10/31/Jade AMPS 206 +1=406 +3=404 PMPS 472

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jade-10-30-21-amps-456-5-352-pmps-452.254871/
Good morning.
Jade is in her first week of insulin(.5unit) following remission. I am following SLGS and the cutoff is 200 (per vet as well). Shes been running pretty high and altho I'm thrilled she's down, I don't know whether to shoot. I will be at work all afternoon and into the evening and am leaning towards no. I can give .25 instead of skipping but I don't feel comfortable with .5 when I won't be here to watch her.. I have about 30 minutes to decide. Advice?
 
Last edited:
206 is a safe number to shoot. When do you have to leave for work and what tests can you get if you shoot?
I gave her .25
While I didn’t want to skip, I also didn’t want to give her the full .5 per my vet and the SLGS sticky. I’m not sure what # should alert me to leaving higher carb food out when I leave for work?
 
Last edited:
It will help if you update your subject. As for not testing unless over 200 that’s fir newly diagnosed but Jade became diabetic in 2018. I will be right back after looking at your ss.
 
I don’t see a ss link? What is the brand how long since you injected?

Found it. It’s not clear from your signature but we can deal with that later. Why are you panicking?
 
I don’t see a ss link? What is the brand how long since you injected?

Found it. It’s not clear from your signature but we can deal with that later. Why are you panicking?
I guess because I shot at a number so close to what I was not to ,which is 200. That's why I opted for .25 instead of .5
 
Last edited:
Who told you not to shoot under 200?
My vet. Just for week one until we do her first curve. Also, I'm following SLGS. The threads I have followed have said that 200 (pet meter) is the cut off for the first week and new people. Yes, she has had insulin before but that was over 3 years ago and it lasted less than two months before she went into remission. I'm just trying to do the best I can.:(
 
The depot needs to build for 7 days and then you can shoot lower bg numbers. I’d return to .50 tonight. The good news is you won’t worry at work. Do get a test before you leave.
 
I don’t see a ss link? What is the brand how long since you injected?

Found it. It’s not clear from your signature but we can deal with that later. Why are you panicking?
I can test at +3 before I leave for work, is there a number I should look for to decide if I should leave some higher carb food out since I'll be gone for 8 hours?
 
I can test at +3 before I leave for work, is there a number I should look for to decide if I should leave some higher carb food out since I'll be gone for 8 hours?
I’d feed some lc after your +3. Unless you see a drop into the 100’s leaving out lc is fine. With lantus the +2 is a good indicator of whether it will be an active cycle. If it’s a lot lower than the preshot that is likely. If the same it might be active. Wha5 you see is more than a food bump so I suspect the cycle won’t be active.
 
I’d feed some lc after your +3. Unless you see a drop into the 100’s leaving out lc is fine. With lantus the +2 is a good indicator of whether it will be an active cycle. If it’s a lot lower than the preshot that is likely. If the same it might be active. Wha5 you see is more than a food bump so I suspect the cycle won’t be active.
Thank you!
 
I’d feed some lc after your +3. Unless you see a drop into the 100’s leaving out lc is fine. With lantus the +2 is a good indicator of whether it will be an active cycle. If it’s a lot lower than the preshot that is likely. If the same it might be active. Wha5 you see is more than a food bump so I suspect the cycle won’t be active.
So, nearly +3 shes up to 404. Trying to understand how she could start at 206 and after .25 (less than her usual .5, I know) and now be back in the 400's? Is that unusual? Did the .25 do nothing at all? I wish I could figure this out faster than I seem to be.
 
About your spreadsheet link in your signature if you tap on where you have written Out Of Remission that takes us to your spreadsheet , no one will know that its your spreadsheet, can you fix it
 
About your spreadsheet link in your signature if you tap on where you have written Out Of Remission that takes us to your spreadsheet , no one will know that its your spreadsheet, can you fix it
I’m not sure how? @Bandit's Mom helped me set it up, thankfully! . I’ll work on that when I get home from work.
 
Last edited:
So, nearly +3 shes up to 404. Trying to understand how she could start at 206 and after .25 (less than her usual .5, I know) and now be back in the 400's? Is that unusual? Did the .25 do nothing at all? I wish I could figure this out faster than I seem to be.
It is possible that she went lower in the night and the 400s after 206 at AMPS is a bounce but it is impossible to know since there are no tests in the night. Do you think it would be possible to grab from time to time a test at +2 in the night as well?
Another thing to consider is when you have an unexpected read to repeat the test, sometimes the meters can give a wicked number.
 
It is possible that she went lower in the night and the 400s after 206 at AMPS is a bounce but it is impossible to know since there are no tests in the night. Do you think it would be possible to grab from time to time a test at +2 in the night as well?
Another thing to consider is when you have an unexpected read to repeat the test, sometimes the meters can give a wicked number.
I definitely repeat the test. Especially when it’s an unexpected #, like this morning. I will try for one after the p.m. shot. It’s just that it’s at 11:00-11:30 pm and I tucker out after about midnight. But, I absolutely will try for a +2. Jade likes to wake me up around 4:00a.m. for a snack (she may be slightly spoiled)so I’ll try to get one then as well.
 
I definitely repeat the test. Especially when it’s an unexpected #, like this morning. I will try for one after the p.m. shot. It’s just that it’s at 11:00-11:30 pm and I tucker out after about midnight. But, I absolutely will try for a +2. Jade likes to wake me up around 4:00a.m. for a snack (she may be slightly spoiled)so I’ll try to get one then as well.
You are following SLGS so there is no requirement for night testing and i know the difficulties connected with night testing o_O i just thought it would have been helpful in understanding the jump from 200s to 400s today :)

did you consider an autofeeder for the 4am meals? :D #life changing :D

anyway good luck and patience, hope the second time around with FD will be as quick as the first :bighug:
 
You are following SLGS so there is no requirement for night testing and i know the difficulties connected with night testing o_O i just thought it would have been helpful in understanding the jump from 200s to 400s today :)

did you consider an autofeeder for the 4am meals? :D #life changing :D

anyway good luck and patience, hope the second time around with FD will be as quick as the first :bighug:
Thank you so much:bighug:!! I am considering an auto feeder but she will still insist on walking across my face in the middle of the night and getting into her cat cozy which is right next to my pillow.She’s quite a character. :cat:
 
You are following SLGS so there is no requirement for night testing and i know the difficulties connected with night testing o_O i just thought it would have been helpful in understanding the jump from 200s to 400s today :)

did you consider an autofeeder for the 4am meals? :D #life changing :D

anyway good luck and patience, hope the second time around with FD will be as quick as the first :bighug:
I just took a look at your pic of Chico. Lol.
So cute!
 
I have a couple of thoughts.

From your post just above (#30), did you re-test at AMPS? It not, it's possible that you got a bad test and that the AMPS was actually higher (given your +1).

If you poop out by midnight, is it possible to change your shot time? It sounds like it may not be feasible but I thought I'd at least ask.

Also, keep in mind, it takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to form. You're still in that window of the depot not fully stabilizing.

@Marina & Chico - there's no "requirement" re. testing during the day or night. With Lantus, because the dosing is based on the nadir, we strongly advise getting at least one test each cycle in addition to the two pre-shot tests. As you pointed out, often a +2 or +3 is an indication if numbers are dropping and if you need to keep testing.
 
I have a couple of thoughts.

From your post just above (#30), did you re-test at AMPS? It not, it's possible that you got a bad test and that the AMPS was actually higher (given your +1).

If you poop out by midnight, is it possible to change your shot time? It sounds like it may not be feasible but I thought I'd at least ask.

Also, keep in mind, it takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to form. You're still in that window of the depot not fully stabilizing.

@Marina & Chico - there's no "requirement" re. testing during the day or night. With Lantus, because the dosing is based on the nadir, we strongly advise getting at least one test each cycle in addition to the two pre-shot tests. As you pointed out, often a +2 or +3 is an indication if numbers are dropping and if you need to keep testing.
Hi. Yes,
I tested 3 times this morning because I was so surprised the number was so low considering last night was so high. The reason I shoot when I do is because I work evenings at a restaurant. We close at 10pm but I’m often not home until after 11:00. I’m usually still up at 1:00am, just attempting to unwind
from work. I’ve been trying to take it a bit easy on poking her. She handles it, but it makes us both anxious, that’s for sure. I know that after this first curve, she will likely increase to .75 and I will be more diligent with the pokes. I NEED to be able to get a better idea of what direction she is heading day to day so that I don’t carry all that angst into my new job. It consumes my head/ heart when I’m worried that she may be at home with numbers that are dangerous.
 
Back
Top