10/31 Red AMPS 120 +1 112 +2 95 +3 81 +4 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

kathpj

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,
I cant work out how to link yesterdays post yet, but please can someone advise if I should shoot normal 0.5 AM dose now?
Thanks Kath
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 135. Do I shoot?

Hi Kath-
I noticed you had 2 condos open yest. Here they are. Remember to just open one condo a day. :smile:
10-29 condo#1
10-29 condo#2

Hopefully someone will be along to give dosing advice.

Hang in there. You are doing good!
Karen
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 135. Do I shoot?

Kath

Do you have any more tests for last night so I can tell if he's rising or dropping?
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 135. Do I shoot?

Have you fed? If not, how long can you stall to see if he's coming up? My guess is he is but I also thought he was coming up last night and he wasn't.

Do you have supplies like plenty of test strips, HC food, syrup/honey and are you going to be there to test him today?
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 135 +30mins 139 Do I shoot?

he has been eating since AMPS.
Yes have supplies and am going to be in today.
I am now 40 mins past normal shot time
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 135 +30mins 139 Do I shoot?

Kath

You can take off the 911. I'm watching you. Did you see my last post? If you could please change the subject line to read +12 135 +12.5 139

If you can let me know about supplies, stalling, and if you can test, then I can help you with shooting, ok?
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 Do I shoot?

Ok...when we stall, we don't feed unless they are really low (like in the 40s and haven't come up). How much has he eaten and was it just 30 mins ago?

How long can you stall? I need to be sure he's past a food spike.

So..the 135 number...he'd already eaten?
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 Do I shoot?

he has food left out overnight and tends to eat it early am, or they wake us up!!
So I am guessing yes had eaten before the 135
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 Do I shoot?

It's best to pull the food up at +10 so we know for certain you aren't shooting a food spike. Do you have a recent test now?

Here are the options:
1. stall until he rises and then shoot .5u
2. skip

We also can shoot a reduced dose but since you've stalled, it serves as a reduction so we don't typically do both. Also, normally I would stay with you all day but I'm not able to do it today. We have appointments. There are other people around who can help you and if you read the "Handling Low Numbers" link in my signature, it will tell you how to bring him up with food if he goes low and when to test.

IMHO, if he's up at next test, I'd shoot but it has to be your decision.
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 Do I shoot?

Hi Kath. I just wanted to give some directions I used when first learning to link the previous days condo. Hopefully they'll help.
Have a great day and I'm sure Red will do fine. You're in good hands.
Posting Yesterday's Condo on Today's Condo's first post
The way to make a fancy link is as follows:
1. Pull up the previous day’s condo

2. Copy the address of the link from the top of your browser

3. Then return to the Tight Regulations Page and click on the NEW TOPIC button on the top left above the first posts
(If you are putting yesterdays condo to a message you have already posted go to the message and click on edit and
continue with these instructions)

4. At the top you will see several icons such as 911, a candle, rainbow, OTJ etc. Below them is the subject line. Put your subject beginning with the date (mm/dd) and your cats name then enter the numbers as you have been doing

5 Below the subject line are some tabs such as Quote, Code & URL etc. Click on URL

6. [url] will appear in white box belo... and place the condo link below your message.
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 Do I shoot?

Hi,
I just retested: so +13.5 = 120.
Stalling is prob the easiest option for me now but maybe not the best for Red??
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 +13.5 120 Do I shoot?

Looks like the food might be starting to wear off. Here are my thoughts:

1. he's dropping but if you shoot .5u now, you can feed and bring his numbers up and then continue to feed the cycle as you test
2. the stalling you've done will serve as a reduction for him
3. if you stall more, he's likely to keep dropping to the point where you won't feel safe to shoot.

So it's your decision. There are plenty of people around to help....if you shoot this number, then you must feed him a good portion of LC, then you must get a +1 and +2. If he's still dropping at +1, post for help.

What do you think?
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 +13.5 120 Do I shoot?

Hi Marje,
I have just shot 0.5 dose and he is now eating LC normal food.
I will retest at +1 and +2.
I don't know how to deal with the no food after +10 as they will jump on the bed and wake us up all night if no food!! and with 4 kids, sleep is necessary!
I need to get Red into a routine asap as from sun 4th I am not around so much for 7 days and my husband and 15 year old will be taking over.
You have a wonderful understanding of all this, I can't thank you enough.
Fingers crossed for today.
Kath & Red
 
Re: 10/31 Red +12 135 +12.5 139 +13.5 120 Do I shoot?

Thanks, Kath. You'll get there and you are doing fine. We can work on the upcoming issue later.

If you shot at +13.5, then you can change the subject line to be 10/31 Red AMPS 120.

In order to get back on schedule since you shot 1.5 hours late, you can shoot early 15 mins each cycle until you are back to your normal time or 30 mins one cycle per day (the a.m. cycle) until you are back on schedule. OK?

Again....post if you need help.

paws crossed for a nice flat cycle.
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 120 +1 112 +2 95

+2 is 95.
Tried to get him to eat but didn't want any, will keep encouraging him to. Guess I'll be doing a +3!!
 
Re: 10/31 Red AMPS 120 +1 112 +2 95 +3 81

+3 81. didn't want to eat. try again in a minute
 
+4 is 79. He did eat something before going to lie down.
Apart from keep checking his BG levels how do you tell he is having a hypo when he's lying down sleeping??? Each cat will surely have a different level when it gets dangerous?
 
Nice shooting today and what a great cycle! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Marje told you how to get back on schedule, but just how important is your shot time for work?

i ask because this weekend Daylight Savings time ends and you will need to move the shot time back again starting Thur. If you can deal with the hour late shooting time for the rest of the week, you just need to regain half an hour..
 
+7.5 is 94.
Fortunatly, I am in New Zealand so we have already moved to daylight saving at the beginning of Oct. At least I won't have that to contend with!
I will move the shot times back by 15 mins at both ends as Marje suggests. The prob with shot times is if it gets too late in the evening when I shoot I can't do many BG tests before I really have to get to bed as I am studying full time.
I do have an issue with am shot as I explained earlier today I have to leave food down overnight and picking it up at +10 means (on the old schedule) picking it up at 5am, which Im afriad will not be happening!!! How long after eating is the optimum time to give the shot?
Im not sure that I will be able to do everything perfectly for Red but will do what I reasonably can.
Hope you can help with my questions, I may need advice if still low at pm shot.
Thanks
kath & Red
 
Kath

Good job today. We can only do the best we can do. If you can't pick up the food overnight, then you just need to be aware when you shoot in the mornings that you could be shooting a food spike. It might not be so critical when he's high but if he's low and you have to go to work, it could be become one. We might have to have you drop the dose back so you can safely shoot him twice a day.

But let's see how he does, ok? We usually say no food two hours before shot time. Perhaps a compromise is if you leave out super low carb food like boiled chicken breast. That would not affect his PS numbers too much.

Just post his +11 tonight, ok?
 
Most of us test, feed, and shoot within minutes. I test Gabby, put her in front of her food, and while she's got her face in her bowl, she gets her shot. I'm done in under 5 min. There are some types of insulin where you need to have fed your cat prior to giving a shot. Those kinds of insulin have a very short time before onset. With Lantus, you have a little more flexibility in that on average, onset begins at +2.
 
Kath

I don't think I'm going to make it to your PMPS...I have to work tomorrow and need to get to bed. I see he's going up. I will send a PM to Jane to check in with you ok?
 
Hi Jane,
So sorry I couldn't get to the computor earlier.
I did PMPS it was 131. I shot 0.5unit, +1 was 151. +2 was 158. ? I did a fur shot?
We will see what it is in the mornig I guess.
Thanks for being there for us, I have to go to bed now, good night
cheers,
Kath
 
Just wanted to pop in and say hello. Red's numbers look good. I believe I posted some steps to adding the previous days condos earlier but I might not have. If you are still having problems they might help. If I didn't post them send me a PM and I'll post them. It took me several days before I got it down. Have a great day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top