10/31 Ivy AMPS 271, +3 139, +6.25 176, +9 220, Pmps 230,+3.25 77 Libre *MORE PEES Still!

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Amps 271 Libre

Ivy is still peeing, about double her normal volume each day this week.

I called the vets office this morning and my vet is out of the office today so I asked to speak to another vet to review the lab work done Wednesday and UA sent out yesterday.

I need to know what the urinalysis showed even though it was a free catch that I submitted.
Clearly something is going on so we need to know if it needs to be treated by an anabiotic. Also wondering if dosing her with D-Mannose would help.
(Is NOW Brand recommended or is there a better one?)

If they do give us an antibiotic, I’m trying to figure out how to give that so that she does not end up with diarrhea, which of course would be a problem trying to control that. She’s not done great with Clavamox in the past, but seems to do better with clindamycin or Veraflox.

I do give her probiotic/prebiotic which is Adored Beast healthy gut, and Adored Beast Felix’s Flora daily plus she gets Jarrow S. Boulardii half a capsule twice a day.

If anyone has suggestions on how to give all of these things, I would appreciate it. I’ve not had to give her an antibiotic since she’s been diabetic in the last three years.

Hope everyone else is doing well today.

I just need to have her treated so we can get this urination increase under control. She’s eating well and her stools have returned to normal after one day of loose stools on Monday.

Safe surfing everyone and I hope you have a boring day!
 
Oh Staci I know how worried you are. It's the worst when our fur babies aren't well and we don't know what's going on. I hope another vet can take a look at her results and call you back before the weekend. Hopefully it's as simple as prescribing an antibiotic and she gets better.

I don't have as much experience as other memebers with administering medications. When my boys need antibiotic I usually feed a tiny meal with a sprinkle of probiotic usually 2-3 hrs before i needed to give the antibiotic. Then i administer the antibiotic orally but my boys are really tame and submissive when it comes to that.
Hopefully other members can advise you as well. In the meantime we're sending healing vines for our sweet Ivy
✨🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃✨
🥰❤️😻🎃🧡🤗
 
Update:
I just spoke to my vet. He actually was in the office today and gave me a call

He said that there’s no bacteria at all in the urinalysis and he didn’t feel there was any reason to do a culture.
He feels like it’s completely thyroid related because the thyroid increased to 5.6 and last time, three months ago was 4.7.
He feels that the transdermal is not doing the job and thinks we should try the pills, so I’m going to do that. 😢
He thinks we should keep the dose the same at 5 mg twice a day.
I’m actually going to give her a half dose for a few days just to make sure she tolerates it OK and then I will put her at the full dose if everything looks like she’s doing all right. Especially since we’re going into a weekend and the vet is closed.

I just have to hope that it does not destroy her G.I. system 🙏🙏🙏
 
Well, it's good that you're not dealing with a UTI, but the pilling...ugh...how is that going to be? She's got so much going on, doesn't she? I'm so sorry, Staci!
 
Well, it's good that you're not dealing with a UTI, but the pilling...ugh...how is that going to be? She's got so much going on, doesn't she? I'm so sorry, Staci!
Thank you, Mary. Yes, relieved not a UTI. But it definitely sucks that her thyroid condition is not under control.
Really hoping she will tolerate the pills OK. I am able to pill her, but I’m more concerned about any reactions It could cause her, especially G.I. upset.

She has a sensitive G.I. system and from what I understand the pills can cause issues.
Jeezzzz, just can’t get a break here 😭
 
Oh Staci I know how worried you are. It's the worst when our fur babies aren't well and we don't know what's going on. I hope another vet can take a look at her results and call you back before the weekend. Hopefully it's as simple as prescribing an antibiotic and she gets better.

I don't have as much experience as other memebers with administering medications. When my boys need antibiotic I usually feed a tiny meal with a sprinkle of probiotic usually 2-3 hrs before i needed to give the antibiotic. Then i administer the antibiotic orally but my boys are really tame and submissive when it comes to that.
Hopefully other members can advise you as well. In the meantime we're sending healing vines for our sweet Ivy
✨🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃✨
🥰❤️😻🎃🧡🤗
Thank you, Karolina, you’re very lucky your boys are so well behaved in all ways! It makes everything go so much easier 💖

Now that I know we are changing Ivy’s medication to a pill form. I just have to really hope that it’s going to do what it needs to do to help her and not cause her G.I. problems.

Thanks for your suggestions. I really appreciate them.
Sending you and your boys lots of hugs 💖😻🥰🐈🐈
 
I'm sorry Ivy's thyroid issue is not under control. Can you try a liquid medicine instead of a pill? I don't think that's as hard on the stomach. Sending prayers.
 
I'm sorry Ivy's thyroid issue is not under control. Can you try a liquid medicine instead of a pill? I don't think that's as hard on the stomach. Sending prayers.
Well I already picked up the pills 😢
I guess I will try them and see how we do. I’m going to give 1/2 dose for several days to see how she tolerates the pills. If all is ok I’ll try the full dose.
If not I’ll call and ask for liquid.
This only for the suggestion.
This sucks 😭
 
Sending hugs, Staci 🤗🤗

Sorry her thyroid is still misbehaving and you have to switch to pills for her. Fingers crossed that by starting slow you can get ahead of any GI upset and make that transition an easy one for her.

Wishing you both a calm and peaceful night💕
 
Sending hugs, Staci 🤗🤗

Sorry her thyroid is still misbehaving and you have to switch to pills for her. Fingers crossed that by starting slow you can get ahead of any GI upset and make that transition an easy one for her.

Wishing you both a calm and peaceful night💕
Thank you so much, Kat! 💖Paws crossed. I’m just very worried 😘
 
Staci, I'm sorry that Ivy's thyroid is giving trouble. I know how very worried you are.
Paws crossed for no GI upsets and that the pill gets her thyroid under control.
Wishing you both a calm night and sending you hugs ❤️‍🩹💕
 
Thank you, Mary. Yes, relieved not a UTI. But it definitely sucks that her thyroid condition is not under control.
Really hoping she will tolerate the pills OK. I am able to pill her, but I’m more concerned about any reactions It could cause her, especially G.I. upset.

She has a sensitive G.I. system and from what I understand the pills can cause issues.
Jeezzzz, just can’t get a break here 😭
Oh, Staci, glad there's no UTI. But the peeing...I recall Eddie had somethign similar at one time and it was thought to be polyuria, that is, when excessive glucose molecules pull extra water into the urine through osmosis, or something like that... Sending soothing GI thoughts...
 
Oh, Staci, glad there's no UTI. But the peeing...I recall Eddie had somethign similar at one time and it was thought to be polyuria, that is, when excessive glucose molecules pull extra water into the urine through osmosis, or something like that... Sending soothing GI thoughts...
Hi Jodey, yikes. What can be done for this? Did they treat it for Eddie?
😭
 
up the probiotic on prep for the antibiotic.. maybe by like an additional 1/2 - 3/4 dose maybe (?).. id say ask the vet but lol. 😅
glad are home!! 💖
 
@Staci & Ivy
Hi Staci, I know I haven't been around lately and I feel bad about that. Just a lot going on with going to doctor appointments.
I am so so sorry what Ivy is going through. I know you must be really upset. I was the same with Tyler and Perry when something was going on . That's a good Idea to start off going with a lower dose for the PM to see if her tummy doesn't bother her .I think I read that correctly in the remarks section on your SS.
I'm praying and sending lots of prayers that the peeing starts to lessen up and her thyroid starts to drop down with the pills.
Give my furry beautiful niece lots of kisses for me .
I'm definitely going to try to start posting on the board ,just been a little depressed lately.
Sending lots of hugs to you my friend 🤗 🤗 🤗 🤗 ❤️
 
up the probiotic on prep for the antibiotic.. maybe by like an additional 1/2 - 3/4 dose maybe (?).. id say ask the vet but lol. 😅
glad are home!! 💖
Yeah, exactly ask vet. Haha. 💕
No antibiotics this time since no infection.
But may need to do something if she reacts to the Methimazole pills 😘
 
@Staci & Ivy
Hi Staci, I know I haven't been around lately and I feel bad about that. Just a lot going on with going to doctor appointments.
I am so so sorry what Ivy is going through. I know you must be really upset. I was the same with Tyler and Perry when something was going on . That's a good Idea to start off going with a lower dose for the PM to see if her tummy doesn't bother her .I think I read that correctly in the remarks section on your SS.
I'm praying and sending lots of prayers that the peeing starts to lessen up and her thyroid starts to drop down with the pills.
Give my furry beautiful niece lots of kisses for me .
I'm definitely going to try to start posting on the board ,just been a little depressed lately.
Sending lots of hugs to you my friend 🤗 🤗 🤗 🤗 ❤️
Oh Diane I’ve been thinking of you! I’m sorry you’ve been sad. 😢
We are sending you lots of hugs and furry head butts and kisses from Ivy 😻💕💖

I really appreciate your sweet words and prayers. And I hope you’re getting lots of help and relief from the doctor visits and procedures lately.
Sending you back lots of prayers and healing vines 🍃🍃🍃🍀🍀🍀🍀💕💕💕❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
 
Oh Diane I’ve been thinking of you! I’m sorry you’ve been sad. 😢
We are sending you lots of hugs and furry head butts and kisses from Ivy 😻💕💖

I really appreciate your sweet words and prayers. And I hope you’re getting lots of help and relief from the doctor visits and procedures lately.
Sending you back lots of prayers and healing vines 🍃🍃🍃🍀🍀🍀🍀💕💕💕❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹❤️‍🩹
🤗 🤗 🤗 ❤️
 
Yeah, exactly ask vet. Haha. 💕
No antibiotics this time since no infection.
But may need to do something if she reacts to the Methimazole pills 😘
oh dear me!! I missed the update sorry.. ugh. 💖🤡
OOH will say this then ~ if you can, make sure she is fed well or gets good snack before doses and see if she'll drink some water..
and probiotic is excellent for gut health and keeping things good. we've noticed a big difference here when he doesn't get enough. ☝🏼
im contemplating a capsule a day even from 3/4.. nice and smooth. 😸
 
Hi Jodey, yikes. What can be done for this? Did they treat it for Eddie?
😭
Hi Staci, yes, it was treated in Eddie (and Blue, actually) with Desmopressin (DDAVP). After hypophysectoomy they were on DDAVP for the duration. For whatever reason, hypophysectomy resulted (?) in diabetes insipidus (CDI) wherein the body does not produce enough antidiuretic hormone (ADH, or vasopressin), leading to excessive thirst (polydipsia) and excessive urination (polyuria).
 
Hi Staci, yes, it was treated in Eddie (and Blue, actually) with Desmopressin (DDAVP). After hypophysectoomy they were on DDAVP for the duration. For whatever reason, hypophysectomy resulted (?) in diabetes insipidus (CDI) wherein the body does not produce enough antidiuretic hormone (ADH, or vasopressin), leading to excessive thirst (polydipsia) and excessive urination (polyuria).
Oy, so complicated!
Your boys had so much to deal with.
You were on top of everything 💖🥰💕
 
You're likely very aware of Slippery Elm as a digestion soother, I'm assuming.
But because I'm that one person who always mentions Slippery Elm, I'm mentioning it! 😸
Best wishes to Ivy and you too!
Would you believe I’ve actually never used it (yet).
I have to figure out how to make it and how to give it and how much and when with all these meds!?
If you have suggestions, I’m all ears.

Thanks Lara!
 
Hi Staci! I am just now reading all you've been going through this week. I hope the pills will be well tolerated and work better for Ivy. :bighug:
Thank you, Cecile. It’s been quite a week.
Thank you for the good wishes, we need them 💕💖😘
Hope all is great in your house 💖🐈💕
 
oh dear me!! I missed the update sorry.. ugh. 💖🤡
OOH will say this then ~ if you can, make sure she is fed well or gets good snack before doses and see if she'll drink some water..
and probiotic is excellent for gut health and keeping things good. we've noticed a big difference here when he doesn't get enough. ☝🏼
im contemplating a capsule a day even from 3/4.. nice and smooth. 😸
I agree, and Ivy takes probiotic as maintenance, daily.
Just need to see if she needs more (or another one) If there pills are a problem 💖🥰
 
Would you believe I’ve actually never used it (yet).
I have to figure out how to make it and how to give it and how much and when with all these meds!?
If you have suggestions, I’m all ears.

Thanks Lara!
Staci, it's super duper easy, and it's good for all sorts of inflammation, tummy issues, constipation and diarrhea.
It's good for people as well, and has a very pleasant taste. Sort of nutty and woody, which I guess isn't surprising. I find it invaluable and tell everybody to have it at home in their medicine kit.

I've used it for me, as well as the cats, as it's great for sore throats, and any kind of tummy upset, nausea and flu. It has a very gentle but effective coating, soothing effect.

And it's supposed to be good for UTIs as well. So winner winner chicken dinner.

From LittleBigCat:

Recipe​

Author Anitra Frazier gives the following recipe for Slippery Elm Bark syrup in her book, The New Natural Cat, which applies equally well to our canine companions when adjusted for weight:

  • Into a small saucepan place 1/2 cup cold water and 1 teaspoon powdered slippery elm bark.
  • Whip with a fork.
  • Bring to simmer over low flame, stirring constantly.
  • Simmer 1 or 2 minutes or until slightly thickened.
  • Cool and refrigerate. Keeps 7 or 8 days.
  • Give a teaspoon of syrup (5 cc) for an average-size cat (again, about 10 pounds) 5 minutes before a meal to minimize diarrhea, or to soothe and heal mouth ulcers.

You'll see a caveat, that SE might affect the absorption of medication. Such was the thinking at the time, but this has been disproven.

For people, add about a teaspoon of SE powder to a mug of hot water, stir and sip like tea. It really is remarkable for settling the tummy, and is supposed to help with inflammation in general. I have a small bag of it, as it's very economical. A small bag is basically a lifetime supply 😸

1762030744768.png
 
Staci, it's super duper easy, and it's good for all sorts of inflammation, tummy issues, constipation and diarrhea.
It's good for people as well, and has a very pleasant taste. Sort of nutty and woody, which I guess isn't surprising. I find it invaluable and tell everybody to have it at home in their medicine kit.

I've used it for me, as well as the cats, as it's great for sore throats, and any kind of tummy upset, nausea and flu. It has a very gentle but effective coating, soothing effect.

And it's supposed to be good for UTIs as well. So winner winner chicken dinner.

From LittleBigCat:

Recipe​

Author Anitra Frazier gives the following recipe for Slippery Elm Bark syrup in her book, The New Natural Cat, which applies equally well to our canine companions when adjusted for weight:

  • Into a small saucepan place 1/2 cup cold water and 1 teaspoon powdered slippery elm bark.
  • Whip with a fork.
  • Bring to simmer over low flame, stirring constantly.
  • Simmer 1 or 2 minutes or until slightly thickened.
  • Cool and refrigerate. Keeps 7 or 8 days.
  • Give a teaspoon of syrup (5 cc) for an average-size cat (again, about 10 pounds) 5 minutes before a meal to minimize diarrhea, or to soothe and heal mouth ulcers.

You'll see a caveat, that SE might affect the absorption of medication. Such was the thinking at the time, but this has been disproven.

For people, add about a teaspoon of SE powder to a mug of hot water, stir and sip like tea. It really is remarkable for settling the tummy, and is supposed to help with inflammation in general. I have a small bag of it, as it's very economical. A small bag is basically a lifetime supply 😸

View attachment 74816
Thank you so much, Lara!! 💖💕🥰
 
Back
Top