10/31 Luci AMPS - 244 Update w/x-ray

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Wednesday

I'm up early today to check on Luci. She seems to be feeling better and has chosen the quilt room/guest room as her recovery suite. We had her all set up in the dining room in a huge box (a chest freezer box) complete with all essentials overnight but she doesn't care for it so made her way to the guest room where I will set up all of her accommodations this morning.

She was purring while I petted her and doesn't appear to be in pain - although her pupils are very large so I know she's upset or possibly in pain. At least she seems relaxed and comfortable at the moment.

We didn't get home from the vet and pharmacy (they were delayed on getting her Gaba filled)...until 2+ 8 p.m. our time so we were very late getting any insulin in. Thanks to @Chris & China (GA) for the suggestion to give a reduced dose - just in case. Now we're playing catch up over the next few days and then with the time change on Sunday (while we're on the road)...it'll be challenging to try to figure it out at all..plus pain meds in the afternoon.

Here is her x-ray from yesterday - the broken bones are in her foot - I said 'leg' yesterday..mistakenly - and below is a pic of the patient this morning. The vet said it appears that she hit her foot on something when she fell. I've examined the area again - there were no ties in the blind cords, nothing apparent that she fell on...but whatever it was, it was a bad landing...I just wish I knew what so I could change it...needless to say she won't be jumping up there anytime soon. I feel crushed by this event...wish there was something I could have done to have prevented this. :arghh::arghh:

Thank you for your well wishes and prayers.:bighug::bighug: I do believe in the power of this group of kind people!:bighug::bighug:

Luci_x-ray-copy.jpg




LuciCast1.jpg
 
How traumatic. Probably more so for you. :bighug:

She looks good. Glad she found a nice place to settle where she is comfy.

When do you travel to FL?

Yes, I'm so upset...I need to focus on getting ready for this trip...but it's hard to think of anything except Luci right now...

We're leaving on Saturday morning...looking forward to getting back to the warmth...it's rained all day yesterday...cold, grey and supposed to change to snow tonight with blustery winds...time to go!
 
I hope Luci is feeling better this morning after her fall from yesterday and will have a quick recovery in Sunny Florida. Sorry you are going through this and especially when you are traveling. But with your love and tender care all will be good and Luci will be back to herself in no time.

Accidents happen and sometimes there is nothing that we can do to prevent them. You are there for her and she knows that you love her and will take good care of her as well:bighug:
 
More prayers for our dear Luci. Sue, I would feel bad too - that's our job to feel bad when a little one gets hurt. You did a fantastic job getting emergency care, and Luci should be fine! She is dressing so cute for Halloween too!! You are a great mama Sue:bighug:
 
Accidents happen. I had a civvie who one morning sat in front of me holding her paw up and crying. Found out it was broke. Had no idea what happened. Vet said she probably landed wrong. They just let it be, not even a splint.

What you might do is put something else that is shorter by the shelf or window sill or wherever she fell from, to act as a step for her to use. Or create a series of steps. PJ was always falling as she learned how to maneuver the sills with 3 1/2 legs. A few concussions and sore hips to say the least. She mastered it.

Luci will love the sun when you get to Florida. The ride will be good resting time for her.
 
I had a civvie who one morning sat in front of me holding her paw up and crying.
:( Awww.

Frankie did a back-flip off his 7' kitty condo and tried to catch himself on the way down. He landed wrong and sat looking at me with his paw in the air. I tired to look at it but he bit me and took off running (playful) - so was pretty sure he was ok. Never limped - just sat there with his paw up for a couple of min. SMH - these cats.
 
Poor Luci and poor you, my heart goes out to you, I can imagine how badly you feel. :( It will all work out Sue, just keep being the great Mama that you are. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sweet little girl is looking good ! You'll see in not so long, she'll try to run !! :)
We always feel so guilty when something happens to our kitties but you could not have prevented this! As Carla said, you can't control a cat whatever you do !!
You have a lot of things to take care right now but think that next week, you'll enjoy the nice warm and sunny weather; you'll feel better and your little Luci also!
Have a great day, wonderful mamma !:bighug:
 
Awe, little Luci :bighug:

she really does look like she’s doing well Sue, don’t beat yourself up, I don’t think there is anything you could have done to stop this accident from happening :bighug:

The timing is really brutal for sure, but I’m also sure everything will work out because you’re awesome!

get better soon Luci!!
 
Wednesday

I'm up early today to check on Luci. She seems to be feeling better and has chosen the quilt room/guest room as her recovery suite. We had her all set up in the dining room in a huge box (a chest freezer box) complete with all essentials overnight but she doesn't care for it so made her way to the guest room where I will set up all of her accommodations this morning.

She was purring while I petted her and doesn't appear to be in pain - although her pupils are very large so I know she's upset or possibly in pain. At least she seems relaxed and comfortable at the moment.

We didn't get home from the vet and pharmacy (they were delayed on getting her Gaba filled)...until 2+ 8 p.m. our time so we were very late getting any insulin in. Thanks to @Chris & China (GA) for the suggestion to give a reduced dose - just in case. Now we're playing catch up over the next few days and then with the time change on Sunday (while we're on the road)...it'll be challenging to try to figure it out at all..plus pain meds in the afternoon.

Here is her x-ray from yesterday - the broken bones are in her foot - I said 'leg' yesterday..mistakenly - and below is a pic of the patient this morning. The vet said it appears that she hit her foot on something when she fell. I've examined the area again - there were no ties in the blind cords, nothing apparent that she fell on...but whatever it was, it was a bad landing...I just wish I knew what so I could change it...needless to say she won't be jumping up there anytime soon. I feel crushed by this event...wish there was something I could have done to have prevented this. :arghh::arghh:

Thank you for your well wishes and prayers.:bighug::bighug: I do believe in the power of this group of kind people!:bighug::bighug:

View attachment 48798



View attachment 48797
Sue Luci is so adorable, hope its a speedy recovery and safe trip
 
Oh poor baby. That looks so super ouchie. I was focusing on the tips of her toes looking at the x-ray and then I saw the break. How could I have missed it?:facepalm: My reaction was a very loud, “OH OUCHIE!!”

Healing vines for Luci and hugs to you, Sue. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Praying for a quick and uneventful recovery from her spill. She looks quite cute with that pink splint on her foot. Also praying that you will be able to get all the last minute things done before you leave for Florida .
 
Oh, poor Luci! Poor Sue! Sending lots of purrayers and vines for you both to feel better. :bighug::bighug:

ETA: I'm not usually much of a quilt person, but that quilt in the background looks really beautiful.

Hi Susan, That's a vintage quilt in my collection. Several years ago I was quite into collecting beautiful hand made quilts...it IS a real beauty. I appreciate all the hand quilting and applique on that particular quilt - no one has time to do this kind of work anymore...including me! I made a few quilts - all that hand quilting takes a ton of time, but it does give you an appreciate of how much it took to make these kinds of things.

Thank you for your kind words and 'purrayers for Luci. Sending hugs back to you both :) ((((HUGS))))
 
It never occurred to me that a cat could break a foot from jumping!

Me either! But the vet said her foot was bruised - she shaved it and saw the skin - she suspects that she hit something when she landed. I went back to the area below the window and I found a 'surge protector'. I'm not sure if that's what she landed on, but it could have been when she lost her grip on the sill she landed there - I moved it out of the way. The odd thing about all this is there is a counter just about 12" below the sill - she usually jumps up on the counter and then makes her way to the sill - and stands there on her hind legs with her front legs resting on the sill area - then if it's interesting she jumps up there...which is very close - hardly an olympic feat to make it that far. Something might have startled her OR the fact that the blinds were in the way threw her off...and why she didn't jump back on the counter - it's all beyond me.

She is at least resting comfortably in the guest room. She rolls over on her back and stretches out when I come into her room to pet her. I felt earlier like the only time I went in there was to test, poke, squirt meds down her throat - so I eased up this afternoon and entered only to love on her a bit - hopefully by test time she'll not be so grumpy with me. Last time I tested her today she growled and buzzed her displeasure with me touching her. I'm sure she's not feeling her best - but that is so unlike her at testing time. She's just not herself right now so hopefully we can keep all the 'handling' at a minimum' Now our test/feed/shoot schedule is all messed up...and we're running so late...but backing up incrementally each day - and then DST will happen...I have no idea what I'm going to do about that...I'm already late...and would like to get back to some semblance of our normal schedule soon...
 
Now our test/feed/shoot schedule is all messed up...and we're running so late...but backing up incrementally each day - and then DST will happen...I have no idea what I'm going to do about that...I'm already late...and would like to get back to some semblance of our normal schedule soon...
:bighug::bighug:

You could skip the morning you start your travels. This would mean less testing/stressing during the trip and get you back on schedule.

Just a suggestion.

What a week you have had :eek:
 
:bighug::bighug:

You could skip the morning you start your travels. This would mean less testing/stressing during the trip and get you back on schedule.

Just a suggestion.

What a week you have had :eek:

I may consider it on Sunday morning - getting up and testing her in the hotel room is difficult enough - and now that her foot is all wrapped up and I'm sure quite painful, she's very grouchy with me...I can just see it now...that might be the day to skip - we'll have to see how things are going...her numbers have been just ok lately...and better than I expected today - in light of her distress - I was sure we'd see higher numbers...I'll be getting her test tonight here in a few minutes...I hope it goes better than the last one today...she was very unhappy with me...thankfully she has a GREAT appetite and is eating very well today.
 
The poor baby!!!!! I agree with Lizzie if skipping the AM of travels helps you , go for it. No stress testing. If the AM on Sunday, she is higher due to pain, you might want to shoot and test only around her nadir time. Keep it simple for both of you. :bighug:
 
Sometimes accidents just happen, nobody’s fault, and no way you can prevent them. We all know you will give Luci excellent care while she recovers. Cats are amazing at healing. I bet Luci will be better in no time. Prayers for speedy healing and safe travels!
 
Wednesday

I'm up early today to check on Luci. She seems to be feeling better and has chosen the quilt room/guest room as her recovery suite. We had her all set up in the dining room in a huge box (a chest freezer box) complete with all essentials overnight but she doesn't care for it so made her way to the guest room where I will set up all of her accommodations this morning.

She was purring while I petted her and doesn't appear to be in pain - although her pupils are very large so I know she's upset or possibly in pain. At least she seems relaxed and comfortable at the moment.

We didn't get home from the vet and pharmacy (they were delayed on getting her Gaba filled)...until 2+ 8 p.m. our time so we were very late getting any insulin in. Thanks to @Chris & China (GA) for the suggestion to give a reduced dose - just in case. Now we're playing catch up over the next few days and then with the time change on Sunday (while we're on the road)...it'll be challenging to try to figure it out at all..plus pain meds in the afternoon.

Here is her x-ray from yesterday - the broken bones are in her foot - I said 'leg' yesterday..mistakenly - and below is a pic of the patient this morning. The vet said it appears that she hit her foot on something when she fell. I've examined the area again - there were no ties in the blind cords, nothing apparent that she fell on...but whatever it was, it was a bad landing...I just wish I knew what so I could change it...needless to say she won't be jumping up there anytime soon. I feel crushed by this event...wish there was something I could have done to have prevented this. :arghh::arghh:

Thank you for your well wishes and prayers.:bighug::bighug: I do believe in the power of this group of kind people!:bighug::bighug:

View attachment 48798



View attachment 48797
Oh Luci and her little pink cast!! Feel better Luci! She’s so lucky to have an amazing mama like you Sue:bighug: I hope she rests and heals up in her recovery suite!
 
Back
Top