask the vet about it? It certainly sounds feasible. I often wonder about kitties ingesting things they wash off themselves.

Sending lots of healing and appy vines for Shylo. I know you will be glad to have him back home with you.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

I called the vet right after I got back, just waiting for him to return the call. It's really the only thing that he could have eaten in my apartment since my roommate and I also have ferrets and therefore keep the floors clean and any stuff like that well out of reach and closed tightly (if there's any creature more inquisitive than a cat, it's a ferret).

Sleeping with no cat in your bed is really hard, hahaha. The sooner he comes home, the better.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

It sounds like a possibility. The ingredients in Neosporin with Pain Relief is as follows:

Bacitracin - first aid antibiotic
Neomycin - first aid antibiotic
Polymyxin - first aid antibiotic
Pramoxine - external analgesic

The only inactive ingredient is white petrolatum.

I hope that the vet calls soon about your question. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

My vet does Nutrition Response Testing (NRT) and when she tested the neosporin against Gracie's liver, it weakened her liver. In other words, Gracie's liver didn't "like" it. So we quit using it. Her ALT still came back up after we quit using it (again, I think the Vit E is crucial for Gracie), but Wendy/Neko sent us some polysporin with pain relief (it has a different analgesic) and our vet did NRT with Gracie's liver and it did not weaken her liver.

My philosophy with cats is "never say never". And with potential toxins and the liver, I think it's always possible. It depends on how much he ingests, too, or maybe he doesn't have to ingest that much but because his GI system is already a bit sensitive, perhaps it affects him differently.

Sending many more healing vines today.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

Piling on some healing vines for Shylo. I hope things turn around for him.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

Quick update; Shylo is home now, I had to head into work for a couple hours so I'll make a more detailed post when I get home tonight!
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

More healing vines. Glad Shylo is home and I bet he is too.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo (still at vet, maybe home later)

i'm so glad he's home! you'll sleep better tonight.

good question about the ointment with pain relief. seems hard to imagine it would be enough to give him symptoms of poisoning, but as marje said "never say never" with these cats. you might try leaving it off and seeing how he does without it. I know that people don't recommend the teething numbing formulas for cats. I'm not sure if there is a substitute. Perhaps the one that Wendy sent is available online for you to try.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

I'm so glad Shylo is home! Continuing to send healing prayers...and very, very interesting about the neosporin theory. ECID, so you never really know!!
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

Wahoo! So glad your little boy is home for you tonight. :-D :-D :-D :-D

The Polysporin Complete with pain relief is only available in Canada, just like Neosporin with pain relief is only available in the US. :roll: The difference between the two is that Polysporin uses Bacitracin instead of Neomycin as an antibiotic and Lidocaine as the analgesic. You can get a basic Polysporin in the US (without pain relief) that does not have Neomycin, which some are allergic to.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

Ok, so now that I'm home from work I can sit and actually type what I need to. P:

I asked the vet about the neosporin and he said he didn't think it could be that, but I think I'll try without it for a while and see if that makes a difference. I think this vet is still pretty set on it potentially being diet related as on his discharge notes he wrote to "continue current diet" (meaning the canned he was eating at the vet). I'm really pretty doubtful that it's raw-related, but I'll humor him I guess and try the canned... Shylo is not too happy about that, though haha. I put down dinner and he looked at me like "really, mom? this is not my dinner and you know it." He's eating it now though, I crumbled some freeze dried Primal over it and he went to town.

The blood work came back with dramatic improvement; his ALT dropped to 774 (from 2465), AST to 103 (from 1818) and ALP to 72 (from 159). his GGT and bilirubin returned to normal ranges as well. The vet said this supported the diagnosis of acute liver insult (something pissing off the liver, basically), but it doesn't determine the cause (toxin, temporary obstruction, infection, etc). While he was at the vet they had him on intravenous fluids, N-acetylcysteine, metronidazole + unasyn, famotidine, and anzemet (typing off the discharge notes here).

They sent him home with clavamox (1.3mL) and metronidazole (1mL) twice daily, and want to see him again in 7-10 days to recheck his liver values again.

So basically, yes something upset his liver but we have no idea what it was. P:

Dinner has disappeared (mostly), so it's time to go shoot and then get the other medication into him... it's gonna be a heck of a time doing antibiotics again, haha. He hated both of these after his original surgery.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

Forgot to add that the vet noted that there was some debris in the neck of the gallbladder and the bile duct, but there was no sign of obstruction... so that's good, at least! I was terrified they were going to have to open him up again to clear that out, phewwwwww.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

I'm so glad Shylo is home and that his BW showed such improvement. That's great news!!! Could it have been a bad batch of food? Just shooting in the dark.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

When he first threw up I wondered if it had been the food, but I tossed what was left of that right then and since then have been through different bags and even brands? Which is why I'm so reluctant to believe that it's actually the food (especially from a vet who has expressed distrust of a raw diet in general before, haha).
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 (home from vet!!)

I don't know enough to comment on the diet but am really glad his blood work has improved so much! That's great news.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 +3 401 (home from vet!!)

Bummed for Shylo's first red mark on his SS though. ): Hopefully that's not something that's going to keep happening. If I get another reading like that tomorrow do you think it's worth it to increase the dose?
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 +3 401 (home from vet!!)

Without any data from the cycles when Shylo was at the vet, it's hard to say if this is a bounce from a low number (needs less insulin) or if he needs more insulin. I'd be inclined to gather a bit more data before deciding to make a change. Is the Clavamox a liquid? Often those are done in syrups. :roll: That could be impacting the numbers.
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 +3 401 (home from vet!!)

Good point, Wendy, totally makes sense. They gave me the bottle of powdered clavamox and had me add water to it at home, so I'm actually not sure if there's syrupy stuff in there from the powder mix. I'll give him a couple days and see what he does. P:
 
Re: 10/31 Shylo PMPS 309 +3 401 +4 185 (home from vet!!)

Welp, Shylo back to his old antics. Checked his BG on a whim before I was going to crawl back into bed and looks like he decided to dive right back down into the blues... thanks, buddy. P:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top