? 10/31 River AMPS: 71 (unusually low, WTF)

Paigeworthy

Member Since 2018
Morning everyone!
Took River to the vet last night and got her B12 and metronidazole as recommended. Her PMPS was spiky ( after the anxiety of being at the vet. I gave her first B12 shot, first dose of metro (she looooooved that, not), and 1 unit Lantus per usu.
This morning her AMPS was 71.
Uhhhhh…why, cat?
I'm going to check her again after breakfast and obviously will not be giving her the morning dose if she keeps up like this.
giphy.gif
 
She just had a DKA 10 days ago so we generally don't recommend a NS. I hope someone more experienced with DKA will be along.
 
For what it's worth, the vet last night after reviewing her numbers mentioned that she was not "fully ketotic" during that episode. I know it's still something to watch very closely.
 
I see she's 114 at +1. If you have lots of test strips, carby supplies, and can monitor, I suggest you try 1 u. If you were following SLGS you'd reduce to 0.75 u right now though. Under TR you'd give 1 u. Your call. Others should be along soon. :)
 
So, this is only the second full day she's been on Lantus. Her new vet just recommended that I skip this morning's dose and my head is going to explode.
 
So i think I'm pretty committed to doing TR — I work from home and can watch her so closely. I gave her 1u 2 hours late. We'll see what happens.
 
So i think I'm pretty committed to doing TR — I work from home and can watch her so closely. I gave her 1u 2 hours late. We'll see what happens.
Did anyone explain how to walk back the shot times if you shoot late? You have to shoot 12 hours from now for PMPS, then tomorrow either 30 minutes a day or 15 minutes per cycle. It will take you 4 days to get back to your original time unless one of the later times work better for you. Do read the post about how to handle the time change on Sunday.
 
Did anyone explain how to walk back the shot times if you shoot late?
No — I actually have asked about this in the general health forum. I'm usually headed to sleep around 9:15 p.m. (#oldlady) so looking forward to getting her back on a regular schedule, but I don't intend to rush it!
Thanks, Mandy, and I will seek out the post about the time change, too! xoxo
Rex's OTJ party vid was SO CUTE <3
 
Back
Top