10/31 PurrFace PMPS-Skipped +1/70 +3/151 +6.5/384

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
Thank you Karen for catching that. I wasn't thinking.

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC

PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76

Love it....."Under Construction" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ok...let's try one tsp of LC and see you at +3 ok?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76

Thanks Ann but a great deal of the credit goes to Marje. She's been an excellent instructor!
Or "rog that"
LOL That's pilot in the cockpit talk!
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76

Just checked the mail. You know you're getting old when you get a letter in the mail and the envelope is stamped in big letters with "FREE PRE-PAID CREMATION AVAILABLE FOR YOU NOW". Since I've always like getting my hands dirty I think I'll throw this one away.

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC
+3/69
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69

How about 2 tsp LC for PurrFace? I hope he appreciates all these fuds courtesy of auntie marje! See you in one hour.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69

Sounds good and he definitely appreciates it. HE IS HUNGRY!
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61

He's been dropping about 7 numbers each hour since +2. Is this a surf? If he goes to his old way of doing it he should hit his nadir around the +6 but then he hasn't stuck to his original plan for a while. More food for him now or wait?

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC
+3/69 Fed 2 teaspoons LC
+4/61
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61

It's a surf if we aren't feeding the curve. I was hoping by giving him the LC, we could get him up to surf. Usually when you see the numbers not drop, its a surf. His latest test could be meter variation but I actually think he's dropping.

If he's doing ok with the fud and since he likes to nadir a little later, I'd give him 2-3 tsp LC and see if we can get him on the surfboard. :-D

I think he is coming down slowly enough that we can give him another hour. Are you all ok with that?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61

Yes, Give him 2-3 teaspoons of LC and test in an hour. That will be +5.5
Thank you
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61

No problem, I appreciate the assistance and I know you're busy.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61

Hi John, PurrFace is sure giving you plenty of excitement! He is definitely on a mission :mrgreen: . I just caught up on your last condo and was looking at your spreadsheet now Google drive just started acting up, spooky @-) . Hope PF surfs for you, and you and your DW can get a break.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61

Thanks for dropping in Sheri and Leslie. Yes he has been putting me and poor Marje through our paces today. My spreadsheet was acting funny yesterday. My browser was ie8 on XL. I downloaded a second browser Mozilla Firefox and the spreadsheet works a lot better with it. No jumping or delays. I left ie8 as my primary browser and just open Mozilla when I'm on FDMB.
Hope you both have a great evening.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +5.5/81 +4/61

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC
+3/69 Fed 2 teaspoons LC
+4/61 Fed 3 teaspoons LC
+5.5/81
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +5.5/81 +4/61

Ok...surf now big guy! No food...how about a test at +6.5 and if he's still up or flat, give him a break?

Eta...actually maybe we could give him a break until +7? He's been getting a lot of tests today think we can trust him? :-D
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81

He's smiling so I guess we can trust him. +7 will be great. See you at +7.
Thanks Marje
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81

You're welcome! You all have done really super today ESP with that start :lol:
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC
+3/69 Fed 2 teaspoons LC
+4/61 Fed 3 teaspoons LC
+5.5/81 No Food
+7/98
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +

Super on the +7. I'm thinking a +9 and +11.

Alternatively, he is coming up so you could possibly just do a +10. What is your comfort level?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +

A +10 would be better for me because of all of the Halloween kids but if it's best for him to a +9 & a +11 I can do that.
Let's just go with the +10 if that is ok. And NO FOOD correct?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +

Ok...+10 and NO FOOD :-D

How fun....we don't get trick/treaters. Our neighborhood is small but everyone is on at least an acre of mostly native desert...no sidewalks, no street lights, and lots of javelina and rattlesnakes as well as a bobcat or two. We live down a private road. I miss the kids and handing out candy. Have fun!

Great day!
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +

thanks Marje...NO Food and do a +10 see you then
We usually get at least 100 kids.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace AMPS 53 +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile 100 kids? WOW!

See you at +10....I will try to be awake :lol: :lol: JK...I will be.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

He hid under the guest bed tonight. Right in the middle up against the wall. He didn't want his ear stuck again. He tested +10/82
10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC
+3/69 Fed 2 teaspoons LC
+4/61 Fed 3 teaspoons LC
+5.5/81 No Food
+7/98 No Food
+10/82
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Hmmm....perhaps he cannot be trusted! Looks like he might be thinking about a second dip.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

I just to DW I think he is headed down again. He started to hide after the 28th when he got all of those sticks. Tonight he was on the sofa with us until approximately 10 minutes before testing then we couldn't find him. He went into the guest bedroom and went under the bed. When I tried to get him he went to the middle and up against the wall. Had to turn the vacuum cleaner on to get him to come out. He hates that. That's when I mentioned to DW that he probably is going to be testing lower. He was acting out of character.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Maybe you should test him at +11....do you think he will go for that?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

He won't like it but I can do it. If he is still headed down at midnight, shot time, do you think it would be better to skip or am I getting ahead of the game at this point?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Let's see how he does. You don't have to test him at +11.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Just wait until pre-shot test then correct?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

It's up to you. It would be good to know how much he's coming back down but he's had alot of tests today and might have more tonight if you shoot. You are there with him so it's your call. There's nothing we would do unless he dropped into the 40s.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

I closed the doors to the bedrooms so he can't get under the beds. I got him and put him with me in the computer room. He's purring now. If you think it's ok not to test for an hour then I'll wait until midnight at his pre-shot test. I'll go with your decision.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Unfortunately, my crystal ball is rented out tonight. From looking at his SS, he doesn't seem to be one who drops alot between +10 but never say never. It's one of those times that you have to ask....what will I gain?

If he's dropping, you'll find out how fast going into PMPS. If he drops to the 40s, we can feed to get him up like this morning. But if he's flat, we don't do anything and let him surf into PMPS.

Based on the data you do have, I might take the gamble and just wait until +11.75. If he's in the 40s again, you might think about skipping so you can all take a break and you can get back on your normal shot time.

What do you think?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

I'm sorry for tossing that one back to you. I need to decide as you said. I think we'll go with the Pre-Shot test at midnight. I just looked and he's had 56 sticks in the last 83 hours so that's more than half the time he was stuck. I hope that will work for you.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

If we do skip how often do I need to test him throughout the night. I'm assuming if we skip he can get feed, is that correct?
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Hi Rhiannon, yes he's given us quite a ride again today. I hope Shadow enjoyed his party.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

You didn't put it back on me. You don't know the options. It's an ECID thing. When Gracie is running in normal numbers, she will drop 40 mg/dl between +10 and +12. I'd say it's the lev but she did it on lantus, too. So I am a little gun shy :lol: :lol: :lol:

Worse scenario really is you skip and feed him. I think as long as you get a couple of rising numbers, you'll be ok if you skip or you might set an alarm and get up in a few hours but let's see what he is in an hour.

eta: you know, John. If you are all exhausted, even if he's in the 80s, it's not a crime if you skip. He's doing great but sometimes you gotta think about yourselves!
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Yes. your numbers today look a lot like hers did.
It's been a great day.... she had a bunch of raw shrimp to celebrate. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

Thanks Marje, I'll do the +11.75 test and we will go from there. My only concern with skipping is that the depot will drain and we'll have to do an increase. Thanks again and I'll see you at +11.75. I really appreciate you staying up with us.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

If you skip, and the depot empties some, that doesn't necessarily mean you'd have to increase again. Some cats, especially right after a reduction, will take a few cycles where the depot from the old dose is still having an effect on the numbers, because it hasn't "caught up with the dose reduction" yet.

I'm not saying that you should skip. Only that sometimes skipping makes sense, and may help the depot come down into line with the current reduced dose.

At least that's the way I understand it. Marje, is that accurate?

Carl
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +1/83 +2/76 +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10

The depot from a dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles. For most cats, it's 3-4. There has been a little depot draining with a short stall today but not a significant drain. If you skip, it's hard to know how long the depot will take him through....it could be until he gets the next shot or you could see his numbers start up later in this cycle.

Sometimes when cats are zooming down the dosing scale (like Tip was the other day), we will have them skip so the caregiver can get ahead of the depot. I don't see PurrFace there BUT sometimes you skip because you need the rest. If he pfizzles, he was going to anyways and you can take him back up.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10/82 +11.75/

Looking over this I noticed that he has only had 10 teaspoons of food this cycle. Could that be a reason he is dropping?

10/30 RECAP
PMPS. 203
+2/231
+7.75/66
+10/46
+10.25/47
+10.5 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+10.75/48 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
+11.5/47 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC - AM shot due in 30 minutes
+12/49 Fed 1 teaspoon of LC
AMPS/53 Fed 1 teaspoon HC with reduced shot (1.25U)
+1/83 No Food
+2/76 Fed 1 teaspoon LC
+3/69 Fed 2 teaspoons LC
+4/61 Fed 3 teaspoons LC
+5.5/81 No Food
+7/98 No Food
+10/82 No Food
+11.75/64
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10/82 +11.75/

John

It's your call whether to shoot or skip. There is nothing wrong with needing a break. You've been pushing it up ...you and Donna both. PurrFace might see higher numbers but, because of the depot, he will have a residual amount of insulin in him until you shoot tomorrow morning.

And I have learned to be a firm believer in not getting too attached to a dose. Meaning, if you have to take him up, it just means he needs more insulin. You give it to him, he comes back down at some point.

It's for you and Donna to decide but I wanted you to know that it's OK if you need to take a breath and get some sleep. You can shoot at 10 tomorrow so you will be set to shoot at 9 on Sunday.

If you decide to shoot, I will stay with you until Jane comes on and if she doesn't, I can sleep in between your tests. I've gotten good at it :-D

Eta: you can also shoot a reduced dose but you will need to test more than skipping.
 
Re: 10/31 PurrFace +3/69 +4/61 +5.5/81 +7/98 +10/82 +11.75/

I'm going to skip the shot Marje. How much can he eat now. He is really hungry. When do I need to test him again during the night?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top