10/31 Hershey PMPS(221) & Oreo's 6th bday :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
[urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79983]9/27 Hershey[/url]

HAPPY WEDNESDAY!!!

Sorry we've been MIA for a little over a month. I haven't really had the time to post on your condos, so didn't think it fair to post condos for Hershey during that time.

Hershey has kept us guessin' and scratchin' our heads and feeling completely confused...

Let me see if I can catch you up on the last month...He was having appy issues (a first for him) and dropped below (50) twice on .5u and we were getting ready to shave to .4u, but delayed because he had a late shot that reset the dose counter. The next day he gave us a (27) so we went ahead and shaved to .4u. Was looking like he like the .4u, went to stay a few days with Sammy J (new grandson), leaving Doug to hold down the fort. (Thankfully, Hershey's appy had gotten back on track.) He worked a modified schedule to try to accommodate Hershey's shots and so Jessica didn't have to stay home alone. (Yes, I'm one of those mothers ;-) ) He isn't used to handling everything and the SS shows a few hiccups (10/8 - 10/11) but nobody was any worse for wear.

(Over the last month, I've spent a lot of time staring at Hershey's SS, but just noticed that I believe we missed a reduction on 10/12.)

Beginning 10/14, the SS indicates that we started seriously trying to make heads or tails of Hershey's numbers. The missed reduction may have had something to do with that...wish I had noticed that earlier. Anyhoo - we started keeping track of who was giving the shots as that was the only thing we could think of that we'd never considered before.

By 10/19 PM, we decided to go back to .5u and he gave us a (23) at +4. Hindsight and all that, probably should've set off bells and whistles to reduce, but...

10/24 reset the dose counter and saw (36), 10/25 (34), so was prepared for another below (50) 10/26 to earn a shave, but it didn't happen.

10/28 - thought we should move one way or the other...my gut said to shave, so we're back to .4u. Not seeing a lot, but going to give it a few days.

He's looking good and feeling good (rippin' and runnin' with Oreo). Eating, rarely drinking.

OT - Today is Oreo's 6th birthday!!!!!! He has celebrated with an extra 1/2 serving of food at shot time and LOTS of napping!! :lol: Jessica is baking a chocolate cake with pink icing in celebration. She just told him that she's going to be nice and eat it for him, too. :-D

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

AMPS (365) +12 - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+4.75 (200) - fed
+9.5 (165) - Had wanted to test at +7.5, but lost track of time

PMPS (221) +12 - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+3.5 (249) - fed
 
Happy birthday to Oreo and great to hear from you!! You are always welcome to post even if life makes visiting other condos challenging.

I think another piece of the dose puzzle you may have overlooked is that any time there is a drop below 40, you reduce the dose. Even if you are using the 3 times below 50 option before reducing, a drop below 40 gets a dose reduction. In addition if you are using the 3 times below 50 approach, you reduce by 0.25u. I'm not entirely sure which approach your using but I agree -- you've missed taking reductions.

Marje wrote a post on reductions that you might find helpful.
 
Hey, Sienne. Thanks for stopping by! :-D Yes, we've been waiting until he drops below (50) three times to reduce. We had started trying the shave instead of full reduction because the full reductions seem to be a fail. Good point about falling below (40); thanks for trying to help us make sense of it! I hope we can get back on course soon.

Oreo thanks you for the birthday greetings. :-D
 

Attachments

  • Oreo's 6th bday - forum.jpg
    Oreo's 6th bday - forum.jpg
    793.4 KB · Views: 290
Um, you've been gone a month? And no grandbaby pics???

Wonderful to see you, Libby!
Carl
 
Hey, Carl - Good to see you! Sorry about no Sammy J picture...BAD NANA!! ;-) There are lots on facebook, though! Haven't seen him in a week, but here's a couple from last week.



Hey, Rhiannon - Nice to see you! All kinds of partying going on at your house, huh?! Oreo thanks you for the birthday greeting!
 

Attachments

  • Sammy - forum.jpg
    Sammy - forum.jpg
    749.1 KB · Views: 299
Libby --

My concern with using the x3 below 50 and shaving the dose is that the numbers can get out of hand. If you are going to use that approach and shave, please be aware that you are combining two aggressive approaches to dosing.
 
Hi Libby, It's great to see you & Hershey! Ive been looking for you this past wk, pls dont feel obliged to visit condo. I noticed sometimes people visit but dont leave comment, it's fine. We do care how you 're doing. It's nice to know that Hershey's doing ok.
Congrats to your handsome grandson! Happy birthday to Oreo!
 
Hi Libby - sorry for the late post... another DGS day where condos ended up falling by the wayside. I hope your Halloween was fun, and your day a good one.

It is great to have a Hershey Condo - missed you guys! Understand on the not wanting to put something up if you can't return to visits. happens to me all the time. I just do the best I can, and hope people understand. Good luck with Hershey, and figuring out the SS, which can always be a mystery - nice pmps today.

and HAPPY BIRTHDAY OREO!!
 
Thanks, Sienne. I hadn't thought about it combining two aggressive approaches...

Hey, Helen - Great to see you, too! Thanks for your kind words and birthday wishes to Oreo, too!

Hey, Michelle - Never to late to stop by! Sounds like you had a wonderful day with Nicholas; I'm sure looking forward to Sammy J being old enough to do fun things with! Thanks for the welcome back, too. So many new people...and wondering where others have gone to...


Thanks, Everybody, for visiting us today!!!! We've missed you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top